We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Big rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay in downtown Minneapolis. Extra-spacious rooms, a block off the Nicollet Mall, in midst of shopping, night spots, office towers. Breakfast area nice, but two days straight we had no fresh fruit, Said they ran out. Front desk staff friendly. Some advice: don't pay hotel for daily parking ($19), pay the public daily rate ($13) - unless you plan to go in and out a lot. Park free on street after 10 p.m., but must leave by 8 a.m. There is a great YMCA with huge lap pool a 5-minute walk from hotel. Hotel may have free passes. Weekend room rates much lower than weekdays - usually.

Room Tip: Not many good views, mostly looking at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    91
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
51
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this over the weekend. We came from Chicago for a couples weekend and to see the Bears play. This hotel is close to everything, the rooms are great, and the staff is outstanding! Free breakfast is very good- not the usual "plastic eggs". Everything tasted fresh. The hotel is close to a lot of nice restaurants, and walking distance to the light rail and Nicollet Mall. We were stranded in Minneapolis an extra night because of a snowstorm. The staff let us check back in easily, gave us a beautiful room, and helped us make travel decisions. On site parking is very convenient, and very cheap! All around...a great place to stay when visiting downtown Minneapolis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here because of its proximity to the Capital Grille and the Hollidazzale parade on Nicollet Mall (11/24). We have a 12 y/o daughter and a 9 y/o son and our room is perfect for the 4 of us. The reason I booked this room was because we wanted to be able to walk to the restaurant and then walk to the parade after dinner, again it was perfect for what we wanted, everything was within walking distance.

Even though we had a specific agenda for the evening we will stay here again for any reason.

The front desk staff is very courteous, very helpful and check in was fast.

The room was very clean but the pull out sofa bed mattress could be replaced, it was a litte worn.

Overall were very please and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1218 and was very please
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Rooms are on 10-14th floors, so it is quiet. The L shaped room has King size bed, frig, microwave, sink, dishwasher, couch desk, real wine GLASSES and dishes. Got in late and found they had free hor d' oevuers chicken patties, salad, fried chicken legs, plus a first class breakfast included. Very friendly staff, and they helped me cancel a second night when we had to change plans. Great location. Highest recommendation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umdumdumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel only one night in October, 2012. A little difficult to check in, get your luggage and park your vehicle, but otherwise a good location.

The best part was the service we received from the girls at the front desk. I believe one of the girls' names was Leah. We had just checked in and I went downstairs and asked if the building across the street was a Macy's. Leah (?) said yes, and immediately offered a coupon, which I took advantage of. Went back to my room and gave the coupon to my husband who left immediately for more shopping. At that point, I flushed the toilet which proceeded to overflow all over the floor. Leah came up with a plunger and attempted to fix the toilet, but within 10 mins, had us transferred to a one bedroom suite. Very impressed by the service received!!

Breakfast was not bad, but not out of the ordinary. One bedroom suite was nice, but we actually preferred the standard suite layout without the separate bedroom.

Room was very clean and all amenities provided for cooking and relaxing if you just want to hang out in the room for a night.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again if we go back to MN.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4hourstodefrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Location, close to everything downtown. Nice room, full kitchen even though we did not use it. Everything was great. Two room suite. Only downside the view was of a parking lot and missing some common selections on cable. The parking lot was not connected directly to the hotel and was a little hard to locate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schloughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Love this location. Easy parking in the ramp off LaSalle Street. Very clean, well maintained hotel. Aimee is a great front desk manager and always greets us like old friends. Easy to get a cab if going out for dinner or valet parking is available. Easy to get to restaurants in the warehouse district or the Guthrie or Orchestra Hall.

Room Tip: 1008 or 1010 are our favorite rooms with easy access to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvand00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#14 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing