We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating and unexpected find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Hjemkomst Interpretive Center

Heritage Hjemkomst Interpretive Center
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Moorhead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Photographs, recordings and an award-winning documentary chronicle the construction of the 76-foot, hand-built Viking ship Hjemkomst, and its incredible 6,000-mile voyage across the Atlantic in 1982.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
239 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fascinating and unexpected find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This center includes two gems in one spot. The stave church is a beautiful replica of a church in Norway. It's beautiful and it's one man's labor of love. The other great thing to see is a huge viking ship! One man decided to build it so he could sail it from America to Norway, where his family is from. There's a video explaining the story behind the building of it and it's worth watching it. It was a bit surreal to find two huge Norwegian things in the tiny town, but it was awesome!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I saw the documentary about this Viking ship built by a schoolteacher so it was nice to see it in person. It is amazing to see what Robert Asp and other dedicated volunteers built in their spare time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Road Trip Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stopped to see the Viking Ship at the Hjemkomst Center on our way through North Dakota and Minnesota. The story of the ship's voyage and it's creation are incredible and the ship itself is quite a site to see. The wood church full size replica is beautiful as well. Worth the stop!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

A great place to visit with the Viking ship that a school teacher built in an old potato warehouse in Hawley Minnesota and was sailed to Norway back in 1982, then returned to go on display in Moorhead MN where he taught.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I found out about this place by accident while reading a review of another attraction in the Fargo-Moorhead area. My grandchildren traveling with us on our trip from California have very little knowledge about their Norwegian heritage so we decided to stop for a couple of hours in Moorhead on our way to a family reunion in Minnesota. The experience was well worth the time. We saw an excellent film about the building of the replica of a Viking ship and the sailing to Norway, and enjoyed viewing the actual ship.

The Stavkirke full size replica on the grounds was beautifully crafted by a local man. The guide who led us on a tour of the church was excellent; we learned the history of the various elements of the building and how they have evolved over the centuries. When we got to the reunion and talked about our visit here, most of our Norwegian relatives told us they had never been to the Hjemkomst Center. I would highly recommend it, not only to people interested in Norwegian culture but to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank margie1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Hjemkomst Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Hjemkomst Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing