We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the shower!!”
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the shower!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once before the remodel, once after. The new rooms, lobby, restaurant, and gift shop are top notch. No longer does this hotel look straight out of 1994. Service was great, restaurant had unexpectedly great food, and the shower was AWESOME. Only complaint was that the pillows were very awkward shaped and not comfortable. I think I was also allergic to them.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments! While 1994 was a great year, we are glad to be showcasing a brand new, fully renovated hotel! If travels return you to our hotel again, please contact me directly, so I can make sure to have different pillows waiting for you. We have hypoallergenic pillows, which are more firm, and not full of down. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    233
    83
    35
    12
See reviews for
259
129
48
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you need to go to University of Minnesota Fairview Hospital, or something on the University of Minnesota proper. They are doing a total remodel and it has been upgraded. The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable, the pillows I think are way to soft. The bathrooms are attractive, but not sure if they are practical in the towel location department. Be careful of the toilets, they are just like the toilets in air planes, they make a huge sucking/pressure sound and will scare old people to death. The menu was a little to upscale for our tastes. The kids menu looked better, but still room service was good and on time. It is a good hotel with a decent location if you need to be at the University of Minnesota.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjertsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our unique location, and our newly renovated property. The ownership took our environment into consideration when transforming our bathrooms. Our toilets have a pressure asssisted flushing device to cut down on water usage. I apologize it startled you! Our restaurant, The Beacon Public House, does boast a unique spin on traditional comfort foods utilizing local ingredients whenever possible. The team is always looking for suggestions. Thank you for sharing them. I hope you find yourself visiting the University area again soon. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmere, North Dakota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had stayed here during the remodel and it was a disaster. Going back was a breath of fresh air. The lobby and rooms are amazing and you can tell the management of this hotel is top notch. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wyndmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! I am pleased that you found our remodel to be amazing! The entire team appreciates your recognition. We can't wait for your travels to return you to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been traveling to U of M for years... and will continue to do so. Our last trip was for a championship event and this hotel is the hotel of choice due to location. Not only is the remodel top notch... but the front desk- and convention service was absolutely better than I expected. Timely, very polite, and workable is the best way to judge a great hotel. If the staff "makes" magic happen for a group of 30 rooms... then We are happy. Will be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. The entire staff was so excited to see themselves described as "Overwhelmingly Awesome!" We can't wait to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Property: The Commons Hotel
Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2931 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing