We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meals are excellent.”
Review of Surfside Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaumaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We are live locally and have just been to dinner. The motel is under new management and the meals are great and very well priced. My wife rated the chicken schnitzel as the best she has had. I had fresh local fish which was excellent.
The dining room has gone from being empty to requiring a booking. The new management are doing a fantastic job and given time to build up and upgrade the accommodation side the motel will be excellent all round.
If you are in the area we recommend the meals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pitch1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2011

Great place to stay on a Budget. Warm comfortable bed fantastic meals, love the pizza guys and the shower, yeah baby loved it. We stayed in room #1, great view over looking the ocean. The owner is a beautiful person who made us feel very welcome. So if your looking for a place that is to, have a great meal, great hot shower, and warm comfortable bed, then look no further as this has it all on a budget.

We would like to wish you well and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Gary & Liesl
Gold Coast
Qld.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uniqeweddings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

What a perfect spot for long beach walks, magnificent meals and the pizza is to die for! The hosts even offered to deliver our meal because we had such a long day sightseeing. The bed was so comfortable, had a fantastic nights sleep with the sound of the sea singing us to sleep. We had an enjoyable 3 night stay. Bargain price. I read the reviews before booking our accommodation and I really didn't know what to expect.
I am so glad I stayed there. The staff are very friendly and cater to your every need. :)
I will be back !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leesa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

On arrival at the surfside i was suprised at the friendly and hospitable reception we was given, for the duration of our stay the manager made sure we had what we needed for a comfortable stay , so many businesses make you feel unwelcome these days, espicially when you are a young family.. the rooms were not flashy but i did not expect them to be for the good price i was paying, that is not to say they were not comfortable, i had one of the best nights sleep, listening to the waves crash apon the sand (a luxury you go with out when living in the city).. we enjoyed our meals on the deck on the clear days watching the monstrous waves roll in.. A cosy affordable motor inn in one of the most beautiful parts of tasmania, my family and i will definitly be making the trip back.. it saddens me to see some of the comments other people have made.. do not miss this wonderful expierence and please donot judge a book by its over, it will be your loss..

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

When we saw the outside we would have kept going but we'd pre- booked the D,B&B package and paid deposit, on refelection we should have sacrificed the deposit. Thankfully we were only there one night. The room was very basic and poorly lit. One bedside light was very unsafe so we opted not to use it. The bathroom was unbelievable, wires from the ceiling, no plug, no mirror & no towels although I did manage to find the owner and get some towels. The shower and walls of the bathroom were not properly sealed and it definitely looked still under construction, although one gets the feeling it always looks like this. Not sure it would pass insepection on safety or cleanliness. Owners are friendly and food was good and portions generous. Either stay in St Helens or push on a bit further there are much better looking opions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed for one night on our way back to the ferry ,if we were staying in the area we would have been happy to stay longer.We were invited to inspect available rooms prior to booking in and the 3 rooms looked fine ,obviously they had been renovated,but you cant change the fact that this is an old style motel.We ate in the bistro ,which is an extension of the bar and the food was good value ,and the staff/owners very friendly,The bottom line is dont expect a5star hotel for budget motel prices,for that what this is a budget motel

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dllj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

A caravan shower block has more charm than this place, so got back in car and kept going. Owners are trying hard to make a go of motel that should have been bulldozed.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank laughagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
3.3 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
3.1 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
94 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
348 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sweetwater Villas
Sweetwater Villas
#2 of 10 in St Helens
160 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motor Inn

Address: 269 Tasman Hwy, Beaumaris, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing