We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Loved the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Loved the breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I recently visited Minneapolis to attend a conference. This hotel is located near by Nicollet Mall. It was only 10 minutes walk to Minneapolis Convention Center, and many restaurants, stores, and Target near by. Very Convenient. I stayed in the corner room on the top floor. It was very spacious, clean, and quite. There is a kitchenette with a big refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. There was no in-room safe though... The fitness room was on 11th floor, which was very small. They offer free breakfast with many hot and cold items. They even have a waffle maker! In the afternoon, they offer freshly baked cookies. Staff was very nice and friendly. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    99
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
56
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It's Skywalk interconnected, those who have been to Minneapolis during winter will know what I mean. It is close to main restaurants, parking is on site (charged separately), it is across from Macys, a Target store and other stores, E-Block, Target Center and Target Field. I have walked once to the Metrodome too and it was not that bad. The lobby are is pretty cramped and dark, that were breakfast is held, but I guess it`s the price you pay for staying in downtown. Amy, Troy and their staff made our family feel at home, how so? We stayed there for 6 months. Needless to say more! Recommended for short or long stays, whether you bring your family or not.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andytravelerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent loacation at 8th and LaSalle across from Macys and attached to 1st Bank Tower.In the cold of a Minneapolis you are connected to the Skyway System. The rooms are spacious, well done with kitchens. The Manager is the best he is professional, friendly and always a smileon hisface. The entire staff is oneofthe best I have seen. The breakfasts and hospitalitys are very good. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay or along term stay.

Room Tip: Get a King 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattlePM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, MA, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our room at this Residence Inn was just like the other Residence Inns we stayed at during our 2 week trip - comfortable bed, clean, well supplied kitchen, and good size living space. You know what you're going to get, and that's good for a harried traveler. There is a Target around the corner for food shopping, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel breakfast is also just like all the other Residence Inns with hot and cold items. Front desk staff was very helpful. The downtown area is dead on weekends, but there's lots of shopping nearby with most stores connected by skywalks. Lots of street people and panhandlers in the area, especially along Nicolette. The front door of the hotel are locked after dark.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four night. Our room was vary spacious with a couch and kitchenette. Each day they supplied our kitchen with coffee and microwave popcorn. There was a great breakfast each day, and in the afternoon, large home-baked cookies were waiting for us when we returned from sightseeing. There was also a spread of food between 5:30-7:30 each weekday evening, as well, so you really could eat in most of the time if you wanted. There were bikes for rent right down the block that you could ride all over the city and deposit at different locations for a reasonable rate, so we used bikes for 2 days to visit the various lakes and Sculpture Gardens, and also to help us burn off all the calories we were consuming with those good cookies. The shower water pressure was great. Our air-conditioning fan was a little noisy but it worked well, and I wished there was a pool in the hotel, but we could have used the YMCA which was right across the street if we really wanted to swim. In the winter, you can get to many places without even going outside by using the elevated sky-walks that take you over the street to the next building. I give this hotel high marks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed here for two nights with my son. We got a decent weekend rate with AAA ($170 & $208[night of concert]) We were in Minn to see a U2 concert and a Minn Twins game. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Things were decorated recently. It is near the Nicollet Mall, a few blocks from the Light Rail (Mall of America, airport, etc.) It was also walking distance (few blocks) to Target Center and Target Field. It also had access to the Skyway system.
Checkin went smoothly. They give out complimentary cookies and apples for the guests. There is also coffee/tea/hot cocoa for the guests. Computers are in the lobby for guests to print their boarding passes or use the internet. Breakfast was included and they had scrambled eggs, biscuits, grits, sausages, make-your-own waffles, as well as continental fare like cereals, muffins, bagels, yogurts, juices, etc.
Great place, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!! Two things to perfect the place: needed higher watt light bulbs in room for reading, cut-up fruit for breakfast would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The best Marriot we have stayed in to date. The staff were excellent, friendly and had good local knowledge. The suite was furnished to a very high standard. The included breakfast buffet was excellent as were the evening snacks and cookies.

Room Tip: Book early, especially if there is a larger confe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,549 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing