We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Bit Pricey But As Adverised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Bit Pricey But As Adverised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Continental breakfast was excellent, rooms were very comfortable and clean, nice pool and a very attractive front lobby and front building fasod. It was more expensive than some but if you are looking for a better stay you will like this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 149David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
19
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The front desk clerk was very friendly and made an effort to make the common area comfortable while I was doing some work on my laptop (the fire did not work but it was in May so I was not surprised/disappointed). The room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was enjoyable as typical for a Holiday Inn Express. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This Holiday Inn doesn't offer any surprises, which is excatly why this is the hotel I chose to stay at when in Northern Minnesota near the tri-cities. The free breakfast offering is more than acceptable, rooms are always clean, gym is decent, and people are friendly. Sometimes the front desk can be a little understaffed, but they are apologetic if you have to wait more than just a couple of minutes.

A good hotel choice in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Used priority club to arrange for some rooms. I used 30,000 points that I had in my account and then purchased 10,0000 points three times to be able to get three rooms in exchange for 60,000 points. Received my credit card statement and was charged for the points and then charged full price for the three rooms. i then spent an entire day on the phone with priority club, the hotel itself, the credit card company and still never resolved the issue. Nobody could explain why my card was charged for the rooms and nobody would take the charges off. All of the points I purchased were non-refundable. I eventually told them to close my account and donate my points to charity. Nobody in priority club or the hotel itself was willing to make things right. I would not recommend Holiday Inn to anyone and they have lost me as a customer forever. Very disappointing. I've stayed in the hotel before and really liked the people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear dave t,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business very much and thank you for your loyalty as our priority club member! We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. Sorry to hear you received service which was less-than-satisfactory. We have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

Again we thank you for your review as we believe that we can only improve and enhance our services through our guests' feedback.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I decided to stay here on business and was not disappointed. The clerk that checked me in was very helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and the free drinks and snacks were a bonus. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richville, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I were traveling to pick up a new puppy and spent the night at the Holiday Express. Very good room and good value--fresh rooms and friendly staff.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Staff was excellent to work with as we checked in late the night of our stay. The 2 queen non smoking room was very clean and well appointed. Bed was comfortable, had no problem sleeping. Breakfast was great per the kids review! Would stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Iron
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hibbing
Hampton Inn Hibbing
#1 of 4 in Hibbing
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Coates Plaza Hotel
Coates Plaza Hotel
#3 of 4 in Virginia
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeshore Motor Inn
Lakeshore Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Virginia
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Eveleth
Super 8 Eveleth
#1 of 3 in Eveleth
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron
Address: 8570 Rock Ridge Dr, Mountain Iron, MN 55768-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mountain Iron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Mountain Iron Hotel Mountain Iron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing