We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pre-Christmas Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1602 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We re booked at the Radisson this past weekend for a weekend to Christmas shop, see the Holidazzle parade, the Macy's display, and try the Melting Pot. This has always been our 'go-to' hotel, although we have stayed a few other places nearby in the past as well. This time however I feel like we enjoyed ourself more than usual. We didnt get there until 10pm or so on Friday, and the staff made sure the requests we made online were met, which in the past I don't remeber them checking with us about those. FireLake was only open for 45 more minutes by the time we got to our room, so we hurried downstairs to gt a table. We had a small wait but was able to get a table. Despite being short on time, the waitstaff did not rush us whatsoever and our waiter was great. The food was fabulous and it always is when we eat there. Took desert to go, and were able to add our bill to our hotel bill with no extra charge which was nice. Saturday after sleeping in, and we walked around town to find lunch. So close to everything! Makes walking in the breeze no big deal. Being so close to the parade, Macy's and not even a four block walk to Melting Pot was awesome. We had to leave early Sunday due to the snowstorm..we would have loved to have breakfast at Firelake:( no real complaint however I felt like the bathroom felt more narrow than some of the other rooms we have stayed in. The coffee maker also died on me Sunday morning so I had to pay $3 for a coffee at the bar. Also, I remember sleep number beds the last few times we have stayed and we didnt this time. I don't like sleep numbers so I was fine with it, but my boyfriend was looking forward to that. Excellent stay once again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dreay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Rob-Smith, General Manager at Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you both for your recent stay as well as taking the time to give such a great TA review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great location. I am happy that our new programs designed to ensure guest requests are recognized was effective. I do regret that your coffee maker was defective and look forward to buying you a cup of coffee on your next visit. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our brand new Simmons Pillow Top Sleeper beds, we have been getting rave review.

Hope to see you on your next visit to the Twin Cities.

Regards-
Rob
Rob Smith
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Minneapolis
r.smith@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    353
    101
    41
    29
See reviews for
185
296
79
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went into the Twin Cities for a weekend and selected the Radisson Plaza and were certainly pleased. Love the proximity to Macy's and other area attractions. We ate our special evening meal at the Fire Lake Grill and all I can say is it was great. The service was wonderful and the food was so good. Also ate breakfast there and everything was great. The wild rice pancakes were so tasty. The entire staff was so great and always there for you. Did the Romance package and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakemansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlefork, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the proximity to Macy's to visit Santa and see the Holidazzle parade. I was surprised how well everything worked out. They gave my older daughter a folder filled with activities and crayons. Also included was a list of local kid friendly restaurants. Macy's was right next door and staff told us when the parade was to start and gave us a tip to watch on the skywalk if it was too cold. When we decided that we needed to eat in instead of trying a restaurant, staff gave us lots of delivery menus and told us which pizza was the best. Room was nice, too. Clean, well appointed (lots of pillows, crib, ect). Parking is cheap on the weekends. We'll stay there again for ball games, shopping, or whatever. The pre-paid price was as low as staying in the suburbs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a number of nights at this hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. The friendly staff, excellent on-site dining/bar, covered parking, numerous FAST elevators, large gym and connection to the city's covered "sky-ways" were all highlights. There are lots of eateries in the area.

Would I return? You bet! Especially for the hotwire price.

Room Tip: The "29's" (329, 529, etc) are at the ends of the hall and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeets_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Radisson Plaza Hotel numerous times and have found that each time we could not have been more satisfied. First, the hotel is well located. Even if we want to go to the Mall of America, this hotel is a good choice because of its proximity to the light rail system. The lobby and rooms are up to date and well maintained. Our rooms have always been very comfortable and clean. The king size beds made for a great night's sleep. Next, the staff is exceptionally professional, courteous, and friendly. The check-in and check-out processes are quick. Whenever we have had a question, the staff person was very helpful. Finally, we have eaten at the hotel restaurant, Fire Lake, and have been more than pleased. The menu features locally grown products as much as possible. If one is traveling to the cities, consider the Radisson Plaza. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The hotel parking is located in an underground ramp. There is an extra charge of about $19/day duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I found the staff to be friendly and very knowledgeable about all of the hotel services and the local area. This may seem like a no brainer, when, in fact, knowing the hotel services and information about what is going on in the area is a challenge for most hotel staff. Not at all with the staff at the Radisson Plaza Hotel-Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Love the club level floors and the easy access to shopping without having to venture out. It was rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986RGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location, wonderful front desk staff, fab restaurant. It's a fun place to stay when enjoying downtown Minneapolis activities. I would highly recommend the hotel for the value, cleanliness, service and quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are especially quiet, however, a room on a high floor is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 35 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new iconic Radisson Blu Minneapolis has been dramatically redesigned to interact with the buzz in the beating heart of downtown Minneapolis. The hotel offers world-class, upper-upscale hospitality, exceptional service with our unique Yes I Can! Philosophy, 29,000 square feet of flexible event and meeting space and a location sensation: where history and heritage meet contemporary innovation and culture. Enjoy so much, so close-the Radisson Blu is conveniently situated just moments away from the vibrant theater and business districts and within two blocks of Target Field, Target Center, premium shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing