We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Double Tree Suites in Minneapolis. After flying into Minneapolis we took the light rail from terminal 2 to the Nicollet Mall Station (12th stop), and then walked approximately 7 to 8 blocks before reaching the hotel. The light rail cost $1.75 per person. This walk might not be for everybody, but we packed light, and while the weather was pretty brisk, we enjoyed walking through the Nicollet Mall seeing the shops and restaurants.

Check in at the hotel was easy, the room was ready when we arrived at around 3 PM. We are Hilton Diamond Members: our room was on the Hilton Honors Floor, we were given 3 cans of complimentary soda and 2 bottles of complimentary water, free internet and complimentary breakfast buffet. The room was clean and large: two sitting areas, two televisions, a refrigerator, microwave, small coffee pot, king sized bed with lots of pillows. It was a very quiet room, we did not hear noise from anywhere else in the hotel – and we had a beautiful view of the city, it was especially nice at night when all the lights came on.

My one complaint was the size of the bathroom, it was extremely tiny considering how large the rest of the room was. Only one person could be in the bathroom at a time, and if you happened to be sitting on the toilet, the door could not be opened. I appreciated that the hair dryer was not attached to the wall, but I could not use it anywhere other than the bathroom. There was a small alcove near the bed, which to me means it may have been a vanity at some point, but there was no mirror. There was a full length mirror in the hallway, but no plug in. I could only dry my hair in the bathroom. It would have been nice if my husband and I could get ready in the morning at the same time, but that was not possible in this room.

We did have a drink in the bar, along with some snack food, excellent service there; the staff at the breakfast buffet were attentive, always keeping our coffee cups full. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, it was clean, the hotel staff were friendly everywhere we went, the location was convent to shopping and restaurants. My only complaint was the bathroom, which is why I don’t give the hotel a perfect rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KANR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for letting others know exactly how your experience was at the Doubletree Suites in Minneapolis. You painted a great pictures to help others know what to expect. Other than the size of the bathrooms, I am glad that we showed you great hospitality. We are certainly looking in to changing the layout of the bathrooms during our next renovation. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    336
    132
    87
    51
See reviews for
187
188
48
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location in downtown. Staff was terrific. My wife requested a room change as she invariably does and staff was extremely accommodating and made her (and thus me) very happy. Location right in the center of downtown was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am so glad that the staff showed you their sincerity and thoughtfulness, as the staff is what makes the Doubletree Suites who we are. We try to show professionalism and character in the most fun way possible. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My 3 day, 2 night stay was perfect. Helpful staff! I was able to check in early and get comfortable before afternoon business meetings. Everything was so clean and comfortable. I was concerned about having a room next to the elevator, but was surprised at how totally quiet it was--even over the weekend. Great location. I look forward to my next MN trip to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sk60638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for your great review. I am glad that staff was helpful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We can't wait to see you next time. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from Friday to Monday during Canadian Thanksgiving week end. We arrived on a very wet, cold and rainy evening. It was probably close to 10 PM by the time we checked in. We get to the check in counter and there are 2 relatively young men behind the desk. A manager comes and goes as we are standing there drenched. It took a full 5-7 minutes for anyone to even acknowledge our existence (the first service issue). I should also mention that this hotel was booked at regular prices (not a bid) through Priceline.

We were in town to take our nephew to see his favourite football player (Adrian Peterson) play for his 16th birthday. This is important because our party was going to be staying in 2 more rooms the following day. We had a total of 3 rooms, in other words. I should also mention that I have been traveling a lot for work lately; and, the level of service for every hotel seems to suffer as a result booking with Priceline. This is something to think about moving forward. I see it most because my company sometimes puts me in the same properties, at a much more expensive rate. In my opinion service should never suffer based on the rate.

In any case, all 3 rooms were booked using Priceline. None of us got any cookies at check in. I happen to be a Hilton rewards member; and, since I used to travel so much at one point, I was actually a Hilton Platinum rewards member I can honestly tell you that I have never stayed at a Doubletree hotel previously, including booking through Priceline, and not received cookies at check in. I have checked in sometimes at 1 AM and still received warm cookies.

On the Saturday morning my wife and I left our room at around 10 AM. We could hear the maids knocking on doors nearby. We retuned to our room at around 2:30 PM. The room was not mail up. We did remove the "do not disturb" from the door upon leaving. This was service issue number 2.

You will notice that up until now things have been quite negative; yet, I have rated the hotel highly. This Hotel may have received the highest ratings that I have ever given had it not been for the lack of service. If I was reading this review I would consider not staying here for that reason alone. This property has great rooms, it is in a great location, about a 10 minute walk to the closest train station (which is how we arrived from the airport). I think the cost is under $2 each way. We got a day pass for about $6/person. There is a great restaurant down the street called the News Room that was amazing.

The hotel did not have free internet of any kind. There was supposed to be free wifi in the lobby level but my I phone or I pad could not connect on any of the 3 days. The cost is $10 for a 24 hour period or free for Hilton Gold members.

Overall I would stay here; but, if I encountered the same service issues I may not be as forgiving.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AtwoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
This review is so valuable to myself and my team. I really appreciate you being so thorough and concise in your response. This type of service is not typical of our hotel but simply unacceptable. There is nothing I can say to try to just justify the lack of professionalism. There is no excuse for not being recognized right when you come in the lobby, or given a cookie no matter what time in the night or morning it is. We should check your room multiple times when you are gone to ensure it was cleaned beyond your expectations. We talk about these types of issues every day with the staff to ensure they are well trained, and we only hire the staff that believes in these principles. I ensure you I will not allow this to continue. We our in the hospitality business for a reason, to create connections with guests and to serve. I promise you we will do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice place to stay. Nice ammenities. A little pricy, but I was here for a conference and I don't have anything to compare against. Parking and internet access were rediculously priced at $19.00 and $10.00 per day. Friendly staff and very comfortable lobby and room furniture. Great location - close to conference center and not too far from downtown for dining and entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We take all of our guest's comments very seriously and will be sincerely ensuring that all of our prices are comparable and better than our competitors, and that our guest's see that value in staying with us. We will do everything to keep your business and show you that we truly think of our guests as our family. Thank you for your review. Have a great winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. The property meet all of our expectations and the service provided was above average. The are a number of hotels in the area and we selected this one based on the price. I do not think you can go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We appreciate the fantastic review. Thank you for deciding to spend your time with the family at the Doubletree Suites in Minneapolis. We strive to create life long customers, so I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice sized room - clean - everything worked inside the room. Minor issues: coffee for machine in room - no regular coffee. Even with the heat turned all the way down, the room was warm. ---- Attached restaurant was very nice and service oriented. Starbucks was attached so no walking outside. Target headquarters across the street. Taxi's parked outside the hotel for good service to other locations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin P, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We appreciate your opinion! We will work very hard to ensure we don't miss the details like not having regular coffee in all of the rooms at all times. At the Doubletree, the little things mean everything. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and are working very hard to ensure the temperature in the rooms is comfortable and efficient at all times. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,343 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis
Address: 1101 Lasalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, this all-suite hotel is walking distance to Target Field, Hennepin Theatre District, the Minneapolis Convention Center, Nicollet Mall and Target Center. Large guest suites are 25% larger than most standard hotel rooms and feature the luxurious Suite Dreams beds, in-room safes, spacious living rooms, refrigerators and microwaves. Come lounge, network and cozy up by the fire in the lobby or visit Lot 57, our onsite restaurant and bar serving breakfast and dinner. Grab a cup of coffee in our full-service, onsite Starbucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Hotel Minneapolis
Doubletree Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing