We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel was just steps from the State Theatre where we were going to a show. Very small, but nicely appointed rooms. Front desk staff was very nice, but when I called at 10pm to get a rollaway bed the desk clerk sounded harried and informed me that he was the only one working (and we had just walked in and seen 3 guys standing at the front desk)

The rooms were nice sized, and the beds comfortable.

The breakfast was nice, not overly large but a little bit of everything.

I would stay here again. Parking is in a garage next door, not included.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    99
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
56
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great property in a great location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was outstanding, clean and lots of space. We wanted to stay longer but had to move on. Close to lots of great restaurants and night life. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

the residence inn service people were great ,very help full. our room was large and am free breakfast was good, but best of all, the inn has a taxi at your door, a big plus, parking is costly,fly in,call inn for taxi service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garfield s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I am a Road Warriar and live in hotels. The Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center is excellent. The service the team provides is excellent, I was treated like family! The accomodations are just what you expect from a RI and were always clean. The free meals were good quality (breakfast daily and dinner Mon-Thursday). Free internet with the option to purchase enhanced internet (which is free if you are Marriott Platinum). I will always stay in this hotel when in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: I like the LaSalle street view. You can see the lights of the Theater District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose this hotel for a quick two night trip to Minneapolis. The location is perfect for access to the downtown theaters, Nicollet Mall and Hennepin Avenue areas.

Our room was on the 10th floor and looked out over the parking ramp. The rooms are good sized and include a fully equipped kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable. Wifi is available in the rooms.

The hotel itself is kept very clean and kept in very good repair. The staff was very friendly and efficient. I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Being a Marriott gal, I chose to stay at Residence Inn, rather than the Hilton where my conference was situated; it was the 'right' choice. The staff was welcoming right from the start (go Heather!), the room was extremely clean, the beds comfortable, and the location was ideal to restaurants, stores, and the train... easily walkable to my conference. The hotel is attached to the skyways, although I never used it! In addition, the hotel offers a hot breakfast, which had more than enough choices, plus on Monday through Thursday, they served a small (but sufficient) dinner option. In addition, the hotel is actually above a parking garage on floors 10-14, so you take a special elevator to get to your room, which you need a room key to use; I felt totally secure and safe. The large street directly to the side of the hotel is Nicollet Mall, and you can find a zillion restaurants, stores (Macy's is right next door!), lovely sidewalk tables, yummy bakeries, and more. It was a perfect location with a perfect staff, eager to help. Since I travel for a living and stay mostly as Marriott's, I am able to make some comparisons, and in my opinion, this is the best Residence Inn that I've ever stayed at. You won't be disappointed... it's practically perfect indeed!

Room Tip: My room was on the 14th floor, and my air conditioner at times did get noisy... but I did not experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beginningsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at several Residence Inn's because of the service and room selections. The RI downtown MN was a perfect location for us as we were getting married in the twin cities. We were able to walk to the government building to get our license. We came in on a Thursday so we were able to enjoy the vast variety of food trucks they had lined up downtown. The parking structure is conveniently located right night to the hotel. The thing we enjoyed the most was that we were able to get a 2 bedroom suite, so we could stay with our friends who flew in to be our witnesses. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The room had a nice sized kitchen and spacious area with couch and chairs which divided the rooms.
The breakfast buffet was a bonus, always fully and unbelievable variety of selections of hot and cold food. I did use the fitness room, it's rather small and the hours are limited. It should almost be open 24 hours a day or at least a lot earlier.
The staff were remarkable. They provided us with dinner recommendations, directions and anything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,549 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing