We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Often great plays but avoid side & 2nd balcony tickets”

Children's Theatre Company
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
983 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Often great plays but avoid side & 2nd balcony tickets”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have seen many wonderful productions here over the last 30 years. Lot of creativity, often humor and very colorful. There are many reasons that the theater has been around for decades. The productions are terrific.

However, I strongly encourage people to get main floor, central tickets. Have had side tickets, and recently 2nd balcony tickets. On the side you can miss 1/4 to 1/3 of the stage. In the 2nd balcony, there is a railing that you have to look over or look under.

The productions are wonderful, often engaging both children and adults. Check to see if the actors/actresses are autographing after the performance. They were at a Saturday matinee and our youngster loved it. The actors/actresses were really nice to the kids, talking with, posing for pictures, and asking the kids questions. Nice touch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone ”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this theater for a variety of shows including the recent Cinderella show, which was excellent. The sets are always amazing and they have a few actors that appear in every show who are incredible. They bring humor, fun and talent to every performance. They really provide entertainment for every age group and often times teach valuable lessons while doing it. They perform a lot of well known stories as well as some lesser known, but always make it their own. Such a great place and if you've never been worth checking out even if you don't have kids to take.

Helpful?
Thank nicolef872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great productions”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've taken my daughter to Children's Theatre several times and she has also attended with school field trips. We were never disappointed. It is always a great production that keeps kids engaged in the story.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar,minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to introduce children to the theatre”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We first started taking our children to the children's theatre,and had season tickets. Our children loved going and seeing many plays, we did this for six years. Alas, our children grew up. Hooray we have grandchildren!,, now it's time to take them! I think you get the idea we love going.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavvySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This theater produces plays with young people behind the scenes as well as on stage and the orchestra pit. Plays by kids and for kids done in style every time.
Be sure to check out the Art Institute next door as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Children's Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing