We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good expereince” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall good expereince”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

We stayed at the Marquette on a Friday night for 1 night. The hotel had great service and was very close to everything downtown. We ate at Murrays and it was awesome. We accidentally left our camera in our car that was parked by the valet. We called down to the desk and within 10 minutes they brought our camera up. Room service was also great we had a late night pizza from Basils and I loved it. The only issue I had was with the bathroom. We found a dirty band-aid in the whirpool tub after we filled it up and this really grossed us out. In addition, a white ceiling tile in the bathroom had rust on it. Both of these issues could be easily resolved with better cleaning and a little bit of paint. We had room 1350 and it was very quiet even though I think there were people in both rooms next to ours.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank normmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    412
    146
    65
    46
See reviews for
229
485
100
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

What a wonderful property. Decor was beautiful, property was clean and staff was outstanding! Very attentive staff, was answering my every need. This hotel is great for a business stay or for casual stays. Right downtown with walking access to many entertainment spots, shopping and restaurants! It's like a home away from home and I can't wait for another excuse to visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Addicted_to_Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We were having a small Academy awards party with friends flying in from California, and several of us that live here in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area.

From the very first phone call to the hotel with questions about
the kind of rooms we were looking for to housekeeping staff during our stay, the service was OUTSTANDING. I almost feel silly for gushing, but it truly was a blast for us.

At beginning of planning stages we were invited to come and look at all of the rooms to select which would best accommodate our needs. I spoke with Leo in concierge several times. His willingness to help with everything from nail salon and dinner reservations to limousine contacts was just a hint of the fabulous service that we would receive during our stay.

I am almost hesitant to actually name any particular staff because EVERYONE was accommodating and helpful - the gentleman at the front door from Trinidad & Tobago (I feel rude for not knowing his name) was unfailingly friendly and asked after members of our party every time he saw any of us. The bellman and bartenders were the same.
However, I must say that Michael T. at the front desk absolutely went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed AND MORE! (Michael A. was no slouch either!)

Room service food and Basil's Restaurant were OUTSTANDING. Service as well as menu choices were all we hope to receive from a 5 star restaurant.

The beds were very comfortable. The sitting room with a large flat screen TV, couch and chair with ottoman were perfect for hosting a small party. The decor is upscale but comfortable - a nice blend between modern and old world.

It really was the best time I've had in a hotel, and the other guests agree.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank zoehogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

large hotel, but great service. large room with very comfortable bed, and nice view. great location in the city, with great access to the skyways and light rail. interesting architecture, not boring.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karenrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2007

This hotel easily deserves it's reputation. We had a room on the executive level, the views were stunning, the decor and amenities wonderful. The steam bath was very cool, especially after walking around outside in a Minnesota winter!

The executive lounge is a great place to hang out and enjoy the scenery. The staff were very polite and helpful for the most part. Top all that off with an excellent location.

Outstanding.

It does seem that it is worth asking for a room away from the elevators, we requested so on the reservation and they put us as far away as they possibly could!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MnKuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

If you ever have the opportunity to stay in Minneapolis, I hope you will stay at the Marquette. The location is ideal for downtown shopping and dining, although there isn't much reason to leave the hotel.

Basil's is a terrific restaurant. Throughout the day, at least some (if not all) of the family can be found at Basil's, enjoying the food (be sure to get the wild rice soup) and the view. I won't tag them "kid friendly," as that might deter some of you from trying it, but the staff has always been very sweet to the little ones at our table.

This past weekend, I contacted the hotel to help arrange an anniversary surprise for my parents. In one phone call to the concierge, I had everything I needed. The staff is thoughtful and efficient, a lovely asset to the hotel.

Over the last 10 years, the hotel has become a family hub. With a family spread across the US, the Marquette is a lovely place to stay when we can't all get home.

Helpful?
1 Thank NJWICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

We were here for a wedding. Ceremony was at Nazareth Chapel at Northwestern Univ. Reception was on the 50th floor of the IDS building which shares a common area of the Marquette.
The hotel accomodations were wonderful. Very friendly staff. Conveniently located. Everything about our weekend here was fantastic. You will not be disappointed with the Marquette. A true example of how Hilton's should be.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lillious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing