We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, convenient place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have visited Minneapolis on official trips a couple of times and most of the times I have stayed at this Hotel. Its in the heart of Mpls downtown so very convenient for going to office by walk or sky-ways. There are ample of options of dinning out. Breakfast is complimentary at the hotel restaurant and it is very good. Definitely one of my preferred place to stay when on a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    97
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
56
56
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

It's a very nice place, and the employees are very helpful, but I think that an urban hotel must take proper noise abatement measure. Instead, even though I was on the 11th floor, I had to sleep with ear plugs and white noise from my iphone.

I also had booked the government rate, and was told that it was only for federal employees, and as a state employee I didn't qualify. In almost twenty years of traveling as a state government employee, this was the first time a hotel declined to give me the government rate. Fortunately, it was only one night and the next best rate wasn't that much more.

Room Tip: Ask to not be facing the street, or it's going to be very noisy, all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review us and will take your thoughts into consideration as we work towards a hotel renovation that we hope to start by the end of 2014. We feel badly that you had a poor night sleep and apologize for that.
As far as the issue you experienced at check in with the rate you booked, our government rate is a federal government rate. It is published as a military/federal government rate and states that it requires ID. By labeling it this way we feel that it lets guests know that you must be one of the two to qualify for the rate. Producing a state government ID unfortunately does not qualify you, therefore the front desk staff member offered you the next best rate you did qualified for. We cannot speak to the other hotels that have allowed you to stay at their government rate however, our policy has always been the same.
Again, we thank you for your review and hope that you might give us another opportunity to help you sleep well in our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
312 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

First the Pros: Super Nice and responsive staff. I asked what time I should leave for the airport the next morning - and they immediately offered up a sedan to take me there at 8am the next morning for the price of a cab. Great recommendations for nearby (walkable) dining options AND they even gave us coupons for free appetizers and discounts.
I was surprised how nice my room was. Very large. Fresh.
Now the Cons:
1) The desk chair and desk are mismatched. The desk is WAY TOO HIGH for this cheap desk chair that doesn't go up high enough. That doesn't bode well when you have a few hours of work that you need to do...
2) Speaking of the desk chair - it must be broken as the back is fixed leaning back in almost a recline mode. Uncomfortable. Cheap.
3) You remember those cheap old low flo toilets that didn't flush well and constantly got stopped up? Well, they are here (or at least in my room #1222)
4) The Internet service is LOUSY. It wouldn't hold my VPN and was diagnosed as "unstable". I finally had to pull out my personal Verizon MiFi and provided my own internet service. I normally never have to do that at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, MN
Level Contributor
331 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here on Friday evening, February 7, 2014. We arrived at 3:30 pm. A word about the layout of the hotel and the parking situation. The lobby of the hotel is on the street level of 8th Street and LaSalle on the southeast corner. Then there are 8 floors of public parking ramp above the lobby and then four floors of the hotel rooms above that. There is no street parking. The attached parking ramp is entered on the east side of LaSalle midway between 8th Street and 9th Street. (Parking is $13.00 for 24 hours) The central bank of elevators from the parking ramp will take you to the ground floor for a very short walk through a small indoor business courtyard to the doors for the Hotel. The doors are locked 24/7 for security. Initially you must ring the bell at the door or get the attention of the front desk person through the windows of the doors. Once registered, your room key will allow access.

Registration was a breeze. When they handed us our keys the staff asked us to immediately report any loud noises during our stay. (Never had to report any noise; very, very quiet.) The actual hotel elevators are located to the right of the registration desk and you must use your room key to activate the elevator floor buttons. Essentially the elevators cannot stop at all in the parking area between the lobby and the rooms. (The parking is accessed from the lobby and back through the business courtyard to those garage elevators.)We arrived on the 10th floor and were in room 1022.

Very large king room. Nice desk and work area. Easy chair and lounger/sofa. Nice flat screen television with excellent picture. There is a kitchen area with full sized refrigerator/freezer and stove/cook-top. There is also a dishwasher and fully stocked utensils and dishware. The bathroom is clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable and the pillows were great. The linens were soft and cozy. The room temperature was perfect; we never had to touch the thermostat.

Convenient to everything we needed for the weekend. We had reservations at the Capital Grille at the corner of 8th and Hennepin for 6:00 pm and then theater reservations next door to that at the State Theater for 8:00 pm. Those are both located in the building directly to the west of the hotel. It is connected by the skyway. So...we did not have to even put on a jacket or coat to get to these locations on this very frigid night with a temp of minus 10 degrees. We exited the hotel lobby and went into the business courtyard and took the escalator to the second floor. From there we took the skyway connecting our building from east to west to the LaSalle Plaza building. That building has multiple restaurants and the theater. After our dinner and show we just reversed our steps and used our room key to again gain entrance to the hotel lobby.

The free breakfast on Saturday morning was great. It is located on the lobby level. Excellent hot food, real eggs, tasty sausage and a good assortment of cold foods with cereals, breads, yogurt, juices and coffees. Lots and lots of seating and real glasses, dishes and metal utensils to enjoy your food.

All in all, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. You can't go wrong if you have dinner and show reservations in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Steve, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have the location we do and we know this makes us an easy choice for a night out on the town in Minneapolis, convenient to the skyway, many restaurants, and the Hennepin Theatre District. For this reason your comments about the cleanliness, staff, and breakfast is what truly excites us. We love to hear that we can accommodate on all levels!
Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'll start by saying I prefer to only stay at Marriott properties due to issues with previous hotels/chain.

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the last Vikings game at the Metrodome. The check in staff were friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. We were able to utilize the indoor skywalk system, walk to local restaurants (Check out Hell's Kitchen!!) and hop on the public transit system.

It was a quiet stay even though it was filled with football fans and I saw a few guests with cases of beer, we didn't hear anything.

I'm knocking one star off because we went down to the complimentary breakfast about 20 minutes before it ended and the food was gone. For the weekend that it was, I expected the hotel to be more prepared for the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that sometimes in a downtown setting on busy weekend hotels can be jam packed with rowdy guests making noise until all hours of the night. As an extended stay property we work very hard to ensure that our guests get a good night sleep no matter what our occupancy or the events in the area are. In regards to the lack of food at breakfast this should never happen! I would like to apologize that be failed you in this area. Please know that we are using this review as a way to re-train our kitchen staff on the importance of prompt and efficient service. I sincerely hope that you will give the hotel another shot to prove we can do better.

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
45 S 8th St
MInneapolis, MN 55402
P (612) 677-1000
F (612) 677-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I used to live in downtown and walked by this corner to work!

Now, living outstate with kids, this is our favorite spot when we're in Mpls. Rooms are clean and comfy, plenty of space and if you're watching the budget, get takeout for dinner and bring it back to the room and eat on real plates! Or try the caramel corn from Candyland about 30 steps outside the lobby doors.

As to security, this is a downtown location with a small lobby on a busy corner. The doors are secured and the desk is always staffed to keep the lobby from becoming a shortcut or a warming place.

Have stayed multiple times and the kids always ask to stay here. They love the feel of being right in the city. Great desk staff. Questions were always answered thouroughly and kindly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
With all the hotels in Minneapolis available to you we are excited to be your favorite! We're so glad you have chosen us as your go to hotel when you come back to visit Minneapolis. The staff truly strives to be able to answer any questions about the area our guests may have and it's wonderful to hear you think they are doing a great job. Thank you for taking the time to give us an outstanding review!

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
45 S 8th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing