We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2007

As the reviews say, this is a nice hotel. The free internet and free printing plus the 2 free bottles of water per day are nice but they should be free at these 4 star hotels (shame on you, Hilton). This is an older hotel, so the sound proofing isn't completely effective. Our TV also seemed to be from an older age, with a very poor picture that couldn't be adjusted. The restaurant had nice ambiance and service, but the food was average.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rodomontade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2007

I have stayed at this property several times over the last few years, and have always found the property to be quiet and comfortable (except
once when they only had a room next to the elevators as they were full
up for the night and could not move me). The bar is convenient for morning Starbucks coffee, and the hotel is conveniently located to central downtown Minneapolis business and shopping. It is also not difficult to get in and out of the downtown area to other parts of the
City, although traffic has worsened in recent years, particularly during rush hour and then more so, recently, with the bridge collapse tragedy. The room itself is spacious, with very comfortable, upscale bedding, and a nicely appointed bathroom with toiletries.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Previous stays at Radisson properties are hit-or-miss propositions, usually the latter. However, on my first stay at this Radisson in downtown Minneapolis I was pleasantly surprised. I travel to the Twin Cities two to four times a year largely for business and this was my first time at this Radisson. Rooms were clean, sufficiently large, very quiet--save for some noise from pipe/vent vibration you can adjust to, and the bed was comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly and responsive, unlike the staff in other Minneapolis hotels which are typically impersonal (I recevied a personal escort to the business center at 2:00 AM!). The parking garage at the site was easy to use for self-park and quite navigable. Walking distance to local restaurants and pubs was short, and access to one of the main roads by car (Hennepin) was quick which cut down on drive time. The stay in terms of experience was comparable to the Hyatt or another high-end chain. A very nice place to arrive to after two plus hours of flight delays and receipt of a lousy rental vehicle from Hertz. I would recommend this site not just to business travelers but families and tourist travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I recently stayed at the Radisson Minneapolis as part of a group traveling around the state looking at historic theaters. Heaven knows
we can be a nit-picky group - but the professionals at the Radisson rate 4-stars in everyone's book!

There were 104 of us coming off a bus after a long, hot day of touring. The hotel had 4 people on the desk, the rooms were pre-keyed and all we had to do was show a credit card and photo ID. We were handed the keys with a smile and a warm welcome. The lobby was cleared in no more than 30 minutes.

The food at the hotel restaurant was very good - it you're looking for the "local flavor" you must try the walleye - a delicious light fish - even when packaged as a "walleye burger"!

The room was cozy with those Select Comfrot sleep number beds. The bed was almost too comfortable - mornings came way too early so don't
forget to order a wake up call. The decor was updated and modern looking. The honor bar is a bit pricy so stay away unless you have money to burn.

A skybridge connects the hotel to the Nicolette Mall across the street for easy and tempting shopping. Don't miss the bronze statue of Minneapolis TV resident Mary Richards (Mary Tyler Moore Show) tossing her tam into the air. TV Land placed this wonderful statue on the exact street corner where she makes her famous toss in the opening credits of the show and it was a for-sure photo op for everyone on the street that day!

Our banquet was held in this same hotel and the food was hot, delicious and served with professionalism. The wait staff was very cautious about clearing plates or making noise during the presentations and remarks. Dessert looked like it was right out of the bakery window with attentive coffee service.

This group travels together every summer and we have come to expect a high level of service from the Radisson properties - and Minneapolis did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

I needed a hotel in downtown MSP and all the usual standbys were already booked, so I decided to try the Radisson - what a nice surprise!! The rooms were well appointed and spacious, the restaurant was fantastic and the location was perfect. I will be adding the Radisson to my favorite's list!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Georgiahuskerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

I stayed at the Radisson Plaza with friends over the Memorial Day weekend and we were quite pleased overall. Our rooms were very clean and appeared to have been recently refurbished; the Sleep Number beds were comfortable and a nice touch. The hotel's location would be convenient for business (downtown Minneapolis is not terribly large) but also served us well for leisure as the Hiawatha Line LRT to Mall of America, local bus lines to Uptown and the U of M area and bars of the Warehouse District are within a few blocks. Parking was cheap at $5/night for the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiguy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed two nights here May 7th and 8th, in a king bedroom, # 714, the windows of which viewed the lobby. Parking is directly underneath the hotel ($14/night) with an elevator to the lobby. The hotel also adjoins Macy's, which you can enter via the mezzanine level.

The hotel was totally redecorated three years ago. The lobby is stately, featuring wood and marble. The carpet, fabrics, and decor of our room appeared newer than three years...lovely room, even had crown molding. We are clean freaks, and this room and bath were very clean.

Front desk staff was professional. The only problem was I requested a quiet room, and was surprised to be given a room next to the elevators. Was about to request a transfer when I discovered the air conditioning system included a fan control which made a pleasant continuous sound, which totally buffered the slight elevator noise. Of course there were a few doors slammed around 6 am; wish people would be more considerate. Can something not be done to the doors to prevent that?

We did not eat in the restaurant, but had room service breakfasts and dinners. The breakfasts (traditional eggs/ham, and pancakes) were great, and the dinners, hamburgers one night, roasted chicken the next were good also (tho' the chicken was a bit dry). They are featuring asparagus this month, and the roasted asparagus we had with dinner was delicious.

There is cable internet connection at the user friendly desk, tho' my husband had intermittent connectability problems, which would resolve after several attempts.

Regarding the unsavory groups of people at night in downtown Minneapolis, we found the numbers of them to be greatly reduced from several previous trips. This hotel and the Marriott across the street had staff visible in front of the hotels. We felt safe. We will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,691 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,276 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 35 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $145 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new iconic Radisson Blu Minneapolis has been dramatically redesigned to interact with the buzz in the beating heart of downtown Minneapolis. The hotel offers world-class, upper-upscale hospitality, exceptional service with our unique Yes I Can! Philosophy, 29,000 square feet of flexible event and meeting space and a location sensation: where history and heritage meet contemporary innovation and culture. Enjoy so much, so close-the Radisson Blu is conveniently situated just moments away from the vibrant theater and business districts and within two blocks of Target Field, Target Center, premium shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing