We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2007

I checked in to this hotel at 7pm. The lady at the front desk had a name tag that said something something manager, so you'd expect her to be friendly as could be...WRONG! She was a [--]!! I checked in 2 rooms, with 2 friends, and 2 toddlers, and a 12 year old. This [--] charged $120 extra to my card for no reason. When I found out about it an hour after checking in by calling to see what my card balance was, I immediatley contacted the woman who checked us in. She refused to answer any questions as to why I was charged, saying only its hotel policy and that I should have read the fine print. I asked the woman for the fine print she was talking about and she couldnt give me anything. It's been 3 days since I checked out and my money has still not been put back on my card!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank lindsl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Minneapolis Marriott Southwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2007

Marriott Minneapolis Southwest is a GREAT hotel. I'm not usually that crazy about large facilities, but this one is a gem. After reading the positive reviews by fellow TripAdvisor members, I booked 2 nights at this location, and my companion and I were extremely satisfied. The room was just right for us--beds that felt like sleeping on cozy marshmallows, a nice late-night bar, and super-quiet. We may have just been lucky, but we didn't hear a peep from anyone, and the place was pretty crowded. I will continue using TripAdvisor to guide my lodging choices. Hats off to Marriott!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Full service hotel with all the amenities. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

The hotel and the room were absolutely gorgeous~the only thing lacking was courteous and friendly front desk check in employees~they were not friendly at all~

All in all a good stay though~

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fancyfeasts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for a romance package in February. We had a pleasant stay.

The bath was a little dated but no complaints.

The breakfast was a bit scant.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lbhtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

As someone who suffers from migraine headaches, I felt obligated to write about the extremely strong scent this hotel "pipes" in. As I walked through the door, my first thought was that the woman in front of me was wearing too much strong cologne. Turns out - the entire LOBBY was wearing too much cologne. It was overpowering! We had to check out early and eat breakfast somewhere else because I would have had a pounding headache had I spent much time in the lobby/restaurant area. Fortunately we were on a high floor and the scent was not evident in the halls or rooms that high up.

That having been said, this Is a pleasant enough Marriott. Even though it's been remodeled, you can see that it's an older style hotel and was probably quite grand in its day but it's still nice - especially for a quick overnight stay to catch a plane or something like that. It's in the middle of a business park so it's a ghost town on the weekends (which isn't always a bad thing since it's quiet) and the "hi-rise aspect" makes for some nice views. Because it is in a business park be mindful that to eat anywhere other than the hotel's restaurant would require driving or using the bus. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and the buses were picking up on Friday night but you should probably ask in advance if they run on the weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

Stayed here a couple weeks ago, just to get out of the house for the night. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite with 'The Romance Package'. This included strawberries/chocolate/champagne in the room upon arrival, room service breakfast in the morning and late check out.

This property is very nice and what I would expect from the Marriott brand. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and the bedding is really comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean, although a little outdated. All of the amenities are from Bath & Body Works, which is a nice touch.

Breakfast in the morning was delivered in the time frame we requested and was very good.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank StephieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Minneapolis-Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eden Prairie
8.1 mi away
Millennium Minneapolis
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
746 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Address: 5801 Opus Pkwy, Minnetonka, MN 55343-9680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range: $125 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott Southwest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a re-energized hotel near Minneapolis offering an ideal location, nestled amongst walking paths and perfect for outdoor excursions, yet close to highways and attractions. The Minneapolis Marriott Southwest, a premier hotel in Minnetonka, provides a haven for relaxing and socializing with an open lobby and MI Greatroom, a perfect spot to work or play. When not relaxing in our Greatroom or enjoying the outdoors, feel at home in over 300 spacious hotel rooms and suites, featuring luxurious touches such as plush Revive bedding and 37 inch flat screen TVs. Explore exciting amenities including a health club and heated indoor pool, or enjoy a bite to eat at Blue Birch, featuring eclectic regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With over 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including a scenic outdoor patio, our hotel is the ultimate venue for both large corporate retreats and intimate social gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Marriott Southwest Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Hotel Minnetonka
Marriott Minnetonka
Minnetonka Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing