We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I Needed with a Homey Touch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverwood Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverwood Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Monticello B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“Everything I Needed with a Homey Touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

While the room I stayed in was a bit dated, the room and the hotel was clean and had everything I needed including a licensed restaurant on site. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was along a river and they offered me a room with the view. It was also very handy to the Albertville Outlet Stores.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_from_the_Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, General Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we always appreciate hearing we made another traveller feel right at home. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    14
    14
    24
See reviews for
31
31
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I purchased a "Romance package" and use it to getaway for a night. No cars in the parking lot - okay. Front desk area very nice, staff wonderful. Received our wine (which was very good) and chocolates (Andes mints) and went to our little room. Got in our suits and headed to the pool area which was disappointing. The whirlpool was closed and the pool did not look inviting enough to get in. We went back to the room to watch TV and go to sleep. He was up at 4am and wanted to go home already, I convinced him to go back to sleep til 7. By 7:30 we were up and out the door by 7:45. The water in the bathroom smelled so rancid to shower, I waited until I got home. Doubt we will be going going back again, unless we got a room like the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, General Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We do appreciate the feedback and always strive to improve. I will share your comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monticello hotels

Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed her for a one night getaway on a crowd-cut voucher and although the staff was very nice and polite, we were NOT happy about being in a completely separate building from the swimming pool. This was one of the main reasons for our getaway. We were not able to use the pool because it was winter and we would have had to walk outside between the two buildings to get to the pool. Not ok. The beds were horrible. We both had backaches by morning. The cable TV had very few stations. We definitely would not stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, General Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. We do have changing rooms in the pool area but it is inconvenient sometimes to have go outside during the winter. I apologize and hope we have a chance to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

my daughter's wedding was held here. we stayed 2 nights. have been here for brunch and dinner thru the planning. the wedding was beautiful. at one point they locked the restrooms, but once discovered, they reopened them. but the real down side of this place is the management, we were told to book 2 weeks early. i did and was told rate of $89. i saw on their website if you booked a week in advance rooms were $69. tried to call, answering machine, left message, no call back, booked on line room with 2 beds. day before wedding email confirmed 1 bed, got 2 when i registered. room was tiny, dark, burned out lightbulbs, tv remote didn't work, tv only got 3 channels, no ice or vending machines, toilet ran which was really bad because the water stunk. but the worst was NO ONE who booked rooms was informed of the lower price for booking early. i realise they are in business to make money, but deliberately not telling the customer of an advantage to save money will cause you more ill and make it harder for people to tolerate the short comings of this hotel. i told everyone who stayed. bet the front desk had alot of fun on sunday morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie225_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is always good to hear positive things about the property and staff. I am glad to hear the wedding went good. We do have ice and vending machines on the property, we should have done a better job directing you to them. Rates do change based on availability. I will share your comments with our staff to insure they check better for expired light bulbs.

Thank You Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I only spent an overnight here and did not arrive until 10 pm. We had read some of the reviews and were not too excited about what we might find. Upon entering the lobby, I found it to be very inviting, warm and nicely decorated. The girl at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. When we entered our room, we were really surprised. It was a "country" decorated room, very clean, and looked to have been recently updated. Nothing here to complain about. When sitting on the beds, we thought oh, oh, very firm, but we both slept very well. The only negative was running the water in the morning to wash up. It was a very heavy sulfur smell, and we declined to shower and used the bottled water provided in the rooms to brush our teeth. I believe they have well water, and I don't know if there are remedies for that problem. The continental breakfast offered in the morning was just that. Apples, donuts, and boxes of cereal. They did have a restaurant on the grounds just across from the lobby that was open in the morning should something more be desired. The grounds were lovely. It was rather welcoming to smell an outdoor fire in the firepit when we arrived. A lot of amenities for an inexpensive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you and your daughter had a great visit. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you can return soon.

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendricks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous. Gorgeous gardens, paths, and pool house. The room was clean and warm. The check in area very classy. I loved the paths, pool house, and fire pits. This would be a great place for a wedding, business training, or family reunion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Behavioral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We really appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'd read bad reviews for this place so I was a little bit leary about staying there, but we had a wonderful time. It is a perfect place for weddings and receptions where guests can stay without driving time afterwards. The location is absolutely beautiful and the hotel was nice. Front desk staff were professional and courteous and quick. I loved the outdoor firepit with apple cider and smore's! I'd go back and recommend people to book weddings there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We appreciate your kind feedback. I hope you come back again soon.

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
11.5 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn and Suites Becker
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 3 in Monticello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rogers
12.7 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood Inn and Conference Center

Property: Riverwood Inn and Conference Center
Address: 10990 95th Street N.E., Monticello, MN 55362
Location: United States > Minnesota > Monticello
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverwood Inn and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 59

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing