We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You'll like it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You'll like it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for a wedding. I accidentally requested the room on-line for the night prior. I actually called in to see if I could get the wedding rate, and discovered the glitch. The person made the switch and applied the discount in a very quick phone call. Our room was very clean. We had 2 double beds, basically a standard hotel room. There was a mini fridge which is nice. The continental breakfast is nice too, and includes lots of hot items. I had eggs, sausage and a cinnamon roll. Everyone was very friendly and nice. We'll definitely be staying there again. One of the nicest hotels in the Virginia area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
19
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Traveled here for work and I have been impressed with the staff at the front desk quickly checking many of us in and how clean every part of the hotel is. Breakfast is just ok--typical continental breakfast which is nothing special. There is a Perkins right outside though for those needing a better breakfast. Exercise equipment is very limited but in a decent state of repair.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jdTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed here just before our trip into the Boundary Waters (out of Ely). This is a beautiful newer hotel. The lobby is very open and pretty. The staff are great. They put our steak in their freezer which we were bringing into the Boundary Waters for our first day after a long day of hiking and canoeing. The free breakfast is filled with an assortment of great items to eat. There is a Perkins restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. Other than that there is not too much nearby if one is walking. This is a beautiful hotel and we would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_l_koch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

While exploring Minnesota's Iron Range we spent a night at this hotel. It was a good choice. Only a few minutes drive from the nearby town of Virginia it was a great base for exploring the region. Shopping and restaurants are also nearby.

This hotel is only 3 years old (in 2012) so everything is nice and clean. It was a bit tricky to find at first as this is a new street that wasn't on our gps... we had to wait until we were close to Virginia and find it by searching "lodging" on our gps (I should have printed off the map!). Now that we know where it is ... it's actually easy to locate!

The room is very quiet for a hotel just off the Highway ... we didn't hear a sound. Well... except for the noisy tree frogs at dusk! However, the front desk woman came and made there weren't any right outside our ground floor room. It didn't matter after all, as they quieted down as night fell.

There was a free continental breakfast but we decided to pass and go next door to the Perkins for a large hot breakfast that would hold us for a day of exploring as we headed south towards Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: You might prefer the 2nd floor if you don't want to hear tree frogs croaking at dusk. But it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

From the desk clerk not telling us about the priority club benefits or putting my points on my account to the non welcoming breakfast crew to the gabby, poorly trained maids this was a forgettable experience. Stayed for nearly two weeks maids did not vacuum once. The maids miss items on a daily basis. No tissues in dispenser, no liner in the trash, dust on nightstand. Would it kill the breakfast crew to say good morning? Hospitality nights one drink? Really, Im a platinum club member and your host got upset when i asked about getting another drink.This is a newer hotel but won't stay nice if staff doesn't improve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress_10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Mr. Meyer thank you for taking the time to post your feelings concerning your stay. We do strive to privide the highest levels of service and appreciate it when guests take the time to provide feedback.

I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered. I have reviewed them with my staff and I am confident that they understand the improtance of consistantly high levels of service. I do hope you will stay with us in the future I know we can provide the type of service you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Continental breakfast was excellent, rooms were very comfortable and clean, nice pool and a very attractive front lobby and front building fasod. It was more expensive than some but if you are looking for a better stay you will like this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 149David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The front desk clerk was very friendly and made an effort to make the common area comfortable while I was doing some work on my laptop (the fire did not work but it was in May so I was not surprised/disappointed). The room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was enjoyable as typical for a Holiday Inn Express. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Iron
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 3 in Eveleth
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Address: 8570 Rock Ridge Dr, Mountain Iron, MN 55768-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mountain Iron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron Hotel Mountain Iron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing