We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly Staff, Unique Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
“Friendly Staff, Unique Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was fantastic, in particular Beth at the front desk- Beth made our reservations for us, was there for us at check in and after we checked out, we realized we had forgotten something in our room-- Beth recognized who we were immediately and Beth went up to the room, found the item (cell phone charger) and greeted us in the lobby with it! Beth is the best!!!!!

The hotel was clean, up to date, and very nicely decorated. We will be back for sure. First class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our associate, Beth! She is a great member of our team. I will make sure she gets the appropriate recognition! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    198
    67
    28
    10
See reviews for
220
115
41
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clean modern rooms. Lobby has lots of comfortable seating: good for meeting with colleagues and hanging out before late flight. Great location for campus business trip, lovely walking trails across the Mississippi and free admission to Gehry designed campus art museum were unexpected bonuses! Downside: Staff at the front desk lacked knowledge of restaurant options beyond campus which was a little disappointing as I would have liked to explore more of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator should be considered for light sleepers as the elevators bings loudly when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Commons Hotel! I am glad you got to enjoy our newly transformend property, and the unique University venues you mentioned in your review. Next time, make sure to take time to visit the Weisman Art Museum as well as the Bell Museum of Natrual history. Thank you for your suggestions. We will review them at our next front office meeting. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, it is great if you are visiting the Univ of Minneapolis, however, 4 miles from downtown is not so convenient as the $15-20 cab ride can attest.

The rooms are large, the hotel staff is friendly, and the Applebee's connected to the hotel is great!

The in-house restaurant is a bit overpriced, but the food is good. Go to Applebee's not sure why they even need the rest. with Applebee's next door.

The TV is my only complaint. It constantly "cuts" out. It is Really annoying. If it had not been for the TV the hotel would have gotten a 5! Hope management reads this.

The LG TV itself is great, but the service is -1.

The internet works great!

So enjoy the hotel near the Univ.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_lv2travel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found your stay to be nice. Thank you for the candid feedback regarding our restaurant, and television system. The management team takes these comments to heart, and are working on the best long term solution. I hope to see you again during your next visit to Minneapolis. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has come SO far. It has been many years and owner changes since I been here. What a great surprise. I believe this was a Radisson the last ime we were here-yuk! The updates are GREAT!! A couple of negatives- the TV reception is TERRIBLE-goes in and out, I am guessing a dish. At 3:00 am ther was a person walking up and down the hall snapping their fingers, I believe it was the person putting bills under the doors-:-/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! The team was so happy to see you recognize how far our property has come. We are working on fine tuning our brand new state of the art TV system; sorry for the poor reception. I hope that you will consider us again when travels return you to Minneapolis. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my second stay at The Commons Hotel and it was even better than the first. The renovations of the hotel are complete and it is stunning! Every detail is a delight! The landscaping is so lovely and welcoming. The lobby decor is really cool! The room decor is beautiful and comprable to any 4+ star hotel in Chicago or NYC. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. I dined twice at the Beacon restaurant and found the food to be excellent and interesting. And craft cocktails on a college campus? Yes, please! The restaurant staff was very friendly as well (a special shout out to Bethany, who made my solo lunch so very pleasant). My son will be attending the U this fall and I am really excited to have such a great place to call home when I come to visit him over the next four years. Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your second stay, and your second review! I am glad you were able to see first hand the work that went into the creation of The Commons Hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is extremely convenient to the University of Minnesota. There is a Starbucks close by.

That said, I would expect true luxury, given the price ($300/night)...and the rooms seem fairly average. A bit small, but nicely furnished. The lobby area is very nicely decorated.

Construction nearby and the university parking situation makes it ideal to valet the car for $25.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilieCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, EmilieCPA! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Minneapolis. The team appreciates the time you took to write this review. When travels return you to Minneapolis, I hope that you will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The renovations on this hotel have it looking very modern and nice, but there was debris in the bed sheets and stains on the pillow cases. The service was good, but I just find it difficult to move past cleanliness issues when staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Kristi D,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. I am so sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in the appearance and cleanliness of this building, and I am sad that you did not get to see that during your stay. I hope that you will consider it an isolated incident, and that you will choose our hotel when returning to Minneapolis. I would be happy to personally arrange your stay, so you can experience The Commons Hotel in it's true beauty. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Commons Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing