We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding serviceFor the past 21 years”
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edina, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding serviceFor the past 21 years”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For the past 21 years, Heidi Pemberton has been an outstanding representative of Food and Beverage Service at the Commons Hotel.

Our Medical Research Foundation, IBARS, could not function without her attention to detail.

Bravo, Heidi for a job "Well Done."

Other outstanding performers include: Kim Grant, and Sara Kruger.

W. A. Sullivan, 3rd

Executive Vice President

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours. We a truly honored to have you return again, and again. I'm glad you enjoyed your event this year, as much as years previous. We can't wait for your next event! We appreciate your review, and your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    238
    83
    36
    13
See reviews for
263
131
48
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel, restaurant, concierges staff were awesome. Like to thank especially Dan our waiter, Adam, Elizabeth and Thomas at the front desk, and Zac who shuttled us around. These individuals went above and beyond to make our stay flawless.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linghor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize some of the best staff members in Minneapolis! We love being able to recognize our staff with comments such as yours. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to being able to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's terrific.... completely refurbished. Service is great. Restaurant is great....
I'm just afraid that it will become too popular!
Only negative is that my room was located next to the elevator...aack.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for being brave and posting your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will get you away from the elevator next time. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was very pleased with the service that Jason S., Lacy H., Nick G., Tim and Heidi provided to us at the Aerosol and Particle Measurement Short Course, August 19-21, 2013 held at The Commons Hotel, Minneapolis, MN. From finalizing the contract with Jason and working on the logistics of sleeping rooms, the meeting room and food and beverage options with Lacy, to the banquet service that Nick and Heidi and Tim provided, our event went smoothly from start to finish. I highly recommend holding conferences and meetings at The Commons Hotel, Minneapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I will personally make sure these associates get recognition for their efforts. I am so glad they were able to positively effect the outcome of your event. We look forward to your next meeting! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fresh fruit infused water in the lobby is a great touch. Clean. Great service. Faucet base was broken but they sent someone to fix it. Everything is comfortable. Free wifi. Walking distance to the U of M and public transit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and our infused water. We have some very unique infusions that use local ingredients, and vary every day, and the rotation changes every season. Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are visiting UM, this hotel has a great location and is very nice. Only downside is that there is a lot of construction out front for a new trolley line going in. Otherwise, there is an Applebees and a Starbucks attached, the rooms are well kept and the front desk is helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelelmundo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We can't wait for that light rail line to be up and running. It is slated for the spring of 2014, and will offer great access to downtown, mall of america, and the airport. Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Commons Hotel in Minneapolis, MN. I was attending a conference at the University and this was within easy walking distance (we were in the student union building area). The rooms were very quiet and quite comfortable, the food at The Beacon Pub within the hotel was excellent and the service was outstanding. I really appreciated the hotel shuttle and the staff's assistance navigating Minneapolis and the light rail! I will definitely stay at The Commons in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so glad you loved your stay with us. The light rail will be up and running in 2014, and will connect us to even more great places! On behalf of myself, and my service team, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,255 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Property: The Commons Hotel
Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2931 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing