We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

From the desk clerk not telling us about the priority club benefits or putting my points on my account to the non welcoming breakfast crew to the gabby, poorly trained maids this was a forgettable experience. Stayed for nearly two weeks maids did not vacuum once. The maids miss items on a daily basis. No tissues in dispenser, no liner in the trash, dust on nightstand. Would it kill the breakfast crew to say good morning? Hospitality nights one drink? Really, Im a platinum club member and your host got upset when i asked about getting another drink.This is a newer hotel but won't stay nice if staff doesn't improve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress_10, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Mr. Meyer thank you for taking the time to post your feelings concerning your stay. We do strive to privide the highest levels of service and appreciate it when guests take the time to provide feedback.

I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered. I have reviewed them with my staff and I am confident that they understand the improtance of consistantly high levels of service. I do hope you will stay with us in the future I know we can provide the type of service you expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Continental breakfast was excellent, rooms were very comfortable and clean, nice pool and a very attractive front lobby and front building fasod. It was more expensive than some but if you are looking for a better stay you will like this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 149David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The front desk clerk was very friendly and made an effort to make the common area comfortable while I was doing some work on my laptop (the fire did not work but it was in May so I was not surprised/disappointed). The room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was enjoyable as typical for a Holiday Inn Express. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This Holiday Inn doesn't offer any surprises, which is excatly why this is the hotel I chose to stay at when in Northern Minnesota near the tri-cities. The free breakfast offering is more than acceptable, rooms are always clean, gym is decent, and people are friendly. Sometimes the front desk can be a little understaffed, but they are apologetic if you have to wait more than just a couple of minutes.

A good hotel choice in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Used priority club to arrange for some rooms. I used 30,000 points that I had in my account and then purchased 10,0000 points three times to be able to get three rooms in exchange for 60,000 points. Received my credit card statement and was charged for the points and then charged full price for the three rooms. i then spent an entire day on the phone with priority club, the hotel itself, the credit card company and still never resolved the issue. Nobody could explain why my card was charged for the rooms and nobody would take the charges off. All of the points I purchased were non-refundable. I eventually told them to close my account and donate my points to charity. Nobody in priority club or the hotel itself was willing to make things right. I would not recommend Holiday Inn to anyone and they have lost me as a customer forever. Very disappointing. I've stayed in the hotel before and really liked the people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear dave t,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business very much and thank you for your loyalty as our priority club member! We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. Sorry to hear you received service which was less-than-satisfactory. We have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

Again we thank you for your review as we believe that we can only improve and enhance our services through our guests' feedback.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I decided to stay here on business and was not disappointed. The clerk that checked me in was very helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and the free drinks and snacks were a bonus. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I were traveling to pick up a new puppy and spent the night at the Holiday Express. Very good room and good value--fresh rooms and friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Iron
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
13.8 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
2.3 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
227 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 2 in Eveleth
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Address: 8570 Rock Ridge Dr, Mountain Iron, MN 55768-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mountain Iron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Price Range: $102 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron Hotel Mountain Iron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing