We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Graduate Minneapolis
Nearby Hotels
$161
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$177
$161
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$188
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$185
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$250
$179
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
aloft Minneapolis(Minneapolis)
$161
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
University Inn(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveler rating
626
255
94
46
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
255
94
46
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon restaurantlight railbeacon public housefront deskstarbucks attachedfire pituniversity campusgreen linemedical centertcf stadiumhotel shuttlechecking outshuttle serviceself parkingcommonsapplebeesheidi
Filter
Updating list...
986 - 991 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location at the Univ. of MN but very convenient drive to either downtown Mpls. or St. Paul. Large and very comfortable rooms. Great beds. Excellent service and a marvelous bar. Starbucks is attached to the hotel for coffee. Highly recommend for business travel. Got a discount Hotwire rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Graduate Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your "Perfect" review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. If travels return you to Minneapolis again soon, the team would be honored to welcome you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

And outstanding remodeling project. The new look and amenities offered it truly outstanding. Fire pit in the Lobby, work out facility, book recommendations, and Coffee shop coffee in your room. Could it get any better? The only downside to our trip, was getting there. Construction!!! The signage to get to the Hotel in the hours of Darkness was a bit more difficult, but using a landmark that we were advised to use, made it much easier to find(applebee's). I will stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmdrhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Graduate Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed the results of our transformation! Thank you for making us your home away from home in Minneapolis. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to Mpls. and have stayed at this hotel multiple times because of the location. The renovation greatly improved the look in the lobby and rooms; the hallways still look dreary. Unfortunately, the problems noted in earlier reviews (and recognized by management in the online response as needing work) have not been addressed. My husband and I were out of the room all day and came back at 4 PM to shower and take a quick nap only to find that the room hadn't been cleaned. We were told that the hotel was full and that housekeeping was working on the rooms for the guests who were checking in. What are we, chopped liver? We saw very few housekeeping staff on the premises during our stay -- seems like they are trying to contain costs after an expensive renovation. And when we returned to the room at 11 PM there was a note with an apology and offer for one free drink or dessert (to split between the two of us?) -- the last thing we wanted.

Other annoyances: TV loses its signal every few minutes, bad pillows, wi-fi only worked for one user in the room, daily parking fee.

While the hotel has definitely improved by the renovation, it is frustrating to see the same complaints repeated in these reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Graduate Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your continued business. I am sorry that we fell short on this stay. I too would have been frustrated to come back to a dirty room after being out all day. I will share these comments with our housekeeping team at our daily meeting. Our room cleaning staff finishes their day at 5:00pm. It was not our intention to make you feel like less of a guest. Thank you for this training opportunity. Our hallways were updated during our renovation with new carpet, and new wall coverings keeping with the "Industrial Modern" theme of the property. Our television system went live with an upgraded interface this week. You can now order room service right through your television, and the speed and clarity have improved. I hope you get to experience that when your travels return you to Minneapolis. Thank you again for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What used to be the Radisson University Hotel on the east bank of the University of Minnesota campus has been sold and utterly transformed into something more like a large boutique hotel, with stunning new decor, redesigned rooms, and comfortable sitting areas throughout the hotel. The feel is very upscale: a huge fire pit as you enter the hotel circle, another smaller fire pit inside the lobby, surrounded by leather seating and bookshelves, spacious rooms with nice amenities (including a mini-fridge), a great bar and high-end restaurant, and highly attentive staff. Having lived in Minneapolis for years when this was the Radisson, I knew the old hotel well, attending conferences here several times and even staying here once I moved away. The new version is a vast improvement on the old Radisson, but some of what recommended the original remains: a Starbucks down a hallway, a great location (now even better after all the new stores have come in following the construction of the Gopher stadium), a good layout, restaurants easy walking distance. My room was very comfortable, especially the bed, and there's free Internet throughout the hotel. Others have noted that students hang out on the comfortable seating in and around the lobby, studying and chatting, which isn't bad in itself--it gives the sense of being surrounded by the university, but it could be off-putting to hotel guests who want to use some of those spaces. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the U of M or coming in for a game, even for visiting downtown. When the new light rail is installed (soon), it will be easy to get from here across the river to downtown and avoid cabs or expensive parking there (or driving after doing the bar scene). My one concern is the huge amount of natural gas required for those fire pits; maybe natural gas is cheap in Minnesota? Also, the continued use of packaged sugars and creamers (the Radisson had them too). You use one sugar and all the rest gets tossed. Same with the little bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Use large bottles inside the shower, as the Europeans do. Install key-accessed electricity. Wasteful Americans! Sustainability, please.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Graduate Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for being our guest, and for sharing your comments and suggestions. Many of the items you mentioned are already being discussed by our operations team. We are always looking for ways to better serve our guests, and our planet. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Commons Hotel in Minneapolis, MN out of convenience to where I need to be (University of MN). The front desk is outstanding with helping me with any requests I might have. Very clean hotel with wonderful beds. Have stayed there in the past and will again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunluverinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Graduate Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We can't wait to have you back, either! Thank you for sharing your experience. The front desk team was delighted to read your comments. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews