We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nearly no-service hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2008

What does $138 per night get you?
1. A room - mostly clean, no view, out of date and heavily worn furniture.
2. No wireless internet. Wired internet available for 12.95 per day (yes that's per day).
3. No complimentary breakfast. A Super 8 type breakfast is available (toast, fruit, yogurt) for $9. A full breakfast is avalable for $14.
4. A shockingly out of date website and in room binder: "Two Restaurants in the hotel" means one restaurant. "Gift Shop" means closet with mini toothpaste and razors for sale. (and I mean 4 square feet of space.) "Business center" means dell computer available for rent. "Print from your room and have the copies delivered to your door" means we don't know how you can print from your room so don't worry about how their getting to your door. "Valet Parking" means park it yourself, lazybones, we're not even going to put salt on the sidewalks. "Internet Browser/WebTV" means hahahahhahah right! "Bathtub with spray jets" means bathtub with shower head. "Seperate bathtub and shower" means Bathtub on floor, shower head on wall.

On the plus side, Room service was fast and excellent, and available up to 11pm.

Basically, a decent, clean, safe hotel with NO free amenities or charm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 334 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

I stayed at the Marriott Southwest in October for a couple of nights, and I highly recommend this facility if you are needing accomodations in the area. Easy access from the airport, not a bad drive. Located in a very nice business park. Check in was a breeze; fast, with friendly counter staff. A computer and printer is provided right at the check-in counter so you can print out airline boarding passes....sweet! The bar is located in a cavernous lobby area, which can be very noisy. The weekend I was there, there were quite a few girls hockey teams staying there for a tournament, but I didn't really hear them much. My room was nice and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on; even better than at home. Only complaint about the room was the coffee set-up didn't include tea or decaf coffee. No free in room internet access, although if you need free access, go to any local Caribou Coffee and they have free accounts for access. Parking was plentiful. Typical hotel amenities like gift shop, gym etc...overall very nice. For the money ($81 USD a night) it is a great bargain. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HoopyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times over the Holiday Season while visiting Minneapolis for Theater events. We found the lobby very impressive and it reminded us of the Marriott we stayed in while visiting Milan, Italy. The marble floors and open space was very inviting.

The room was warm and the bed was made with six or so pillows. The bedspread linen comforter was nice to sleep under on a cold night.

The bartender was friendly and the desk helpful.

We would recommend the hotel. We booked online for a special that was non refundable but enjoyed the savings ($79)

I rate this hotel excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SlowNnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Over the past years the Marriott Southwest had gone down in quality and I felt I had to write a review after my most recent stay. We booked on the Marriott.com website and got a $69 weekend rate. The rooms have all been updated and the breakfast buffet is large, fresh and has an omelet making station. It has by far the best Marriott buffet in the Minneapolis area. This Marriott has a huge pool and very nice 8 person hot tub, but the extra is a fitness room, a steam room and a sauna. We were very happy to see all common areas updated and although the front desk wasn't extremely friendly, they were professional. I would highly recommend the Marriott Southwest.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Megan from Marriott helped me book, and took extra care to assure me that our large dog was allowed and welcomed. Upon arrival, Megan and the other front desk ladies were all smiles and even took time to pet our dog. Check-in was very quick too.

I found our room (2 room suite) to be clean & spacious. Even the bubble-jet tub was clean enough to use right away (often these worry me)!

The property was quiet & nice, plenty of green space to walk the dog. (Good for people too)

Room service was timely and friendly. We were able to order Starbucks White Chocolate Mochas to be delivered in the morning, which was a wonderful treat. The food we had in the dining area was very good too.

When in Minneapolis again, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DexterDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

I checked in to this hotel at 7pm. The lady at the front desk had a name tag that said something something manager, so you'd expect her to be friendly as could be...WRONG! She was a [--]!! I checked in 2 rooms, with 2 friends, and 2 toddlers, and a 12 year old. This [--] charged $120 extra to my card for no reason. When I found out about it an hour after checking in by calling to see what my card balance was, I immediatley contacted the woman who checked us in. She refused to answer any questions as to why I was charged, saying only its hotel policy and that I should have read the fine print. I asked the woman for the fine print she was talking about and she couldnt give me anything. It's been 3 days since I checked out and my money has still not been put back on my card!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank lindsl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2007

Marriott Minneapolis Southwest is a GREAT hotel. I'm not usually that crazy about large facilities, but this one is a gem. After reading the positive reviews by fellow TripAdvisor members, I booked 2 nights at this location, and my companion and I were extremely satisfied. The room was just right for us--beds that felt like sleeping on cozy marshmallows, a nice late-night bar, and super-quiet. We may have just been lucky, but we didn't hear a peep from anyone, and the place was pretty crowded. I will continue using TripAdvisor to guide my lodging choices. Hats off to Marriott!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 50 in Minneapolis
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,712 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Address: 5801 Opus Pkwy, Minnetonka, MN 55343-9680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range: $133 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Southwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a re-energized hotel near Minneapolis offering an ideal location, nestled amongst walking paths and perfect for outdoor excursions, yet close to highways and attractions. The Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, a premier hotel in Minnetonka, provides a haven for relaxing and socializing with an open lobby and MI Greatroom, a perfect spot to work or play. When not relaxing in our Greatroom or enjoying the outdoors, feel at home in over 300 spacious hotel rooms and suites, featuring luxurious touches such as plush Revive bedding and 37 inch flat screen TVs. Explore exciting amenities including a health club and heated indoor pool, or enjoy a bite to eat at Blue Birch, featuring eclectic regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a scenic outdoor patio, our hotel is the ultimate venue for both large corporate retreats and intimate social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Minnetonka
Minnetonka Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing