We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I chose the Holiday Inn over its competitor in Virginia due to the competitor's so-so reviews, and I was glad I did.The property is only about a mile outside of Virginia and almost brand new.Check in and checkout were fast and easy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the third floor was very large, tastefully decorated and very quiet. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and very well appointed. Breakfast staff was efficient and attentive. Breakfast had a wide selection and the coffee was excellent. I would recommend for business and vacation travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davek12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in room 208. It had two queen beds, a table with two chairs and a mini fridge located in the bureau. It had good space and was very clean and comfortable. Seemed typical for a Holiday Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was good with lots of variety to choose from. My husband used the pool to swim laps and said that it was very clean and well kept down there. The walls do seem a little thin and I could hear others in the morning. But as an seasoned traveller, I always bring earplugs and after putting them in - I didn't hear a thing all night! Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the top to minimize overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeVisitTheWorld1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress_10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We use all of the reviews we receive to monitor our levels of service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sounds travel a little more than I'd like. My hallway end room on 1st floor (nothing on 3rd when I checked in) caught smoke from the smokers outside a couple of times. all in all, not a bad place, and I'd stay here again in this area. Oh, and dont forget to check out the pancake machine at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress_10, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry that you had to deal with smokers outside I am sure that was not a pleasant experience. I am glad you enjoyed the pancake machine and our breakfast buffet. I do hope we will have the pleasure to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

stayed a few times at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. But this time my room was so dusty and not very clean... I could write my name on the table and TV. now understand I tried to check in at 10 that morning and front desk said oh the people have checked out .but they have not gotten to the room... 1:00 would be better.. now that was fine to me.. left and enjoyed myself till I went back to the hotel and checked in. at first did not notice that the room was not dusted at all. when checking out the next day I felt the lady at the front desk should never be at the front desk she was not a nice person at all. and to think she is the one who asked me how was my room and I told her.. I wrote on the desk TV saying to clean me!!!! the lady at the front desk has let me know not to go back to this Hotel again. and how sad is this!!!!!!!

Room Tip: take any room the higher up the better... I like 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassie339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress_10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are always grateful when a guest takes the time to provide feedback.

We ame truly sorry that your room was not up to standard. We do try to provide high levels of cleanliness unfortantly we fell of our goal. WeI do hope you will give us another chance to serve you.

Thank you again for your comments they are grately appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My stays here are always relaxing. There's a fridge and a microwave in my room, the exercise room is adequately equipped, and there's a nice happy hour in the evening. MY only complaint of this hotel and so many others is that housekeeping never gets the bathtub completely clean. I like to relax and take baths before bedtime and I almost always have to clean the bathtub when I first get into a hotel room. Next time you're at a hotel, take your hand and glide it over the inside of the tub side closest to you. Then take your hand and glide it over the side that's facing you. There's usually a big difference in cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While the hotel looks beautiful, I can honestly say that I haven't stayed in a hotel that has such horrible sound problems in a very long time! It wasn't even that people were being abnormally loud (except for the room full of kids the second night, fighting with each other, but the problem had already presented itself). We were really shocked that we could hear every conversation, TV program and little noise of our neighbours - hallway sounds were obviously much worse. I'm sure the people above us were simply walking back and forth normally but it really sounded like colossal pounding.

I thought the sound would carry up early morning from the breakfast area we overlooked to our room in the morning, but much to our relief, it didn't.

I have never, ever complained about noise in a hotel before and I always try to stay at Holiday Inns as a Priority Club member (although they didn't recognize this when I checked in as I'm used to) but I had to call the front desk during our second night - it was really too much. Unfortunately, they did not have ear plugs to give out or sell and nothing was really done to make things better.

On a positive note, the front desk staff was quick and helpful, also apologetic about the noise, the pool & hot tub were nice and relaxing, and, although I'm not able to eat much on the breakfast menu due to food sensitivities, it was well-stocked, hot and easy to navigate. The lady running the area was super friendly and helpful.

Our room was nice - a little more could have been done to make it cleaner (there were gross smudges on our bathroom light switch - obviously something that was consistently overlooked) and the beds weren't as comfortable as other Holiday Inns we've stayed in - but the set up was useful with the fridge, little table and chairs, and sofa. The shower was also nice with good water pressure. We made use of the 24 hr coffee and the location was good for our purposes.

Unfortunately due to the problems with the noise, I don't see myself staying here again. I think I'll look elsewhere and I recommend that anyone who does stay here bring a set of earplugs to make their stay more pleasant than mine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stardust1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear stardust1971,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff agent to be efficient and helpful. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to ensure guest's satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

--Nice, comfortable room.
--Good staff.
--Located close to area restaurants.
--We stayed here since they were no hotels close to Duluth for Grandma's marathon. It was NOT a good substitute as it was over an hour away!
--Externally, it looked like a lodge. Prett cool.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pli876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Iron
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
13.8 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
82 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chisholm Inn & Suites
Chisholm Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Chisholm
50 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Address: 8570 Rock Ridge Dr, Mountain Iron, MN 55768-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mountain Iron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron Hotel Mountain Iron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing