We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a Twins game and stayed here because it's within walking distance to Target Field. The staff were very nice, our vehicle was too tall to fit in the parking deck related to the hotel but they assisted us with getting to a nearby deck that would fit our needs. The fee to park in that deck was taken off our bill. It was a nice hotel and very quiet. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    99
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
56
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I loved the room. The hotel was very close to every place I needed to be in downtown Minneapolis. Regardless of when I left the room it was always cleaned up when I got back. Also had the best free breakfast I've ever had at a Marriott. I attend a conference once per year and will definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avantass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
It's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and even better that you are already thinking about next time! I'm excited to share your comments with the housekeeping and breakfast staff. Your kind words are much appreciated. Thank you.

I look forward to next year when we can serve you again, but remember you could always come back before that!

Aimee B
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here on a "mini vacation" for two nights. What a clean, comfortable and all around great hotel. We had a two room suite with a full kitchen and living area in between. It was so nice to be able to go into your own bathroom and bedroom but also have a common area where we could all hang out. The people working here were over the top friendly and accomadating. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to review our property. We strive to make sure our guests feel welcome and appreciated, and it sounds like the staff did a great job of that. We look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We selected this hotel because of the close location to Target Field. The field is approximately 10-15 minutes within walking distance Safe area, many city ambassadors on Segways available to assist you. Room was spacious and clean. Most staff were pleasant and helpful. Encountered a couple of grumpy desk clerks and one that kept giving inaccurate directions and sent us on a wild goose chase! Many excellent restaurant choices within blocks of the hotel. Great popcorn factory next door. YUM! Room didn't get cleaned by 4:30 pm one day. As soon as staff was alerted, housekeeping showed up within minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that it was a nice location for you and that you were able to enjoy some of the local attractions. I want to apologize for the poor experiences you encountered with some of the front desk clerks and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the poor directions that were given to you. I will make sure to use this as a training opportunity for our front desk staff so they are better educated on the local attractions and more importantly the best directions to give out to reach those destinations. We do hope to see you return to our property in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Target Field. We had a "studio" room. It was very roomy with a cute kitchenette. The room was very clean and all staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the Minneapolis restaurants and enjoyed at least one Twins game. We pride ourselves in knowing that each guests room is well cleaned and in working order for our guests. It's wonderful to know that the staff was able to assist you in finding everything you needed during your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have stayed here many times and always ended up with full satisfaction. I always prefer this hotel because of the clean and spacious rooms and the location. Breakfast is good and front desk staff are great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovaimadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It's so wonderful to here that you choose our property every time you are in Minneapolis. Our goal is to be your home away from home and it seems as though we may have hit the mark in your case. Thank you for telling people about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was just steps from the State Theatre where we were going to a show. Very small, but nicely appointed rooms. Front desk staff was very nice, but when I called at 10pm to get a rollaway bed the desk clerk sounded harried and informed me that he was the only one working (and we had just walked in and seen 3 guys standing at the front desk)

The rooms were nice sized, and the beds comfortable.

The breakfast was nice, not overly large but a little bit of everything.

I would stay here again. Parking is in a garage next door, not included.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,549 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing