We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great rooms and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
219 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is very nice and located within short walking distance to food and shopping as well as the Target Center and Target Field. Hotel elevators are fairly fast so there isn't much waiting around. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a nice sized desk and a large LCD TV. The internet is pretty slow, especially for the price they charge. The bathroom was very nice with decent space, and the shower was great. Overall a very clean and modern hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    363
    122
    50
    34
See reviews for
194
432
90
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Marquette August 19-21, 2011 and received first class treatment. The hotel staff was courteous and concise during check-in and check-out and they also helped with directions to restaurants, places of interest and maps to help get us there. Our room was clean and roomy and the housekeeping staff was efficient and friendly. We will definitely stay at the Marquette again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My room was surprisingly spacious as I careened through it on my way to a client rendezvous. The workdesk was welcomely functional and faced the room, not the typical blank wall. The bathroom featured a couple of shower options. A welcome oasis where I wished I'd spent a few more hours. Incidentally, I found the light rail in and out to the airport especially easy and swift. It's two blocks north on Marquette.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skagittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Skagittraveler,
We are delighted you found our hotel and rooms to be a welcome oasis. Not that you want to work all the time, but if you have to our work desks in the guest rooms really allow you to spread out and even watch the television if you need to catch up on the latest news. And thanks for mentioning the very convenient and affordable light rail train - only two blocks from our front door.
Thank you for you comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Lisa Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was an overnight visit and The Marquette had been recommended by a friend. We were not disappointed. We had a standard king-size bedroom and it was one of the largest hotel rooms we have ever seen for the price. The bathroom was also large with a full-size shower (no tub). Everything was clean and up to date. Our one complaint was that somebody, somewhere, was playing a trumpet from 10 to 11 p.m. It was hard to tell where it was coming from, but at times we could have sworn the musician (and we use the term loosely) was sitting on our window ledge! . They do have a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch (rather pricey), as well as room service. There are many restaurants within walking distance which give you a lot of choices. We will definitely return there on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Spent three nights here during a recent and first time visit to Minnesota. Hotel is in a great location and the service, rooms, and proximity to everything downtown was excellent. Since it was an anniversary trip, we had booked a suite - and it was huge and nicely appointed. Great view of the Foshay tower from our room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy to get around with the skyway running right through the second floor. WOuld highly recommend. Marq VII bar was a nice quiet place to end the day. Started each morning at Basil's restaurant - also a good place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a great stay at The Marquette during our visit to Minneapolis recently. We flew into MSP, took the light rail to within a few blocks of the hotel and skipped out on the parking fees and renting a car. We ate at the lounge on the ground level and which had food and drinks at a good value. We loved that we were in walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and The Orpheum theatre where we saw a concert. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. We were pleased to get an upgrade to the hospitality floor and ate breakfast on the house for two mornings. Only complaint was the shower door did not close properly and we had water all over the floor. This was promptly addressed with towels brought to our room. No pool on premises but at the local YMCA. No big deal for us but travelers with families may notice this lacking amenity. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANCReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear ANCreviews,
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to give us a positive review! We always tell people how close we are to most everything in downtown Minneapolis, so I am very glad to see that you experienced that with your concert at the Orpheum. And thanks for promoting the very convenient and affordable light rail system from the airport!
We hope you stay with us again sometime soon~
Lisa Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A friend and I stayed at The Marquette for a long weekend in August. The location is absolutely ideal, nearby everything that Downtown Minneapolis has to offer and the underground parking makes getting out to explore easy and convienent. The hotel is always welcoming and all the staff are always helpful. The crew there is extremely service driven and while I've never encountered a problem when staying there (have stayed a few times in the past) I am certain that it would be resolved in short order. The room was large, fully outfitted and extremely comfortable. This was my friend's first stay and he was duly impressed. Well done Marquette, as always!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette2, Director of Sales at The Marquette, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear GMcinitaly,
Thanks for taking time to review our hotel - we appreciate your feedback. I'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again - it's always nice to welcome past guests back. I hope you stay with us the next time travel brings you to Minneapolis.
Sincerely,
Lisa Heller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing