We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay on the 19th floor with the benefits of access to the Executive lounge. A corner room provided great views. Spacious room with great work space and large bathroom. The heated parking garage with in and out privileges was well worth the $15. The executive lounge and a marvelous breakfast. The only downside is having to pay $13.95 for internet access- ridiculous in this day and age. Super nice folks at check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kagardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    364
    122
    50
    34
See reviews for
194
434
90
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For a few bucks more, we booked a room on the executive level on the 18th floor. Along with a room with a great view this room gave us access to the lounge on the 19th floor which offered appetizers & drinks (reduced cost), desserts in pm, and breakfast in am. Breakfast included oatmeal with LOTS of yummy toppings, pastries, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, juices & coffee. Yum!

The room had two windows although the second small window was covered by velcroed curtains which interfered with the view. The doors were thick and the room was very quiet..no room to room or room to hallway noise. The rain shower was wonderful and the shower gel smelled luscious! A few bummers were that the room fridge did not really cool and the housekeeping staff walked in our room at 9 am (guess we should have bolted the door...our bad:0 ).

Location was perfect to the theater district and the front desk staff was very helpful. Desk personnel made restaurant reservations for us & offered us a free appetizer.

Room Tip: Executive level rooms are worth the small upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had an excellent stay at the Marquette in downtown Minneapolis. At check in, I requested a corner king room and the desk person tried very hard to find one for me but there was none available.
This was fine and I was assigned to a very large, clean room on the 9th floor. The king sized bed was very comfortable as was the chair that I used for reading and watching TV.

This hotel is very well located in downtown Minneapolis and is connected to the skywalk system. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveleriowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I still can't believe what we paid to stay at this place - it was so reasonable given the location, service, and accomodations. Check-in was excellent. The front desk person was very friendly, polite, and helpful. We were surprised to find that we had a large corner room with windows all along the two walls - loved it. The only downside was the windows were a bit dirty, but the view was still good. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The room had a large flat-screen TV that you could adjust to watch from the desk, couch or bed. The room had a little hallway with a bench and a mini-bar, complete with drinks and snacks. I didn't eat/drink anything but the prices looked reasonable. The shower was great and the bath products were quality. You really can't beat the location; it's close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. Parking was included in our reservation, which I recommend if you need to bring your car, especially if you plan on coming and going. Otherwise it's pretty spendy to park in the ramp, which is climate-controlled and very secure. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In my opinion, staying at Hiltons across the US would make for a good business school case study of a company whose management isn't paying enough attention and whose properties feel like they are in a 20 year decline. (European Hiltons are, in my experience, much more upscale.) The Marquette (like the Boston Back Bay) is a notable exception to this--it still feels like management is paying attention and gets it right. Hotel is clean and nice and spacious, no obvious deferred maintenance. Halls very wide and nice. Room very large and tastefully appointed. Great shower and water pressure. Desk is one of the best anywhere. Decent fitness center open 24 hours. The food in the executive lounge is significantly better than in most other Hilton properties at which breaded, fried do-dads and junk snacks are too prevalent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingExec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was great, except for a noisy heater in the room, and the fact that the shower door didn't seal. We had a great time. The room was clean, tidy, and the location was very convenient. It was great being connected to the skyways, because we could explore the city without having to step outside in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estrempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very large room with a good view of Minneapolis. Staff was wonderful. Bath was large and very well appointed. Shower had a rain head, AND a hand-held wand! Huge flat screen TV. Executive Lounge was small, with tables and chairs (very few easy charis for relaxing), but food and supplies were excellent. Lobby is elegantly appointed. If you stay on the executive floors, the elevator will require that one's room key be inserted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing