We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay...not awful; but not great, either...just okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morton
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was okay...not awful; but not great, either...just okay.”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Here's what we liked: the room rate was reasonable (online at $61/nite) and if you join the Express Club you can get a promotion for a discounted room rate. Received $10 coupon to use at restaurants onsite. Room was adequate for weekend stay; no frills, but was clean. Guests have option of having housekeeping clean room or just bring in towels.
Here's what we didn't like: hardly any of the staff smiled: this included the front desk, the wait staff in their restaurants, security (we expected that), and casino attendants. The food was so-so; breakfast brunch was a good buy at $7.99/person, but the scrambled eggs were from a package; the wait staff who were to bring beverages were slow to unresponsive. Food was not that tasty or at correct temperature. Played the slots where you put in cash and if you're lucky enough to win (rare!) you get a receipt to take to a kiosk. Didn't hear many people winning; didn't see any big wins during our 3-day stay.
If we go again, it would be to make the hotel our base camp as we toured the area: is close to Walnut Grove (Laura Ingalls home), Fort Ridgley, Harkin Store, New Ulm (lots to see and do there!), and other things. Good place to hang your hat while fishing or hunting in the area. Would also be a pretty drive in the fall if you live in the Twin Cities and head southwest, as there are lots of woods (and corn/soybean fields).
We would recommend this hotel to others if you don't want to gamble; just have a reasonable place to stay. But do venture out when you're hungry. Redwood Falls is not that far away (6 miles maybe) and they have several restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina_travel_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    40
    17
    13
See reviews for
36
41
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Yes when you enter you are overwhelmed with the smell of smoke. Rooms are small and cheaply decorated but front desk staff alerted me to a deal where I got the room for $61.00 so I cant complain to much. Casino is fun. Not much for children to do. Did not visit the restaurants. Good deal because there are not many hotels in the near by area.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank whitewch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed on a Wednesday night. From Check-in to Check-out everything was great. It got busy at check in but staff was there to help. Large selection in Buffet and the food was really good. No problem with smoke smell, but have dealt with this issue in the past. Room was clean and spacious, enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kleetz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I have stayed here dozens of times. The rooms have always been clean, comfortable and safe. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in and out is usually fast and error free. As for smoke...its a freaken CASINO people. Quit your whining.. Value is excellent I've paid from $66 and down [free comp or discounts] and that has included the corner room suites [nice] Yes the standard rooms are small...but I don't come here to live in the rooms, just a quick nap between gambling sessions :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Son-of-Butch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband, 1 yr old daughter and I stayed at Jackpot Junction for two nights over the weekend. The check-in process was quick and simple. The room rate was very reasonable, at $66/night + taxes.

The room was small and the entire hotel smells like cigarette smoke. It's really impossible to have true "non-smoking" rooms in a hotel that allows smoking. I even caught a lady openly smoking a cigarette on our floor (standing in a well-marked non-smoking area). The hotel is really no-frills. Just a bar of soap, shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom. There's a small coffee pot, ice bucket and plastic and Styrofoam cups. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the bath towels were small.

On the 2nd night, our key cards didn't work and it was inconvenient to have to get replacement cards from the front desk. Free wireless Internet is only available in the 2nd floor lobby and not in guest rooms. The pool and sauna area is quite nice and there's an arcade area for kids. There is a convenient gift shop that's open until midnight that sells gifts, snacks, soda and toiletries.

Front desk should ask guests how their stay was during the check-out process. I don't think we'd stay here again, unless we absolutely had to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We love this place. It takes us about an hour and a half to get here but it's worth it. Super fun, great casino floor and just a great all around place for a overnight get away. We take friends, go with family and visit regularly. Rooms are nice and very reasonable. Go see for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMCMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We've stayed here multiple times- my family lives in a nearby town so this is convenient. The rooms are very cheap and if you play poker or any of the other games many times you can get a comp room.
We've had rooms in both the 'remodeled' wing and the 'old' wing.

In the remodeled section the rooms are AWESOME- flat screen TV, nice and clean, large bathroom, etc.
in the old section- they are 'old'. =) Still, everyone at the hotel is very friendly. The pool is nice though I wish they hadn't moved the arcade to the pool area as it's not as nice for our daughter who liked playing in the arcade and now it's just 3 machines stuck next to the pool.

I'm glad they got rid of smoking in the hallways as it was a little smoky all over the place and now is much better.

The buffet is awesome btw- one of the best I've ever been too. all in all a great place to stay though they really need to update the old wing a little bit and get wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNHighlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morton
4.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#1 of 3 in Redwood Falls
70 reviews
4.6 mi away
Asteria Inn & Suites - Redwood Falls
20.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Morton / Redwood Falls
21.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sleepy Eye
5.7 mi away
The Vintage Inn Bed & Breakfast
The Vintage Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Redwood Falls
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel

Property: Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 420, 39375 County Hwy 24, Morton, MN 56270-0420
Location: United States > Minnesota > Morton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Morton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackpot Junction Hotel Morton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing