We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Day Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Minnetonka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“3 Day Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay at this property and found it to be as good this time as the previous. Friendly staff and nice convenient location for where I needed to go. I was pool side, so it did get kind of noisy Saturday evening, but it did quiet down when the pool closed. Comfortable bed and for that fact, the whole room. Will be my first choice for next year, if I come back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We would like to personally take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Sheraton Minneapolis West as your hotel choice.

 The feedback you have provided is essential to see where we can improve to satisfy our guests. We appreciate that you have selected our hotel and we hope to see you back soon!

Neil Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

As an SPG gold member, I am given lots of perks. Apparently my perks do not include a great checkin experience. The front desk person was just doing his job, No smiles, no banter. No greeting by name, no Thank You for loyalty. Very unlike the way I am greeted at a Carlson Property.

Another thing: In the middle of a sprawling city, I do not care about being given 2 bottled waters as a perk. I can drive to a gas station/store and pickup quality bottled Dasani water, if I please. If I am lazy I can drink from the tap or melt ice to get water. But SPG seems to think giving botted water is special.

I do however expect Free Wi-Fi, free parking and a free breakfast is nice. This is an older hotel, with an inviting lobby and well furnished, well appointed public areas. I was assigned a room close to the lounge.

Ok, so you have to go through the access controlled glass doors. As soon as you get the glass doors open the strong smell of chlorine hits you. All the rooms beyond the glass doors are overlooking the swimming pool. The chlorine smell is overpowering. The swimming pool is very busy, read: Very noisy. So forget about taking a nap in the room until the swimming pool closes. Room is definitely not quiet.

Room is well laidout and comfy. Also, Access to the lounge was very nice. Evening snacks were wonderful. Plus breakfast was very nice. So if you are a SPG gold member or higher, this Sheraton is a good value.

Room Tip: Stay away from the SPG members only rooms that are beyond the glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAGreenTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It was truly disheartening to hear of your dissatisfaction while you were our guest. Please accept my apology for the disappointment and the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have discussed your comments with my staff and we are focusing on your comments so that we can provide better service for you and all our guests. I am confident that the hotel staff will work harder than ever to provide the superior service that is indicative of Sheraton. I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to evaluate your recent experience.

Neil Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located next to the Ridgedale Shopping Center on Hwy 394, the Sheraton was a great place to stay overnight. Rooms were very quiet, clean, and all accessories (TV, remote, WiFi, plumbing) worked fine. Parking lot was well laid out, a nearby wooded area nice to look out over.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Writer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words about our property. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations 100%, however we look forward to making it up to you with your next stay. Thank-you once again for choosing the Sheraton Minneapolis West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Infested with mold! Changed rooms three times. All rooms either had black mold or had black mold that had been painted over. Friends room also had mold. Whole hotel in dire need of a deep clean. Full of dust, mold, and cobwebs. Understaffed. Staff friendy bit doesnt make up for health issues. Avoid. Especially bad for individuals with allergies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandangelafargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your previous stay. I'm sorry to hear there were several issues during your stay. I have discussed your comments with the management staff so everyone is aware and we will work together to improve our hotel for your next visit. Again thank you for the valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Thanks to ALL the wonderful staff, my family had a wonderful annual reunion. We stayed pool side, reserving most of the rooms in the fitness center corner.
We went to the bar and enjoyed ourselves a little too much in hopes to make "bartender Doug" as uncomfortable as possible. Thanks, Doug.
I ate breakfast the next morning at the buffet. The variety kept everyone happy and the egg whites with mushrooms and spinach got me started off on the right foot after having such an unhealthy evening.
Next stop was the fitness center. While the rest of the family complained about their headaches, I put in a 5K and squashed it. Following the run up with a nice hot shower (water wasn't too soft), shave (shaving cream was compliments of the front desk) and a television show on the 36in flatscreen t.v. in the room.
You are all doing a great job. Hopefully we see you next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and communicate your stay regarding your stay at the Sheraton Minneapolis West. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and certainly a valuable aid in monitoring our performance. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night business stay in the area. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating for a few special needs requests. The room was clean and spacious but could use some updating of the bathroom cabinetry....not a deal breaker. The bed was very comfortable. Had breakfast downstairs where the service and food were above average. Overall an excellent value for the price. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CheckingIn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and point out some of the changes to our hotel since your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place has lovely rooms, great pool, jacuzzi and workout room, located next to a big shopping mall. Great club room worth the upgrade. Beds are very comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Big breakfast buffet in open area dining room.

Room Tip: it is worth it to get an upgrade to the club room for private computer use and television, snacks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revgmb4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad your stay went well. We hope we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
1.3 mi away
Minneapolis Marriott West
Minneapolis Marriott West
#3 of 6 in Saint Louis Park
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
4.9 mi away
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St Louis Park at West End
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St...
#1 of 6 in Saint Louis Park
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Address: 12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just outside of downtown Minneapolis, the Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel is a source of familiar comfort, and has 5700 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minnetonka
Minnetonka Sheraton
Sheraton Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#