We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good”

Seven Sushi Ultralounge and Skybar
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Sushi Ultralounge and Skybar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $55
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 3, 5, 16,19, 22, 94, 134, 144, 353, 355, 365, 375, 452, 721, 724, 755, 758 and 764. Get specific directions at http://www.metrotransit.org/
Description: The SEVEN SUSHI menu integrates traditional Japanese cuisine with unconventional international influences from around the world to create our own delights. Is well know for imaginative creations as well as classic favorites, contemporary sushi with new wave Asian inspired dishes served is what makes SEVEN SUSHI a Twin Cities favorite. 30 Varieties of sushi and sashimi 24 different Maki rolls 11 Delectable Chef's Specialty rolls Omakase We invite to come experience SEVEN sushi.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My hotel recommended this place that was close walking distance to the hotel. The rolls were a bit expensive but the service, food, and atmosphere was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    33
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Seven has several different seating areas. I made a reservation to be seated in the steakhouse area as my travel companions don't eat sushi. However, they seated us in the sushi lounge instead and said there was no room in the "traditional" dining area. The sushi all tasted great, but was rolled too loosely, and the fish was cut too thin. However, the prices for sushi were very reasonable. Two in our party ordered steak, and the third ordered a pasta dish, and all said they were quite good. Be prepared to pay $50 for a steak - their meat is all grass fed, high quality beef (and they love to tell you all about it). Service is slow but engaging, and our waiter was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about all but the wine list. I was a bit surprised by the wine list, and didn't feel that it was quite on par with the menu. We all ordered desserts, and three of them were over-the-top delicious! One person ordered bananas foster, and the table-side preparation and presentation was perfectly delivered, but the actual dish itself is pretty basic. Nothing against the restaurant or server here - it's just that such a basic dish doesn't hold a candle to the decadence of the other desserts. I would recommend Seven for business, romantic evenings, pre- or post-theatre dining, special occasions, etc. I would not recommend bringing younger children or a large group here as the pace of service is a bit too leisurely. To give you an idea, there were four of us, and we spent three hours here and only had salads, entrees, desserts, and after dinner drinks. This pace was set by the waiter and/or kitchen, not us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sushi”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Waitress was over the top...recommended firecracker roll which was amazing! She also gave me a jacket because it was chilly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollylope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice view from Skybar”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered this place walking around downtown. We walked upstairs and found a crowded rooftop deck. We sat down and waited for anyone to ask if we wanted a drink. Nothing. Then when getting a drink at the bar seats opened up. I grabbed them and discovered our drinks were way over priced. Never once was the drink menu offered to us. We were not engaged by the bartender. We enjoyed every drop of these expensive drinks and left. The young ladies next to us had sushi and they did not finish it so I am not sure if they were full or it was not good. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prepare for the long wait whether it is seating or waiting on your food!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Terrible waiting time on table seating and wait time on food! This was my second experience at a second bachelorette gathering and I couldn't believe the wait...over an hour on our food! Terrible wait service by our waitress Samantha!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank you090510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Sushi Ultralounge and Skybar also viewed

 

Been to Seven Sushi Ultralounge and Skybar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing