We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday home”
other travelers have booked this property
Kangaroo Island Glass House by the Sea...share the secret.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kangaroo Island Glass House by the Sea...share the secret.
Open plan kitchen dining lounge, seaviews, docking station, TV with built in DVD, USB port. Aerial view of Baudin Beach Kangaroo Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Kangaroo Island Glass House by the Sea...share the secret.
Open plan kitchen dining lounge, seaviews, docking station, TV with built in DVD, USB port.
Aerial view of Baudin Beach Kangaroo Island
Dog friendly, enclosed backyard, undercover bbq area, yoga deck.
All weather sea views from the deck...picture perfect
All weather views across the nature reserve bird/wildlife abundant. Many photo opportunities.
Enjoy the views from the deck overlooking the nature reserve to Eastern cove.
Your holiday retreat, Glass House by the Sea
Come home to a Relaxed ambience after your day exploring the island.
Bird of prey
Kangaroos fighting...photo taken near Baudin Beach
Fully self contained open plan kitchen, Sea views.
Seal Bay action
Queen brm offers sea views, ceiling fan, wall mounted t.v with built in DVD, USB port.
1 bathroom 2 toilets.
Safe swimming at Baudin Beach
Rear of house with dog kennel,enclosed backyard, walking track through reserve to beach.
Twin singles/King (sleeps 2) sea views, ceiling fan, wall mounted t.v with built in DVD, USB port.
The Guest Book 
'...was much better compare to 5 star hotel'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Baudin Beach, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise R
1 review
“Lovely holiday home”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had such a lovely stay at Glasshouse by the Sea. Everything we could have needed was available & for us was a great location for sightseeing during the day, then a quick rest at the house before heading off for a quick 10 minute drive to Penneshaw for dinner. There are beach walks to enjoy during the evening before settling in for the night. The house is impeccably clean & furnished with super comfy beds to get a good night sleep before the next day's adventure. On our last morning we watched a kangaroo come close up to the house & that just made our little boy's trip! Thank you for a comfortable stay, we had the best time & would happily recommend you to anyone thinking of visiting Kangaroo Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2017
"Thankyou for your lovely feedback. Our aim at Glass House by the Sea is to offer a refreshing and revitalising retreat, whereby you feel like you are on holidays. It has been our a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. Kind Regards, Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and unwind...”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the Glass House by the Sea for a short family holiday before everyone had to return to work or study, it is in a lovely peaceful location, and the house was so well equipped, clean, and well located. Was really impressed by the facilities and the attention to detail in the furnishings, enjoyed several nights on the front deck enjoying a Kangaroo Island Gin and Tonic....So nice just to relax, we only ate out one night as the kitchen was so well equipped it was a breeze to throw a meal together and sit back and enjoy the rest of the evening. Great to see that dogs are welcome, we didn't bring ours but it's great to know that you have that option. Thanks Angie for a lovely getaway in the Glass House by the Sea...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2017
Thankyou Julie, our aim at the Glass House by the Sea is to offer a refreshing and revitalising retreat, whereby you feel like you are on holidays. it was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.
Best wishes, Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallspud
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place and location - it's really a steal at the price!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had been staying in Kangaroo Island for the past 6 nights before staying at Glasshouse for the last 3 nights - but I gotta say that this was one of the best accommodations that I've stayed so far in KI!
At first sight the house looks really lovely, well furnished and beautiful with the sunset on the beach as the front view from the house. The house was really very cozy for the two of us with 2 bathrooms that my lady can use without my bothering her. Kitchen was beautiful, well equipped and easy to whip up meals, and you can dine with a sea view.
I didn't use the backyard but let's face it, I'm there to tour around KI.
Location of the house was great with the secret and private Baudin Beach just 5 mins walk away.
The host Angie was also very responsive to my texts and emails.

Overall, despite me being on holiday, I was secretly looking forward to going back to Glasshouse to rest, cook dinner and enjoy the views! Highly recommend to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Hello Alex, It was our pleasure to have you both as our guests. We at the Glass House by the Sea were delighted you left the house so clean and tidy, very respectful. Thank you to you and your lady, you are always welcome at the Glass House by the Sea.
Kind Regards, Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
“Room to improve”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Not bad but was a bit unsettled on arrival to find the queen bed room made up but the king bed room with no linen. Never mind. Managed to fit queen sheet found in storage under queen bed onto king bed and was happy. Just unsure why it was set up this way?? Roving rooster woke us at the crack of dawn two mornings out of three and hubbie suggested roast chicke for dinner!! Facilities and cleanliness wefe A1 but backyard still needs work to make it appealing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing fancy!”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2016. The accommodation is comfortable but nothing fancy!
The tv antenna kept dropping out so we couldn't have the tv on most of the time, bit of a pain when you have a 3yo with you.. Another let down is the shower which doesn't regulate the water very well and also the fact that there was no washing machine or tumble dryer in the house. The dishwasher also did not work. The blinds on the bedroom windows are not block out blinds so you are awake pretty early everyday and there is an annoying crow that screams out and knocks on the windows. Overall everything else was ok, but we wouldn't stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: Too many things were not working
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Hi Jen p, thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you found the experience just ok. After reading your delightful comments in the guest book, I am surprised you have so many grievances. The digital t.v. reception can sometimes drop in and out due to weather conditions, however we do advertise that all tvs have an inbuilt DVD player and a wide selection of DVDs available. Due to rainwater tanks only, the pump does surge however there is a simple instruction in the bathroom on how to regulate the shower so this does not happen. Sorry you were disappointed there was no washing machine or dryer, these items are not advertised in the inclusions of the property. I have not had a complaint regarding The Smeg dishwasher prior to or post your stay (there is an operating manual in the bottom drawer in the kitchen and our mobile numbers are on the fridge door for moments like these). Thank you for your feedback on the blinds, as you are the first to point this out we will look into it asap. I hope you enjoyed the kangaroos, the views, the nature reserve and stunning beaches all on the doorstep of the Glass House by the Sea. A great value for money holiday experience.
Thank you again Jen p for your feedback.
Kind Regards, Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattolp
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely holiday home. Reasonably priced, Clean, fresh, modern and comfortable, fully self contained. Home away from home. The views, sunset on the deck, the beach, the wildlife so much to see and do. Very magical place. Glasshouse by the Sea I will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean fresh
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thanks for sharing the secret Leanne...we look forward to your return. Kind regards, Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie...
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing house, like floating on an island of calm amongst the stormy seas of modern day life.”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Such a beautiful house, excellent lay out and a really comfortable feel. With its floor to ceiling windows throughout letting in loads of natural light and giving awesome views of the wild shrub and coastline it is a near perfect place to stay and explore the island or just kick back and relax. It was the last place we stayed at the end of a two week trip and was hands down the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thank you for sharing the secret Alex, we are very proud of our glass house by the sea and its relaxed feel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing