We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway, Close to everything, Nice rooms!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great getaway, Close to everything, Nice rooms!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

THIS IS A LETTER THAT I WROTE TO THE HOTEL MANAGER IN REFERENCE TO OUR STAY....WE REALLY FELT LIKE WE WERE AT HOME OR STAYING AT A FRIEND's (VERY NICE) CITY CONDO. VERY PRIVATE AND COMFORTABLE!

I wanted to address a letter of compliment to the employees of the Marquette....

We took a weekend trip to Minneapolis for our 5th anniversary and had a few different hotels picked out to possible stay in: The W at the Foshay, The Marriot City Center & the Graves 601. Upon recommendation through a family member, we chose the Marquette for its proximity to our dinner reservations & shopping. We booked on the Hilton website and were able to get a nice rate on the room. I am extremely pleased to say that we had an excellent time during our stay & I credit your wonderful staff as well as your lovely hotel.

Upon arriving, I thought the lobby, although clean & well-kept, was slightly simple for a "luxury" hotel & I didn't understand what kind of decor was really going on. (slight mix of modern & contemporary with classic undertone?) However, the gentleman behind the desk, Samy, greeted us warmly. Of course, service trumps design any day. My husband asked if we could have a view, and Samy took a minute to choose a room for us, saying he thought we would be pleased with a corner one. Once we entered the room, we were both happy to see the spacious, clean & nicely furnished room with a beautiful, panoramic view of the surrounding buildings & city. Needless to say, it met and exceeded our expectations. The bathroom was outfitted with Crabtree and Evelyn products & the shower was large. Great for my 6'3 husband who typically feels a bit cramped while showering. The bed was comfortable with fresh, crisp sheets and a soft duvet, the room was clean without the chemical smell that is sometimes prevalent in hotels. The Marquette was a fantastic deal for a fabulous stay & we wanted to personally thank-you for the experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5FrequentFliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    413
    150
    67
    47
See reviews for
231
491
101
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

I lived in Minneapolis for years and had always wanted to stay at the Marquette on a trip back. (I was pleasantly surprised to find such a great deal via TripAdvisor and to see the hotel ranked as #1.) The service was outstanding and never intrusive, from the first person we encountered at the front desk to room service and housekeeping. (I admit we were perhaps a bit high-maintenance, but we never got any attitude, everyone was very friendly and professional.) Our room had big windows with a terrific view of the local skyscrapers -- though the curtain situation was a little overdone/unnecessary, numerous layers effectively blocking a great corner view (until we adjusted it, which took a little time). The beds could have been a little bigger, but they were comfortable. There was a huge flat-panel TV in the room (though we never turned it on). Nice closet space, mini-bar, safe and great bathroom/shower. There was also a big "executive desk" in the room which we, ahem, turned into a bar for a little pre-going-out party -- very fun. The location was perfect for all downtown destinations of walking- or cab-distance. One thing to watch out for if you have a car: I could have sworn there was a free parking offer as part of what I booked, but it didn't materialize on any confirmation, and the hotel did not have a record of my having booked that deal. Since I had no proof (and perhaps I didn't click everything I was supposed to) and everything else was great, I didn't push it. But the free parking would have made this almost perfect, so be sure to check the promotions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is the 15th year that we have been taking our grandchildren to the Nutcracker and staying at the Marquette. My grandson was 3 when we started this tradition and he is now ready to graduate and join the Marines. We have so many fond memories of our stay at the Marquette it would be hard to recount them all. The staff has always accomodated our smallest request to finding us a room with a great view when the kids were younger so we could watch the Hollidazzle parade to upgrading us to a suite so we could spread out when they became teenagers. The rooms are clean and the beds comfy. The Marquette is connected to the skyways so shopping is conveniant. Great place to spend the weekend, do your shopping, great restaurants and entertainment and there is a Starbucks in the skyway right outside the hotel. I can honestly say in the 15 years of staying at the Marquette the only complaint was an episode of cold food from room service which was quickly rectified. We will return again next year with our grandaughter and God willing our new Marine will be with us.

Susy Smith-Mpls MN 12/09

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusySusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Stayed here based on proximity to Hollidazzle and the great reputation, Stayed in a 1BR suite. Overall pleased but our room was next to elevators which is loud as it moves, but didn't ruin the experience. Just a few steps to IDS court and the parade route with plenty of nice restaurants around.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

My wife, myself, and our two children (6&4) had went to the Marquette this year for a night downtown and to watch the holidazzle parade. You cannot beat the location, convenience, and overall performance of the Marquette.

From the parking, to the fast and efficient check-in, beautiful room, and unbelievable personal attention from the general manager himself made this a truly memorable stay for the holidays.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to work colleagues, family, or friends.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank corfu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELKO, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

If you want to treated like royalty, this is the place! The staff was amazing, the location was perfect, their restaurant was wonderful. We stayed in one of the junior suites with the whirlpool and it was better than we ever expected. Somehow, one of the employees overheard that we were celebrating our anniversary & the next thing we know, the General Manager sent us up a nice bottle of wine with a card. We were amazed!
Can't say enough about this place! They truly are Minneapolis' "best kept secret" for places to stay during your visit to this great city!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unteymed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST LAKE, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We always save our Thanksgiving Day Festival to share with family at the beautiful Marquette Hotel. Now a family tradition for 5 years. And something that we all very much look forward to. A few of the kids think this holiday is even better then Christmas, staying at this fine hotel.
Mr Viardin and the staff are welcoming, professional and personal. I am always impressed with the kindness and the service that is extended to this large group of ours. The children are refered to by name, and wow, do they think that they are special. That is because the staff makes us all feel special. We reserve a bank of rooms for the family and they always make sure to put us all in one wing, so that we can be close. Leaving a welcoming basket, and a personal note. It's our little piece of heaven for three days.
With many Thanks to Mr.Viardin and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMONAHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing