We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary doesn't stop with the elevator!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scary doesn't stop with the elevator!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've had good Hampton experiences and bad ones. This was not one of the good ones. I was traveling for business with my team and we had 5 rooms. On 4 floors there was only one working ice machine. There was a musty odor to all rooms and the cleaning staff would run the bathroom fan every day but this did nothing to get rid of the moldy smell. The carpets were stained, the elevators creaky and scary, there was dirt and trash on the carpet in the hallways that remained the entire week that we stayed so they obviously didn't vacuum.

And would someone please explain the decision Hampton has made to have pre-printed yellow sticky notes made to put on the headboard stating, "duvet covers & sheets are clean for your arrival"? This is so TACKY! And if there isn't a note on the headboard do we assume they have not put clean sheets on the bed? Other hotel chains don't feel it necessary to announce when they change the sheets... shouldn't that be a given?

Try another hotel, this one is worth passing up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UntamedAZlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin H, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear UntamedAZlady,

Thank you for the review of our hotel; I do apologize that your stay did not live up to the Hampton Standards you are accustom to. I utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and after reviewing your feedback with the hotel team we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms. We also have discussed the cleanliness issue with our cleaning staff.

Regarding the yellow sticky notes that are placed on the headboard, these are new for us as of a couple months ago. These are a Hampton Standard and are required at every Hampton. Our sheets and duvets are cleaned daily even if the sticky note fell off or was not posted. Once again, I apologize that your stay was not what you expected. I also appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and I hope that if you return to the Minnetonka area, you will give us another chance to WOW you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    131
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
161
92
32
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great hotel, amazing staff- Really enjoyed our 3 night stay. Breakfast was terrific piping hot and plenty!! Kudos to the kitchen staff! rooms were nice and clean, Linen was so soft and smelled so clean. Hallways were always clean, Housekeeping staff was nice. Front Desk Team was extremly friendly and happy!

Room Tip: Only bad thing is, no POOL, however they do give pass's to the local Y.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndieeylouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin H, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Cyndieelouwho,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn Minnetonka! We value all feedback and love to hear compliments on service and what we have to offer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I and my family enjoyed our stay at Hampton Inn. The service was excellent and the price was well within my budget. The rooms were just right and the breakfast wasn’t bad either. Special thanks, to the staff and the managers that were on duty July 23, 2012 everyone from the front desk including the cleaning staff was polite and friendly. Like other has said already; the place can use a little Tender Loving Care (TLC) other than that, it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin H, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Good Morning Bigjosh1,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn Minnetonka! We value all feedback and love to hear compliments on service and what we have to offer. We are going to be updating our hotel slowly here in the 4th quarter and more so in the start of 2013 as well so stay tuned! Again, thank you for the feedback and look forward to seeing you next time!

Kaitlin Holmes
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Minnetonka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent price! But...
The property is pretty dated - they really need to start planning some renos. The entire hotel was over saturated with air freshener that left me with a migraine in the morning. The lawn sprinklers are very poorly placed - they were literally soaking every car in the parking lot. Because of the sprinklers, we couldn't load our car until my husband pulled out of the spot we were parked in. Of course, in order to get into the car, he had to walk under the sprinklers.
Good breakfast though and really awesome coffee.

Room Tip: Avoid odd numbered rooms in the 130s. They face the front entrance of the hotel and are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the review of your guest suite. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast nonetheless. I also appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, IN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns but service at this one was exceptional and will definitely bring me back. I needed 8 Double AA batteries and when I asked the front desk where the nearest store was that sold batteries, instead of sending me off, they pulled 8 batteries out of the extra TV remotes at the desk and gave them to me. The next morning was pouring rain and I had forgotten my umbrella. the front desk person gave me his personal umbrella to go get my car and pull it under the overhang. The property was very clean including the bathroom. It is also very close to restaurants and shopping at the nearby mall- also a Traders Joe and Macaroni Grill less than 5 minutes down the road. Location is right off the highway and very easy to find. Great staff and great location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The Hampton is clean and well kept, as well as quiet. Great location to bars, nearby Ridgedale mall, and restaurants. Easy to get to. We stayed here for a wedding and it was a perfect place to get to and from the wedding and reception in nearby Hopkins. Great rate offered for the wedding too!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jammerlammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am a loyal Hampton customer. No matter where I go the styles, cleanliness, friendliness, etc. are all very good. This location is par for the Hampton course. The only negative I can report is that the location is not very good for anyone staying without a car. There area isn't pedestrian friendly so there would be limited, if any, options for dinner or shopping. Those amenities are not far away, it's just that getting to them as a pedestrian would not be ideal.

Room Tip: Unless you plan to use the refrigerator, request a room without one. Or, do what I do and unplug it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
5.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Minneapolis-Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St Louis Park at West End
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St...
#1 of 6 in Saint Louis Park
564 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis (Golden Valley)
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
Address: 10420 Wayzata Blvd, Minnetonka, MN 55305-1509 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minnetonka)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka offers the convenience and value you are looking for from a hotel if you are traveling to the Minneapolis area. If traveling for business, you’ll be within minutes of the many major corporate headquarters located in the St. Louis Park, Minnetonka and Golden Valley area. Only 5 minutes from downtown Minneapolis, it is also a great place to explore all of the major attractions like Mall of America or catch a game at one of the sports venues. Enjoy the little extras that make your stay special like free parking, in-room WiFi, and hot breakfast. Come check us out for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minnetonka Hotel Minnetonka
Minnetonka Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing