We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Trout Lilies”

Nerstrand Big Woods State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Nerstrand
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park whose forest is part of the Big Woods.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tremendous Trout Lilies”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first time visit to Nerstrand Woods State Park. We went specifically for bird watching. But the spring flowers are incredible. Lovely spreads of trout lilies, Jack-in-a pulpit, trillium, blood-root, and dutchman's breeches. The spring blooms distracted us from the bird watching! We saw wild turkeys on our drive into the park, and a hummingbird at the bushes at the check-in building. The campground host has many bird feeders that attact a variety of birds including orioles. A road goes thru the park, with most folks staying on the side that has the campground, and hiking trails to the small but nice waterfall. We hiked across the road on the park trails and saw very few people. Our special moment was when we spotted two scarlet tanangers. We showed our digital photos to the ranger at the check-in building and were told that another special bird to watch for is the red headed woodpecker. We didn't spot any of the red headed variety, but we did see a pileated woodpecker. We look forward to returning to this wonderful gem of a park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of my favorite parks”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I go to Nerstrand Big Woods when I want somewhere peaceful and pretty. It doesn't scream "GORGEOUS" at you, but it's just nice and quiet and peaceful and pretty. The hidden little falls down in the woods are a secret you will keep coming back for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lbs720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Potential”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice park with potentially nice trails. IF YOU MARK THEM. I was able to make it through, but just to enter the Hidden Falls Trail was a to do.. The campground seemed and adorned with restrooms and showers. The falls are neat, but definitely should not qualify as a highlight.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BellCopterJockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lots of trees to keep the summer heat away...”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Although we camped here and it was in the 90's the shady trees made it seem much cooler and it was perfect. Nice quiet camp ground, some great tent sights. Camper sites... no comment since I only camp in a tent, no air-conditioning for this gal when I am camping. Nice hiking to the waterfall as well. We will go back to this campground.
Also the main campground has some really nice newer bathrooms and showers. VERY clean too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Camping”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This st. park is loaded with maple trees! It has a nice little "falls" and a family of red headed woodpeckers!

Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nerstrand Big Woods State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nerstrand Big Woods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing