We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for anniversary - king jacuzzi suite and request top floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a king suite on the 14th floor for our anniversary. We got the couples getaway package where you got the champaign or cider, 2 breakfast buffet and late check out.

Pros:
- Room was spacious it was the corner room and we had amazing views!
- The bed was so comfortable.
- The jacuzzi tub worked well. It fit two of us snug but well since we want to be closer to each other given the occassion. Solo jacuzzi fits perfectly.
- Loved the late check out! We were able to relax and enjoy ourselves without the pressure of needing to get out ASAP
- The top floors are 'concierge' floors and must have a special card key to access. I liked that and they were pretty attentive to when I needed additional towels etc. They seemed friendly and helpful.
- For an anniversary I liked that there were no kids or teenagers. It was a relaxing environment.
- The garden area was beautiful. Loved the big fountain and plenty of places to sit and enjoy it.

Improvements:
- The couches in the living room area need to be upgraded. It didn't fit the king suite room, felt old and rough.
- We found 2 small hairs in the tub. We had to clean it our before getting it prepared.
- The TV in the bedroom could have been bigger (swap the living room and bedroom TVs)
- I was not impressed with the breakfast buffet at all. It's regularly $16/pp. If it wasn't for the late checkout at 3pm that was included in the package, I would've felt really disappointed that I upgraded.
- One tip for the hotel is to partner with edible arrangements next door to get chocolate covered strawberries with the champaign/cider. We just bought ours at last minute - and this is what put the cherry on top of our stay. It came in a dozen but we really only wanted a few. I would've went for that instead of the breakfast buffet.

Overall, we were happy with our stay here for our anniversary. I really did my research on different places with jacuzzi king rooms and ended up here. We are more hotel with pool type people instead of a bed and breakfast. If your more B & B then go to Stillwater. We are also cost conscious and the price point worked well for us in comparison to a really nice b&b or hotel in downtown Mpls. So if you're like us - then you'd enjoy your stay! Just request a corner king suite on those top floors 14th-17th.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puglovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Congratulations on your anniversary. Thank you for sharing this special day with us. The feedback regarding your stay is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 334 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

The summers in this area are hot and humid. My complaint about this hotel is that the air conditioner did not have enough power to cool the room. Too warm to sleep. Cooling did not reach the bathroom/dressing area. There is nothing a woman likes less than trying to apply makeup over perspiration. I used the mirror over the desk in order to find the coolest place but then there is the issue of lightling. So I called and asked for this to be fixed. The maintenance person did nothing more than to set the stat at 64.5. The room never cooled. This property needs some new equipment. Because of the discomfort, I will not stay here again. The property does have great room service. Try the wild rice soup, a local specialty. I was pleased that they provided me with a feather pillow as I requested.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cporter187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

I am sorry to hear about your experiences with the air conditioning system. I have shared your comments with our engineering manager to ensure that the problem gets resolved. Please accept my apologies for this issue. Our wild rice soup is one of our trademark dishes; I am glad that you were able to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed overnight before the drive back home while retuning from vacation in Hawaii. This room was an upgrade since I am Platinum Member. But I was so surprised to get such great service! No problems with check in even at Midnight! Hotel and rooms are in great shape and I didn't get to do much there but I would stay again. It is about 15 minutes from the airport and better that the Springhill and Fairfield's I have stayed at in the past for about the same price. Video on the youtube channel. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

I hope your trip to Hawaii was a memorable experience. From you photo’s it looks like you came back to rainy weather. Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay and I am very pleased to hear that the staff was able to take such great care of you. I hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business trip in June 2013 and the location was pristine-just 22 minutes from the airport. The room was clean and with a tremendous view overlooking the valley of Minnetonka. The bed and pillows were comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with lots of fresh hot and cold options to choose from. The gym is on the first floor right next to the swimming pool. Great staff! Get away from downtown Minneapolis and visit this hotel if you are looking for great service and a nice relaxing location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing comments regarding the view. Many people do not realize how great the views are from our location. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The positive: The room was clean and a decent size. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast buffet looked good, with lots of fresh hot and cold options to choose from. Dinner at a function in the hotel restaurant was pretty good.

The negative: Despite having 2 confirmations in hand, the front desk staff was unable to find my reservation, so check in took much longer than it needed to. I had no maid service one day during my stay. The bathroom had an odor of urine. There was no paper or pen in my room. Though breakfast was apparently included in my room price, no one informed me that was so; I learned this a few days into my stay from someone else for whom I had made a reservation. While dinner was good, our wait staff was not. (The breakfast wait staff was good.)The in room coffee was horrible. And finally, though not the hotel's fault, a very rude woman took a half hour business phone call in the hallway in front of my room. When I finally asked her to please go elsewhere, she rolled her eyes and told me to "go away!" Again, while not the hotel's fault, the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iregeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

I was saddened to hear about the experiences you had regarding your room and reservation. Please accept my most sincere apology. I have taken your feedback and shared it with the leadership team to ensure future guests do not experience what you had. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Most recent stay at this nice property in the Marriott chain; this time for extended period of time (3 mo's).

Staff: Headline for this property is the staff. As in other longer stays (props to folks at Marriott BOS harbor), in the end, the people are what leave the great impression of the hotel. From manager Jasen Fountaine, to Mary Anne, Kim, Adam, Joannie, Katrina, to every one of the other staff members with whom I've interacted - each is without exception a pleasure. Uniformly professional, friendly, accommodating. As noted by others, an outstanding group of people work at this hotel.

Facility: Solid Marriott property - def better than some recent stays (e.g., horrible Marriott properties in ATL). Lobby, bar, and restaurant area look to have had update not long ago, and are nicely designed, modern, fresh, spacious, comfortable with nice fireplace area at one end. Pool, nice outside patio around water feature / pond, and several large conference / banquet rooms. Not lux, but quite nice and certainly solid destination for business trip.

Rooms: Standard rooms (King) are mixed bag - one had peculiar musty smell (noted by another reviewer). But are solid if not lux. Bathroom / vanity reminds of Residence Inn - read: def not lux. But, suites are nice and quite comfortable - spacious, well appointed, with larger bath, double sink vanity, separate tub & shower, and tele in main room and bedrm. Someone noted lack of microwave, but this was provided me immed on request - so just ask. Rooms are quiet (no notable noise from other rooms, guests, or outside).

Food: Staci's is solid. Usual mix of b'fast, lunch, dinner items - e.g., steak, chx, salmon, variety of sandwiches, apps, etc. Nothing that will blow you away, but good - and staff (e.g., Laura) are outstanding, as across this property. If there for some time, very close alternatives are: "Jimmy's" (restaurant and good sized bar with some quite good entrees, very good apps, incl Angus sliders, wings, flat breads - 5 min from hotel in same business park); "Pairings" (casual dine in and take out with wine, beer, and very nice selection of salads, pizza, flat breads, Italian, American and Mex entrees - also 5 min away and next to Pairings); "Campiello's" (very nice Italian restaurant, a bit less casual, great entrees, good wine list - just three blocks south on Shady Oak). Also three coffee shops, bagel shop, and Jimmy Johns within a couple blocks. So, lots of choices, but Staci's is def good bet for meal, rm service.

Location: Sits in business park (Opus) right next to UHC headquarters, and near many small businesses. Close to freeway, easy access. Western MSP suburbs (Minnetonka). Most of guests will be local business related.

All in all - very good property with an outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Suite, corner rooms best for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. Please rest assured that the staff will receive the recognition they deserve. Your feedback regarding the hotel was welcomed. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We love our Marriotts and beds.
The only thing we did not like was the water pressure in our room, but other than that it was great.
The Restaurant had friends staff and the salad I had was very very blood, we loved the people that served at the bar too .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant and bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 50 in Minneapolis
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,712 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Address: 5801 Opus Pkwy, Minnetonka, MN 55343-9680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range: $133 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Southwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a re-energized hotel near Minneapolis offering an ideal location, nestled amongst walking paths and perfect for outdoor excursions, yet close to highways and attractions. The Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, a premier hotel in Minnetonka, provides a haven for relaxing and socializing with an open lobby and MI Greatroom, a perfect spot to work or play. When not relaxing in our Greatroom or enjoying the outdoors, feel at home in over 300 spacious hotel rooms and suites, featuring luxurious touches such as plush Revive bedding and 37 inch flat screen TVs. Explore exciting amenities including a health club and heated indoor pool, or enjoy a bite to eat at Blue Birch, featuring eclectic regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a scenic outdoor patio, our hotel is the ultimate venue for both large corporate retreats and intimate social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Minnetonka
Minnetonka Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing