We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Notch Hotel on Campus”
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my second stay at The Commons Hotel and it was even better than the first. The renovations of the hotel are complete and it is stunning! Every detail is a delight! The landscaping is so lovely and welcoming. The lobby decor is really cool! The room decor is beautiful and comprable to any 4+ star hotel in Chicago or NYC. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. I dined twice at the Beacon restaurant and found the food to be excellent and interesting. And craft cocktails on a college campus? Yes, please! The restaurant staff was very friendly as well (a special shout out to Bethany, who made my solo lunch so very pleasant). My son will be attending the U this fall and I am really excited to have such a great place to call home when I come to visit him over the next four years. Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your second stay, and your second review! I am glad you were able to see first hand the work that went into the creation of The Commons Hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 999 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is extremely convenient to the University of Minnesota. There is a Starbucks close by.

That said, I would expect true luxury, given the price ($300/night)...and the rooms seem fairly average. A bit small, but nicely furnished. The lobby area is very nicely decorated.

Construction nearby and the university parking situation makes it ideal to valet the car for $25.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilieCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, EmilieCPA! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Minneapolis. The team appreciates the time you took to write this review. When travels return you to Minneapolis, I hope that you will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The renovations on this hotel have it looking very modern and nice, but there was debris in the bed sheets and stains on the pillow cases. The service was good, but I just find it difficult to move past cleanliness issues when staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Kristi D,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. I am so sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in the appearance and cleanliness of this building, and I am sad that you did not get to see that during your stay. I hope that you will consider it an isolated incident, and that you will choose our hotel when returning to Minneapolis. I would be happy to personally arrange your stay, so you can experience The Commons Hotel in it's true beauty. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was spending 2 days at the hotel for business at the U of M. I understand that the hotel has been refurbished and I hadn't been there before so can't compare what it was like before.
The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious, good pillows, and well laid out bathroom- couldn't fault it. As my meetings were at the University, this was extremely convenient - I could go for a run in the morning, have breakfast and be at the meetings without having to drive or catch transport. I had flown in from Australia and had back to back meetings so it couldn't have been a better match for what I needed. Highly recommended. Service was efficient and pleasant and it seemed well known to taxi's and not too far from town if you needed to go in.
There is a dining room and bar - I had breakfast every morning and it was good food. There are other food outlets nearby as well if you prefer to eat out. Starbucks on the corner as well.

Room Tip: I was travelling with a colleague and she also had a great room on the same floor but around the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad you found our hotel to be comfortable for your international business trip. If your travels return you to Minneapolis again, we would love to have you with us as our guest. Thank you for making us your home while away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stay here for two nights for a business meeting that was also held in the hotel. The hotel excelled in every way. The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, with modern decor and amenities. Really nice shower and comfortable bed with lots of supportive pillows. Hotel was exceptionally quiet. Meeting rooms were also terrific, and the food served at the meeting was fabulous; much better than the typical "rubber chicken" served in such situations. The lobby decor was really unique ... fire pits, lots of places to sit, and even interesting collections of nostalgic sports footage and old books. Hard to describe, but it gave the place an inviting, comfortable feel. Right on the corner of the University of Minnesota. There is a Starbucks and a restaurant on the property, but walk two short blocks and there are a wide variety of restaurants. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianasgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Your review is terrific in every way! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community. It means the world to us. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The moment you enter the lobby of this hotel you are met with a warm decor that is fitting for a university location. The staff was welcoming and met any requests within minutes. The rooms are lovely with a warm, modern decor. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom large with plenty of space to store personal items. Plenty of parking in the garage connected by an enclosed walkway. My only negative is the bathroom lighting. While soft and inviting, it is horrible for women trying to apply makeup.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review! My team was delighted to read your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed two nights in early June 2013. The LRT construction on Washington makes maneuvering here a bit of a challenge but once in hotel is very nicely appointed and clean. The rooms are redecorated, thought there are still hints of former décor. It was quiet and well located and served my purposes. I prefer these hotels to suburban chains along interstates, even though I usually end up at the latter.

Room Tip: Some lower room overlook the A/C units of roof. The 'step-like' features of outside mean few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay! I am glad you enjoyed our newly transformed hotel. We can't wait for the light rail to be operational as well! We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,297 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
776 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2931 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $113 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing