We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Totally Satisfying Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Totally Satisfying Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked the room for 2 nights on points. Was very pleasantly surprised to be put on the Executive floor that included breakfast and evening hors d"oeuvres.
Staff was pleasant, room was large clean and very comfortable. Had to pay for WiFi but I expect that at a downtown Hilton property. Parking was expensive but we left our car in the underground garage the entire time we were there and never took it out till we left. We never left the downtown core and it was very convenient to take the Skyways everywhere. Very often we left the hotel without our coats which was nice for Minnesota in February.
I'm not sure whether or not I would stay here if I was paying cash but we enjoyed our stay very much

Room Tip: Check and see how much an upgrade to the Exec floors will cost. Once you factor in breakfast you way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espressotritom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    354
    116
    46
    31
See reviews for
187
424
88
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was business travel for one night and I was disappointed not to be able to stay longer. I look forward to my next visit back to Minneapolis for business or perhaps for a weekend getaway with my wife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First and last stay here, but let's start with the pros...

Perfect location, nice property, good size rooms well laid out, and the staff are friendly.

So why only two stars?

Lifelong Diamond member on regular rate, booked an exec level room, and I get they were sold out and no upgrades available.

Walked into room, and immediately eyes started to water and sneezing from the thick stench of cigarette smoke recently.

Fault of the hotel? Not really, but housekeeping had to notice.

Despite being 4 pm, no other rooms ready, although they ought us a drink and had another room very quickly, also on top floor.

Second room, better than first? Not really, right beside elevator and ice machine, two things I despise and clearly have in my profile.

Oh, and the hair in the bathroom in the tub and on the floor was a nice bonus.

Called front desk again, couldn't find a manager, eventually did and the story was, Well, we are sold out.

Since it was one night and a weekend, not a huge deal, but terrible experience.

The mod offered me 1,000 points, what an insult! She did make up for it somewhat by chomping the bar bill from earlier (that was supposed to be mostly comped anyway, but somehow hadn't happened).
They did offer me a room in a much lower category than I booked, gee, thanks.

You just lost not only my business....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ckccan,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in our area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We have fixed the issues with the smell and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.
Sincerely,
Lisa Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed here several times this winter. The rooms are nice, but the greeting at the front desk is very inconsistent. Often we have checked with the front desk, trying to book a room and get quotes of $150 and up. When we use a third party system (Hotwire, Priceline) we get prices of $79 and $89. When we call back to the front desk and ask if they will match or come close to that price they will not. That doesn't make sense to me because they would be making more money than paying the third party a commission.

So, we book through the third party. When you check in, you feel punished for having booked the reservation that way. Statements like, "We can't give you a king, even though you requested it, because you booked through a third party." "When you book through a third party, your Hilton honors do not allow you to have free internet." What is the point of being a Hilton honors member. I am not asking for points for the stay, just complimentary internet. Then they want to charge for each device. How ridiculous.

The room is very nice, but the customer service needs to be improved. There are way too many other options in downtown Minneapolis to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is my third stay at The Marquette. Each stay has been enjoyable and nice. The Hotel is located in the IDS Tower on Nicollet Mall, in downtown Minneapolis. When you step out of the hotel lobby to the IDS Center, you will find restaurants, Shops like Banana Republic, The Gap etc.

Thus if you like to shop, this is the hotel for you, Saks Fifth Avenue, Macy's and Neiman Marcus can be reached via the Sky-ways. From the airport, you can reach the hotel by the light rail for $2.50 each way.

My dislikes, no free WiFi, no free water bottle and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Buyer beware! If you are a household like ours and have several electronic devices that have access to the internet, this hotel charges you per device, per connection. They made an attempt to charge us $139.50 for 3 days of internet usage. Also, we had several articles of trash and debris under the beds that had not been cleaned out for a long enough time that the pop bottle we found (along with a candy bar, wrappers and tissue paper) had mold formng in it. While I am not one bit against diversity in the work place, the hotel staff did not speak clear, unbroken english and this made for a very difficult check-in and exit from the hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of the internet charges this hotel attempts to levy!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Larry R.,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at our hotel. I understand that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your guest room and am deeply disappointed by that. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that this area is of great importance to us as we ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Lisa Heller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on the 19th floor with the benefits of access to the Executive lounge. A corner room provided great views. Spacious room with great work space and large bathroom. The heated parking garage with in and out privileges was well worth the $15. The executive lounge and a marvelous breakfast. The only downside is having to pay $13.95 for internet access- ridiculous in this day and age. Super nice folks at check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kagardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#13 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing