We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business trip in June 2013 and the location was pristine-just 22 minutes from the airport. The room was clean and with a tremendous view overlooking the valley of Minnetonka. The bed and pillows were comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with lots of fresh hot and cold options to choose from. The gym is on the first floor right next to the swimming pool. Great staff! Get away from downtown Minneapolis and visit this hotel if you are looking for great service and a nice relaxing location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing comments regarding the view. Many people do not realize how great the views are from our location. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The positive: The room was clean and a decent size. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast buffet looked good, with lots of fresh hot and cold options to choose from. Dinner at a function in the hotel restaurant was pretty good.

The negative: Despite having 2 confirmations in hand, the front desk staff was unable to find my reservation, so check in took much longer than it needed to. I had no maid service one day during my stay. The bathroom had an odor of urine. There was no paper or pen in my room. Though breakfast was apparently included in my room price, no one informed me that was so; I learned this a few days into my stay from someone else for whom I had made a reservation. While dinner was good, our wait staff was not. (The breakfast wait staff was good.)The in room coffee was horrible. And finally, though not the hotel's fault, a very rude woman took a half hour business phone call in the hallway in front of my room. When I finally asked her to please go elsewhere, she rolled her eyes and told me to "go away!" Again, while not the hotel's fault, the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iregeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

I was saddened to hear about the experiences you had regarding your room and reservation. Please accept my most sincere apology. I have taken your feedback and shared it with the leadership team to ensure future guests do not experience what you had. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Most recent stay at this nice property in the Marriott chain; this time for extended period of time (3 mo's).

Staff: Headline for this property is the staff. As in other longer stays (props to folks at Marriott BOS harbor), in the end, the people are what leave the great impression of the hotel. From manager Jasen Fountaine, to Mary Anne, Kim, Adam, Joannie, Katrina, to every one of the other staff members with whom I've interacted - each is without exception a pleasure. Uniformly professional, friendly, accommodating. As noted by others, an outstanding group of people work at this hotel.

Facility: Solid Marriott property - def better than some recent stays (e.g., horrible Marriott properties in ATL). Lobby, bar, and restaurant area look to have had update not long ago, and are nicely designed, modern, fresh, spacious, comfortable with nice fireplace area at one end. Pool, nice outside patio around water feature / pond, and several large conference / banquet rooms. Not lux, but quite nice and certainly solid destination for business trip.

Rooms: Standard rooms (King) are mixed bag - one had peculiar musty smell (noted by another reviewer). But are solid if not lux. Bathroom / vanity reminds of Residence Inn - read: def not lux. But, suites are nice and quite comfortable - spacious, well appointed, with larger bath, double sink vanity, separate tub & shower, and tele in main room and bedrm. Someone noted lack of microwave, but this was provided me immed on request - so just ask. Rooms are quiet (no notable noise from other rooms, guests, or outside).

Food: Staci's is solid. Usual mix of b'fast, lunch, dinner items - e.g., steak, chx, salmon, variety of sandwiches, apps, etc. Nothing that will blow you away, but good - and staff (e.g., Laura) are outstanding, as across this property. If there for some time, very close alternatives are: "Jimmy's" (restaurant and good sized bar with some quite good entrees, very good apps, incl Angus sliders, wings, flat breads - 5 min from hotel in same business park); "Pairings" (casual dine in and take out with wine, beer, and very nice selection of salads, pizza, flat breads, Italian, American and Mex entrees - also 5 min away and next to Pairings); "Campiello's" (very nice Italian restaurant, a bit less casual, great entrees, good wine list - just three blocks south on Shady Oak). Also three coffee shops, bagel shop, and Jimmy Johns within a couple blocks. So, lots of choices, but Staci's is def good bet for meal, rm service.

Location: Sits in business park (Opus) right next to UHC headquarters, and near many small businesses. Close to freeway, easy access. Western MSP suburbs (Minnetonka). Most of guests will be local business related.

All in all - very good property with an outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Suite, corner rooms best for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. Please rest assured that the staff will receive the recognition they deserve. Your feedback regarding the hotel was welcomed. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We love our Marriotts and beds.
The only thing we did not like was the water pressure in our room, but other than that it was great.
The Restaurant had friends staff and the salad I had was very very blood, we loved the people that served at the bar too .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant and bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Standard Marriott setup, which we stay at a lot. Our first room smelled very musty. They moved us to a second one and the smell was only slightly better. The staff offered us air freshener but we would have preferred a better room. 10 minutes later they called to offer us a third room but no promise it would smell better. I'm not sensitive to smells so we stuck with the one we had, but if you are you might go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I am sorry to hear about the experience you had while staying with us. If you would like to discuss in more detail please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel here was awesome! Close to everywhere. The airport was also close by which only made the experience better! The staff provided us with directions to many places and checked on us later! Awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I am pleased to read that the staff was able to provide you with directions and make your stay an awesome stay. Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our Vizsla Club of America National Events was held at this hotel this year and it was above and beyond excellent. The accommodations were beautifully spacious as well as comfortable. The rooms were quiet as well as climate controlled for a restful stay. The hotel restaurants, in which we had all our meals from banquets to breakfast to lunches and several dinners, were fabulous. I had many of their menu choices and all were superb. All of the staff was friendly and accommodating. I only saw one waiter who was below par and thankfully he was not ours. I would certainly recommend this hotel for any business traveler. It was a bit out of the way, being located in an industrial area, for holiday travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott J, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We were excited to be the host hotel for your special event. I would like to thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel accommodations and staff. It is always the favorite part of my job to share comments like yours with the staff. The feedback regarding the restaurant and staff is also very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Minneapolis-Eden Prairie
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Address: 5801 Opus Pkwy, Minnetonka, MN 55343-9680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range: $146 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Southwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a re-energized hotel near Minneapolis offering an ideal location, nestled amongst walking paths and perfect for outdoor excursions, yet close to highways and attractions. The Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, a premier hotel in Minnetonka, provides a haven for relaxing and socializing with an open lobby and MI Greatroom, a perfect spot to work or play. When not relaxing in our Greatroom or enjoying the outdoors, feel at home in over 300 spacious hotel rooms and suites, featuring luxurious touches such as plush Revive bedding and 37 inch flat screen TVs. Explore exciting amenities including a health club and heated indoor pool, or enjoy a bite to eat at Blue Birch, featuring eclectic regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a scenic outdoor patio, our hotel is the ultimate venue for both large corporate retreats and intimate social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Minnetonka
Minnetonka Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing