We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
Review of The Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marquette
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Worst hotel experience I've ever had! The Marquette has a tag hanging on the towel rack in the bathroom announcing a 4.4 million dollar bathroom renovation is coming soon. What they fail to mention is that you'll wake up to excessively loud drilling and pounding, and that you'll have to listen to it for hours until you're ready to check out. If you have a reservation anytime from now to the end of the 1st quarter of 2008 (when the tag states the renovation will be complete), I'd highly recommend changing to a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 1guest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    417
    154
    71
    51
See reviews for
237
498
102
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2007

This is my third stay at this hotel and it is the best in town. The staff are friendly and flexible. The concierge team offered to go and pick up chinese food for since the restaurant did not deliver. The doormen are always excellent as well. I loved the bathrooms the steam baths and the cleanliness of the rooms is top grade. My only complaint is I whenever I have stayed there, I have never got enough time to enjoy the room and the facilities.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

I do not understand the stellar reviews for this hotel. It's an average hotel, at best. There was nothing special about it. The lobby was tiny with two chairs. The rooms were of average size. Our room had a media center that was wrongfully placed, so we could not see the television from the bed. The bathroom was old, grimy and dated. The white tiles looked dirty and it was just neither nice nor luxurious - certainly not what I'd expect in a four or five star hotel.

The good things - Very comfortable bed. Staff that greets you at the door is very lively and nice. Hotel is pet friendly, which is a must for me. Housekeeping staff is friendly.

If you can find a deal on Hotwire for this hotel, I'd recommend it. However, I'd never pay the rack rate for this hotel. I've stayed at far nicer hotels during my travels. I expect more out of the top ranked hotel in Minneapolis.

(I should also note that the bathrooms are being renovated in 2008. This is a much needed renovation.)

  • Liked — pet friendliness
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I spent a two nights at the Marquette in early November while
attending a wedding. Overall, I was very impressed with this property and its location in downtown Minneapolis!

With Gold Hilton Honors, I was put on the Executive level floors, which I think contributed to my like of the property--I say this because the rooms on the "Executive floors" are the first to receive the upgrades that are currently being executed throughout the hotel. As well, the Executive floors give you access to the "Executive Lounge," which provides FREE snacks/drinks at night and FREE continental breakfast each morning.

The rooms are very large and the bed was very comfortable. The upgraded restroom was excellent, with a "rain" shower head being a welcome amenity each morning.

There is self-parking and valet parking available at the Marquette. I only valet parked while there ($25/day charged to the room). The self-parking (around $15/day) is close by, but not as convenient for the small savings.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family/friends that are considering staying in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Liked — The location and the Executive floors; free WIFI.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

The Marquette is located next to the IDS Tower, in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. It is connected to the rest of the downtown core, as most places are, via the network of skyways. I was here for 5 nights on business and working in the IDS Tower, so it could not have been more convenient. The staff were professional and courteous, with good knowledge of area attractions. Minneapolis, unlike many large US cities, is very walkable and the people are generally friendly. The hotel also was good enough to check my 2 suitcases for the day, even after I had checked out, so that I didn't have to drag them into the office, but could simply pick them up after work, then head to the airport. A small gesture, but very much appreciated! The overall experience was great and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mas709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

The Marquette was an amazing hotel. We wound up on the tenth floor--spacious layout, and a wonderful view. the only problem is that we wound up on a smoking floor--and I'm not sure how to avoid that, but the hotel staff was incredibly helpful, and the rooms were great. would highly recommend, would have give it five starts except the smoking...

  • Liked — Close to downtown
  • Disliked — smoking floor
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

I stayed in the Marquette Hotel, while attending the MD&M tradeshow in the convention center nearby (10 mins. walk).

The staff were efficient and friendly. The bedroom was enormous for such a centrally located, downtown hotel (certainly by European standards). The range breakfast options was big. However, I thought that the healthy options labels were miss calibrated. In other words,
what the Hotel considered healthy, I would have thought "normal".

The location was great. The best restaurant in the city, i.e. Zelo's,
was just around the corner. "The Local" pub was nearby also. The Nicolett Mall was practically on its doorstep (loads of shopping). And the convention center is nearby too. The lightrail system was not
too far away also. This linked with the airport.

I would stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very expensive, if you are not getting discounted pricing.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,252 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,618 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquette

Property: The Marquette
Address: 710 Marquette Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marquette 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, contemporary-style hotel offers generous-sized rooms and some with computers and whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Marquette Hotel Minneapolis
Hilton Hotels Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing