We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable for business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“very comfortable for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was spending 2 days at the hotel for business at the U of M. I understand that the hotel has been refurbished and I hadn't been there before so can't compare what it was like before.
The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious, good pillows, and well laid out bathroom- couldn't fault it. As my meetings were at the University, this was extremely convenient - I could go for a run in the morning, have breakfast and be at the meetings without having to drive or catch transport. I had flown in from Australia and had back to back meetings so it couldn't have been a better match for what I needed. Highly recommended. Service was efficient and pleasant and it seemed well known to taxi's and not too far from town if you needed to go in.
There is a dining room and bar - I had breakfast every morning and it was good food. There are other food outlets nearby as well if you prefer to eat out. Starbucks on the corner as well.

Room Tip: I was travelling with a colleague and she also had a great room on the same floor but around the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad you found our hotel to be comfortable for your international business trip. If your travels return you to Minneapolis again, we would love to have you with us as our guest. Thank you for making us your home while away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    226
    82
    35
    12
See reviews for
252
128
47
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stay here for two nights for a business meeting that was also held in the hotel. The hotel excelled in every way. The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, with modern decor and amenities. Really nice shower and comfortable bed with lots of supportive pillows. Hotel was exceptionally quiet. Meeting rooms were also terrific, and the food served at the meeting was fabulous; much better than the typical "rubber chicken" served in such situations. The lobby decor was really unique ... fire pits, lots of places to sit, and even interesting collections of nostalgic sports footage and old books. Hard to describe, but it gave the place an inviting, comfortable feel. Right on the corner of the University of Minnesota. There is a Starbucks and a restaurant on the property, but walk two short blocks and there are a wide variety of restaurants. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianasgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your review is terrific in every way! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community. It means the world to us. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The moment you enter the lobby of this hotel you are met with a warm decor that is fitting for a university location. The staff was welcoming and met any requests within minutes. The rooms are lovely with a warm, modern decor. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom large with plenty of space to store personal items. Plenty of parking in the garage connected by an enclosed walkway. My only negative is the bathroom lighting. While soft and inviting, it is horrible for women trying to apply makeup.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! My team was delighted to read your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed two nights in early June 2013. The LRT construction on Washington makes maneuvering here a bit of a challenge but once in hotel is very nicely appointed and clean. The rooms are redecorated, thought there are still hints of former décor. It was quiet and well located and served my purposes. I prefer these hotels to suburban chains along interstates, even though I usually end up at the latter.

Room Tip: Some lower room overlook the A/C units of roof. The 'step-like' features of outside mean few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay! I am glad you enjoyed our newly transformed hotel. We can't wait for the light rail to be operational as well! We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding near the university. Hotel is in a good location for university events and is near lots of cute restaurants and shops. It doesn't have many "extras" that would make it worth the price (no pool, breakfast, free parking, etc.). The room was clean and pretty spacious - good Starbucks coffee with the in-room coffee makers. I have a pet peeve about being asked to pay for parking on top of the room rate -- seems like a sneaky way to pretend to have a lower room rate. We paid $13 additional per night.

Overall, it was a clean, average hotel. They were down to one elevator for the entire hotel the day we checked out, and the stairs were hard to find. We waited about 10 minutes and finally hunted down the stairs.

I think I'd try somewhere else next time we're in the twin cities.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - many of them overlook roofs and parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay, and for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you found our property to be comfortable and clean. I am sorry you were surprised about the parking charge at check in. Being that the University of Minnesota is a pedestrian driven campus, parking in this area is limited, and at a premium, as is the case with all of the Downtown Minneapolis hotels. I hope on your next visit you find time to enjoy the University's recreation center. We have complimentary passes for you to be able to enjoy the aquatic center/pools during their open swim hours. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is fine, nice updated rooms, pleasant staff, the problem is getting there from the airport. The city is extending light rail into the area which will in future make the trip very easy. However at the moment the area cannot be driven directly to from the MSP airport. My taxi driver used his GPS and tried again and again to get me there and I finally had to walk past construction fences across the rail and two blocks dragging my luggage. If you are going there before the light rail construction is finished, be sure your driver knows the one out of the way path.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for writing this review! I am sorry your cabbie wasn't familiar with the University area. I wish the driver would have taken the time to call us for accurate directions. The road construction has been complete for quite some time, the fences you see are just blocking off the brand new pedestrian mall and light rail platforms. We are super excited for this project to be done so we have a more convenient way of linking the University with downtown and the airport. I am glad once you got here you had a great stay. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice and has everything you would expect from a four star facility. Rooms are clean and good sized. Has all the typical high end touches you would expect. The big difference between this hotel and similar hotels is the staff. Every staff member encountered was friendly and eager to help. A refreshing change from many hotels who act like guests are an inconvenience.. From valets to front desk to maids all were very good at their jobs.

Two minor problems- shower heads are extremely low. Anyone over six feet tall will have some difficulty. Express checkout was a problem. Didn't work on the tv and the print out at the desk was wrong- didn't charge for valet which took time to get right.

Two tips: 1) book on Hotwire if you can. The Commons is the only four star near U of Minnesota, so when you buy the four star in this category you will get The Commons. Hotwire price was 1/3 the hotel website rate ($91 instead of $319) 2) There are almost no good restaurants in walking distance. Unless you want bar food or fast food, plan on driving to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! The staff was excited to read your comments. I am glad they were able to make your stay excellent. Don't forget to check out our website the next time you come; we have a lot of value-added packages there that are not available on other sites. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Property: The Commons Hotel
Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2931 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing