We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST SESAME CHICKEN WE HAVE EVER FOUND!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanderers Garden - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wanderers Garden
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“BEST SESAME CHICKEN WE HAVE EVER FOUND!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate at Wanderers many times when we lived in MN. But now that we live in Florida, we really miss their food. No Chinese restaurant here in FL even comes close to the food at Wanderers Garden. Whenever we get back to MN, Wanderers Garden is a MUST stop for us. Everyone loves their food & the lunch buffet is a great deal. But sometimes we just order the Sesame Chicken along with a side - splitting the food between us.

It's not the fanciest place but the food has always been very tasty to us & we miss it now that we don't live in MN anymore!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miffie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I went there with my family for a birthday meal for my son. He oreded the buffet and my wife and I ordered off the menu. He loved the buffet. Lots of variety and tastey food. My entre was good(Orange Beef) and my wifes entre(Sesame Chicken) was also good. Until she found a hair in it. She happened to find it right when the waitress asked how our meals were. The waitress felt VERY bad that there was a hair in my wife's food and comped both my and her meal. She also gave my wife and I the opportunity to visit the buffet. Long -story-short, there was a problem, they felt bad and then they fixxed it. We will return.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hughjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love the Sesame chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Yes the decor and furnishings are pretty tired but the food is great, especially the sesame chicken. The buffet at lunchtime is also a good deal. If they could just invest some TLC on the dining environment, they would be a 5-star choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loopjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I think this restaurant Wandered off from the health dept radar.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Needless to say, I am not a fan and I wish for a much better asian experience in the Ridgedale area besides this and Big Bowl. Wanderers has made me sick and I'll never go back, unless it burns down and a completely new kitchen, menu, and chef magically appear. Too harsh? I don't like to settle for just getting by with my food choices and this restaurant needs to get checked in on by the what's her name... Tabitha from cable tv. the lady that makes over hair salons. I think she's branched out and is doing restaurants now too. Hopefully she shuts this one down for a make over soon.

Helpful?
Thank crimsonrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could be heaven or this could be..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband looked a bit worried but it turned out to be a very pleasant evening - everyone really liked what they ordered. Waitress was very sweet and helpful, I asked about something that wasn't on menu and they made it. Reasonably priced. Would go back at lunchtime just for the shrimp fried rice. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cascade98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanderers Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing