We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chelsea was Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Chelsea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chelsea was Good”
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The Best Western Chelsea Inn was a good hotel for the location. We were going to shop in nearby Albertville, so we wanted a hotel there. However, the hotels there are outrageously expensive. So, we booked a room here. The man at the check-in was very polite and quick. We felt safer on the second floor, so we got a room there. The room was nice. The beds were very comfy and the room is of adequate size. And, Albertville is only about 10 minutes from the hotel.The breakfast was good and filling. The only problem we experienced was one day we came to our room after a day of shopping, we noticed the door was slightly ajar. I wondered if someone had broken in. However, the polite check-in man came up and looked at the door. No one had broken in, the door lock wouldn't latch.. He told us we could wait for a repairman or to switch rooms. We were just about to go out so we decided to change rooms. He quickly came up with a new set of keys to a new room. He was again very polite. Overall, this hotel is a great bet and if you are going to Albertville, stay here and not at the pricey and overrated Albertville hotels.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Door Lock
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestHotels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    54
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
39
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Everything about this hotel was very good, with the exception of the breakfast. The room was perfect for our family of five - two queens and a pull-out sofa. Our 16-year old daughter was happy to have her own TV in front of the sofa. The hotel was very clean. It was nice and close to a SuperTarget, and was a short 5-minute drive to nearby outlet stores in Albertville. The hotel was also in walking distance to a beautiful Wal Mart. There were many restaurants nearby, too. The breakfast was disappointing as it was only available until 9 a.m., the juice machine was out of order on both mornings, and the selection of pastries did not seem to be replenished. We're sure the same two items that were left the first morning were there the second morning (and the only ones). We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPSGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrus
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the first night of our vacation. The check in was a breeze, the room was cool which was nice becuase it was hot outside and it was so very clean. We are an older retired couple and like to stay where it is clean. The continental breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip. We will tell everyone we know that this is the place to stay in Monticello.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maandpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed at this hotel Friday, Oct 20th, 2006.

It was myself, my wife & another couple, we're all in our late 20s/early 30s.

The beds were just fine, room was clean, plenty of TV channels, never actually used the pool, but it looked clean/decent.

The continental breakfast that was supplied was better than I've experienced at some much more expensive hotels.

It is approx 7 minutes from Albertville, so it is an ideal place to stay for a weekend of shopping without having to pay a premium price.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnipegCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My mother and I had an OK, comfortable 2 night stay at this hotel, but, the 2nd morning, I found my very expensive eye cream missing from the bathroom counter.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monticello
Super 8 Monticello
#2 of 3 in Monticello
384 reviews
7.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
6.9 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn and Suites Becker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Buffalo
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
19.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Minneapolis Maple Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chelsea Hotel

Property: Best Western Chelsea Hotel
Address: 89 Chelsea Rd, Monticello, MN 55362 (Formerly Best Western Chelsea Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chelsea Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelsea Inn And Suites
Best Western Chelsea Hotel Monticello
Best Western Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing