We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Marriott City Center and it could not have been a better place to stay! The hotel was immaculate, common areas and the room itself! All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The only downfall are the prices in the hotel bar and restaurant, very expensive! It's in a perfect location to walk to any shopping, restaurants, bars and of course the Metrodome! The Light Rail station which you can take to the airport or the Mall of America is only 2 blocks from the hotel and you're a 1/2 block from Nicollet mall! You won't need your car at all during your stay! I would suggest stopping in front of the hotel to drop off your luggage as once you park the car in the parking garage it is quite a walk even though the parking garage is right next door to the hotel. They do charge for parking, $20.00 per night weekdays, $8.00 weekends so remember to add that to your expected costs. They also charge for internet access, $15.00 per day. In the room it is NOT wireless but in the common areas it is. A lot of people like to stay here for the sporting events, Twins and Vikings games. We came for the State Fair concerts. There was a bus directly to the Fair from Nicollet Mall. I highly recommend this hotel for a fun weekend in the city!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suomilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 857 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here while celebrating my birthday downtown. We stayed in an executive King corner room with the romance package (which is barely worth the extra money). The room was fantastic. Large sitting area with comfy furniture, incredible bed with nice, white duvet, big work desk, and floor to ceiling wall to wall views of downtown minneapolis (we were on the 25th floor). Included with the romance package was some nasty champagne that we turned into mimosas, some chocolate dipped strawberries that we less than delicious, free parking (which is a value as parking is around $20a night), and breakfast for two from room service or the lobby restaurant. The staff were all great, the food was great, the location was great...no complaints. It is a bit of a maze to check in and find your room, but if you can read signs, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFriend200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel, I was cautious about the description of the parking situation (with us being jetlagged and coming with a rental). But it was absolutely no problems. The valet recommended self-parking due to the VERY low cost (USD 8 per day is a no-brainer, we are able to walk) and we had zero problems finding the hotel lobby... Rather take a few elevators and a quick walk to save a few bucks on the parking. No complaints on that one. Took a maximum of five minutes from the car door to the check in lobby.

Check-in went smooth, and the room was very clean, spacious and with the usual comfortable Marriott beds. Nice large tv and a nice view from the 21st floor.

Just two blocks down we would find lots of restaurants and nightlife options, and after a while we learned the skywalk system that allowed for access throughout the city on skywalks. Bet it can come in handy on the chilly winter days.

We used an off-day to drive through the Swedish settlers areas around Chisago Lakes, Lindström, and Scandia which was an awesome experience for us Swedes.

Had tickets to a Twins baseball game and the Metrodome was only a quick 15-20 minute walk from the hotel, very convenient.

Would absolutely go back to Minneapolis and this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

My husband and I were welcomed with friendly smiles when we checked in early on Saturday morning, August 1st, thus beginning an incredible hotel experience! We were upgraded to a king executive corner suite, with a 180 degree panoramic view of the city and outlying areas. Yes, we did have a free night certificate earned through Marriott Rewards, but that certificate was for a standard room. We couldn't believe the space and the view when we opened the door!

The location was perfect for walking the length of the Nicollet Mall. We only paid $8.00 for the weekend parking rate, but we never took the car out since we were able to easily walk to all the attractions, including the Sculpture Garden. When we came back in the evening, we watched the city lights turn on from our 19th floor vantage point.

Having read previous reviews, we were prepared for the elevator trek. No need to worry. There are clear directions printed on "take along" papers in the elevator waiting area of the parking garage. This waiting area is brightly lit, carpeted, and has security cameras. Once exiting the parking garage elevator, it is a short walk to the Marriott entrance, though it is marked with only a plain double door. Once inside, a security guard at the desk directs you to a waiting elevator to take you to the stunning lobby. Another set of elevators whisk you to your room. (Although we had no problem with the elevator situation, I think it could be difficult for a person with physical disabilities or a family with 3 small children in tow!)

This is a top-notch hotel in every way. We would definitely come here again, even with a standard room!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here for the weekend while taking my daughter and her friend to the "Twilight Convention" -- Hotel is conveniently located downtown.

The Pros: Rooms were very clean, large and spacious. Comfortable for four people - never felt crowded. Rooms had a flat screen tv which is always an added touch. Parking was good, never had to drive around looking for a parking space. Reasonably priced parking as well, we paid $8 to come in and out all weekend.

The Cons: When doors to other rooms shut, it is very loud even from inside your room. Both nights we had people running in and out of their rooms yelling and slamming doors which was bothersome. The loud people of course are not the hotels fault but the loud echo of slamming doors leaves a lot to be desired. The trek from the parking garage to the elevators is a bit confusing -- you must take three separate elevators from the parking garage to your hotel suite. When we checked in, they pre-authorized my visa for two nights *plus* another $60. When I asked what that was for, they stated to make sure that the rooms were paid for with the visa I had just pre-authorized...yeah, I was confused too???

Overall, not bad at all. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I am a frequent Marriott customer (Gold Elite) and have traveled to dozens of Marriott properties throughout the world. After trying several other options in downtown Minneapolis, I have come to the conclusion that the Marriott City Center is a top choice for the following reasons:

1) Location, Location, Location - right in the middle of the city, convenient for business and leisure. Right next to the Nicollet Mall.

2) Reliably comfortable rooms - many with nice city views. The corner suites are really nice. While this hotel falls under the "standard corporate Marriott" category (you know what you're going to get), there is something that feels just a little bit nicer about the room amenities, bed, seating, etc. at this property. Maybe it's because the hotel was renovated just a few y ears ago and still feels pretty new.

3) Good service and upgrades available for Marriott Elite members. I usually get the kind of room I want upon check-in.

Downside: You have to get in an elevator at street level and go to the 5th floor to get to the lobby, then take another bank of elevators to get to your room. Minor issue.

There are other very nice hotel options in downtown Minneapolis (SPG properties like the Westin and W, specifically), but they charge a lot more money for a less-reliable room (I always get stuck at the Westin with a view out my window of the adjacent office tower -- all of 20 feet away) and the service is less friendly.

Thumbs up for the Marriott City Center!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go_w0rldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is a nice, acceptable Marriott hotel that is very centrally located in downtown Minneapolis. Like the prior reviews, the location of the lobby with the myriad elevators can be a drag, but to me it's not enough to drag the hotel down. Many NYC hotels have the same dual elevator system and lobby off the street. The price was acceptable (government rate), and the room was clean and roomy (enough). There was some sort of hockey convention while I was at the hotel, with a bunch of drunk hockey teams wondering around, but I did not have any major problems, and the hotel served my needs (close to work, kept me out of the cold with the skywalk system).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,473 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $117 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning accommodations at Minneapolis Marriott City Center. Our hotel in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota offers luxury rooms and suites, including some bi-level suites - many with views of the city skyline and all decorated stylishly with unique art and furnishings. Our hotel sits ideally near top Twin City attractions including Target Center, Minneapolis Convention Center, Target Field, and Nicollet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing