We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Romantic Stay at the Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Stay at the Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott just one night before going to the Vikings Playoff game. We had a spectacular time.

Staff: Great! They were very helpful and had good reccomendations on things to do and restaurants to eat at.

Location: Excellent! Connected by the skyways, we never had to go outside once we were in the hotel

Room: Very nice. We stayed in a king room on a high floor. The view was great, the room was modern and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and had nice fluffy towels. They gave ammenities from Bath and Body works. Very nice.

I am actually a travel agent and like to check out hotels so I know what to reccomned to my clients. I would reccomend this hotel again and again.

If you are interested in booking this hotel check out www.higginstravel.com and ask for Kristin!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Feather Pillows
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    292
    108
    33
    24
See reviews for
78
146
53
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

I stayed at the Minneapolis Marriott in October for 2 nights on a business trip. Overall, was a really good trip

Front Desk
Efficient, friendly and willing to provide any information needed

Rooms
Appeared newly redone. Beds very comfy. Desk area functional. They have not yet installed the Ipod dock clocks. Bathrooms also very functional with fluffy towels. What you would expect from a full service Marriott

Room Service
Efficient, friendly and quick. There are a few nice options on the menu that are better / different than you find at every other Marriott.

Concierge lounge
The property excels here. Although the lounge is a little small for the number of people who were there, service was great. I was only able to visit for breakfast, but was impressed. Eggs, bacon or sausage (depending on the day), fruit, cereal, smoothies, pastries, etc. Newly redone, like the rest of the hotel.

Other
Other staff was really friendly and willing to help out. Only thing that was a little annoying --- the elevators seem really slow. I was there at the same time as an in-house conference and you always had to wait several minutes for an elevator.

  • Liked — Connected to the Skyways!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KimKDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergas, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Marriott City Center this week-end. Like always we were not disappointed. Going to a concert at the Target Center was a breeze using the skyway. Our check in and out was easy and everything about the hotel is professional. We love staying there, need I say more!!!!!!!

  • Liked — comfortable bed and linens
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loonlagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We chose this property based on a previous experience. We weren't disappointed.

The location is great, close to theaters, Nicolet Mall and a short walk to the train (with stops including the Metrodome, Mall of America and the airport). Check-in was very quick and easy, with very friendly, knowledgeable staff and included a nice acknowledgment of our previous stay. Parking was at a reduced weekend rate of $8 per day. Our package included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries (a cute little touch).

Parking was at a reduced rate of $8 per day. I was a little flustered at arrival as it took me a minute during rush hour to locate the small sign directing you to the parking garage just down the block. (We arrived by light rail for our last stay so we weren't familiar with the parking situation.) It's a short walk from your car to the elevator, then a stroll through the City Center while trying to find the small door off to the side that leads to the Marriott, take the elevator to the lobby, find the second elevator bank and off to your floor.

The room was very clean, the furniture useful, and the bed, bedding and pillows as comfortable as any we've encountered. Our room had a large LCD television. There's not a microwave or fridge, just a small coffee maker for that first cup in the morning. A Starbuck's in the lobby is available if required. We had a nice, oversize shower head and no problems with water temperature or pressure. My wife liked the fragrance of the shampoo and conditioner.

We didn't have the time to take advantage of the breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Self parking arrangement
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NeverUnpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

My room was quiet, very spacious and extremely well furnished. Bed was very comfortable; housekeeping service was excellent.
I had a great view of downtown Minneapolis. Breakfast buffet was outstanding but pricey and the only available breakfast spot in town. I had only wanted a small breakfast or a place to buy an egg/bagel but Minneapolis has no restaurants near the Marriott open for breakfast. In fact, Minneapolis had surprisingly few restaurants, no deli's, no fast food places, etc, anywhere in the downtown area. The concierge's desk had no brochures available from which to peruse the sights in the area or tours available. All in all, the staff, including the concierge, were very polite and helpful. The location was two blocks from the very efficient and clean light rail line which takes you to the airport or Mall of America. Downtown Minneapolis is rather deserted on weekends, however. Often, it seemed I was the only tourist walking around. Stores close at 6 pm.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and bed.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatrebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The location of this hotel makes it possible to walk anywhere for great shopping and excellent restaurant choices. We only drove to visit the Walker Museum (definitely worth the trip). Otherwise, the car stayed parked in the parkade. The first night of parking was about $20, which seemed to be standard pricing downtown, but for our next 2 nights it was less than $10 each night. Getting to the parking is a bit inconvenient, but would not deter me from staying here again.

The rooms themselves were very nicely decorated, clean, and quite spacious. The beds are very comfortable, with duvets instead of bed covers. The room had a flat screen TV and coffee maker. The bathroom was quite large, with amenities from the Bath and Body Works line.

The gym was excellent. There was an abundance of different cardio machines, free weights, a cable machine and about 5 or 6 weight machines. Just outside the gym there was usually a bowl of apples available throughout the day, which was handy for a quick snack.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChocAHolic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

While this appears to be a newly renovated Marriott, it also appears to have been redone in a bit of a hurry - with some roughness around the edges. The rooms are well appointed, with flat panel TVs (would be good if they actually piped in HD), and service good overall. One thing that drives me crazy is that the elevators from the lobby to the street are to one side of the lobby and require a change of elevator when coming down from the rooms.

Otherwise, it's a good hotel overall.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vaznayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Property: Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to eat before the game at Target Field or US Bank Stadium, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline, including spacious bi-level sky lofts that are perfect for an extended stay and relax in the new M Club Lounge, our flexible 24-hour work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing