We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Minneapolis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Over the last several months I have had the opportunity to stay in Minneapolis at the Radisson, The W, and the Hyatt Regency. Of the three, the best is the Radisson. It has the nicest staff who are well trained, knowledgeable, and helpful. It is located centrally and is in the best location for exploring the city. Rooms are nice and they provided upgrades when available. The restaurant had one of the best breakfasts in town -- my son raves about it. We got a deal with self parking included.

The W was okay but front desk staff were only okay and always seemed overwhelmed. Very slow check-in. Rooms and hallways very dark. Breakfast the worse of the three. Very good concierge person.

The Hyatt Regency has been a big disappointment. My wife came with me and she is very particular about hotels -- when we travel together it's only the best. We have stayed at HR's in other cities and this one doesn't measure up. My wife wanted to stay here because it was supposed to be recently renovated. Frankly. I couldn't tell that it was. Rooms very pedestrian and bland. The beds where soft and the sheets didn't stay tucked in through the night -- very uncomfortable. Bathrooms older design with shower in the tub. Upon check my wife asked if we could be upgraded -- the front desk person said that the next day the hotel was relatively empty and if we wanted to move they would upgrade us -- just check back in the morning. So we did -- the person we next dealt also said they could upgrade us but only for $100 dollars a night -- I'm a Hyatt Gold Pass member -- no matter. They just don't get it -- it really made my wife mad about the lack of follow through. Breakfast is pretty good with a decent buffet. Also a very helpful and knowledgeable concierge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited this hotel about 5 years ago and found then that it lacked certain conveniences and looked kind of tired then. I was told that there are plans for a remodel and that installing a safe in the room and a new fitness center were in the plans.
The fitness center was renovated but the rooms were not - the carpet was filthy and the entrance looked grimy - much the same it looked then. Housekeeping was fine aside of the dirty/worn carpet and worn furniture.

I stayed in one of the concierge rooms and had to request a new room key on 5 occasions - the elevator would not allow me to return to my floor / room . At $ 500 a night I expected something a bit better...

I must say that the service in general was very good - everyone was very friendly, apologetic and helpful.

The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area and within walking distance to the convention center and the shopping district and an array of wonderful restaurants.

I will not stay here again - there are a number of excellent hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent one night there this past weekend when our power had been out for three nights and we needed to get away from it for an evening. Hotel was quite nice, and in a convenient location for grabbing dinner with many restaurants nearby. The rooms are starting to show a bit of age, but are clean and comfortable. Augustine at the front desk was extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. $6 parking was a very nice bonus as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEGEE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Over the years I’ve had the opportunity to stay at many of the hotels in downtown Minneapolis. My, by far, hotel of choice is the Radisson Plaza. Besides the extremely clean and fresh rooms there is underground safe and secure parking and an excellent restaurant with a bar. The hotel staff is top notch and can help with any question and options you might have. Check in/out is fast and hassle free. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants and bars, Orchestra Hall, Target Field, theaters etc. When I stay in downtown Minneapolis I don’t even look at other hotels. Radisson Plaza is my first and only choice.

Room Tip: I’ve stayed on different floors and never have had an issue with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Locations is perfect, with opposite a Marriott. Two blocks down and you can take the metro directly to the airport and the Mall, About 20 minutes and USD 1,75. Internet is free so appreciated! TV quality is very bad. Nice LG flat screens but the technology behind is not good with lots of pixels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Radisson in downtown Minneapolis many times over the years. It is in the perfect location if you want to be able to walk around the city and forget about your car. There are tons of restaurants (good restaurants!!) and shopping right around the corner...literally.

The hotel itself has a very nice bar area and the restaurant is good too. The lobby is spacious and classy. The staff is helpful and courteous...especially the bellmen.

The rooms are an 8 out of 10 in my opinion. We stayed on the 14th floor, which is the business traveler floor. There was plenty of room, with 2 beds, a nice desk, a chair and ottoman, and a little table with 2 chairs.

The bed was comfortable and the bedding good quality. The bathroom was updated and very nice, although the tub was nothing special. The towels were pretty good for a hotel.

If you're looking for a place to stay in downtown Minneapolis, you really can't go wrong with the Radisson. I will continue to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: The concierge or business floors are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Radisson is located in the middle of downtown Minneapolis, a short walk to many of the local attractions, such as the Riverside, Milling Museum, Guthrie Theatre and Sculpture Garden. It is also close to the Target stadium. It is a good choice for those wanting to explore the main sights of the city, including the excellent three hour bus tour of major attractions, which picks up passengers over the road from the hotel entrance.

The Metro stops a few blocks away and one can take this to the huge covered Mall and to the airport for a nominal fee.

The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. I was attending a family wedding, and the group rate for the room was excellent.The rooms are reasonably sized and include a desk and lounge chair. My room had an inter-leading door to the room next door, and although this was locked, there was some noise evident. The restaurant on the ground floor is convenient for breakfast, and the food and service were good.

There are also many restaurants and stores in the vicinity. One can get from one side of downtown to the other via the closed overhead walkways, without needing to descend to street level, which is essential in winter. Access to the walkways starts inside the hotel.

All in all, a hotel to be recommended for those wishing to see Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without an inter-leading door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinschles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#3 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,711 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,290 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 50 in Minneapolis
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 35 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $122 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new iconic Radisson Blu Minneapolis has been dramatically redesigned to interact with the buzz in the beating heart of downtown Minneapolis. The hotel offers world-class, upper-upscale hospitality, exceptional service with our unique Yes I Can! Philosophy, 29,000 square feet of flexible event and meeting space and a location sensation: where history and heritage meet contemporary innovation and culture. Enjoy so much, so close-the Radisson Blu is conveniently situated just moments away from the vibrant theater and business districts and within two blocks of Target Field, Target Center, premium shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing