We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott so we could enjoy our evening out without having to drive home. We got a great deal on priceline. The Marriott is very pretty and bustling. I enjoyed the ambience and you CANNOT beat the location for a downtown Minneapolis experience.

I have 1.5 criticisms:
1. The beds were not comfortable. I have enjoyed the hotel trend of upgrading to really nice beds. This hotel clearly has not yet done so.

2. I paid for the room (and one for a friend) on Priceline. I was then charged again by Marriott. It is unclear what exactly happened here. I did not dock my rating for this because the person who I called to discuss this with was extremely helpful. He also could not figure out what happened but was committed to making it right. I was impressed with the level of customer service I received (which is why this is only 1/2 of a criticism!).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    328
    118
    39
    30
See reviews for
89
155
54
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is superbly located in the centre of Minneapolis, and there is nothing bad about it, but it does not reach the standard I expect of the Marriott brand. I found myself wondering whether it had originally been built for another brand and taken over by Marriott. Our room was on an upper floor, with an excellent view, and reasonably-sized, but was missing one or two amenities, like a room safe and a separate shaving/make-up mirror in the bathroom. There was also no in-room WiFi; however, the service in the public areas was reasonable and free. On the positive side, service was good and helpful, and the hotel coped well with some difficulties not of its own making. Choose it for location, but set your expectations to a slightly lower brand.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtboerner, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Peter C,

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you, and glad to see you enjoyed the view from your room. We provide complimentary wifi in our Lobby area and public space areas as well as WIFI in each guest. Your comments are appreciated as they help us identify how we can continue to improve our guests’ experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again and the opportunity to "Host You Brilliantly".

Best regards,

Kurt Boerner
kurt.boerner@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is priced reasonably for downtown location. Walking distance to Nicollete mall (closes at 7pm on a Tuesday) and to decent variety of eating spots.
I did not valet. Parking garage is right next to the hotel. Came after 5:00pm and cost only $6.00 for parking over night. Rented a bike close to the hotel and rode to Gold Medal Park and across the memorial bridge. Parked and played! Good one night stay

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hotel is very nice and in a great location. Lounge is nice and a great view of the city. Very good service and the rooms were nice and spacious. Nothing to pick apart on here. Highly reccomend this property. The on site restaurant has good drink specials at certain times.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent the week end with family and had a nice stay. Room was very comfortable and quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and location was the best In downtown. Concierge on duty most of the time. Great security especially with a 5th story lobby,

Room Tip: Higher levels are nicer rooms, but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hospitality exhibited by the staff was delightful. Although I am top tier with Hilton, I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. While relaxing in the lounge, the Director introduced himself and asked if they could do anything to make the stay more enjoyable.

The hotel is convenient to local shopping and the front desk recommended a steak house around the corner that offered the best steak I have ever eaten :)

Will make it a point to stay here again !

Ed

Room Tip: the rooms at the end of the hallway are smaller, due to the building design. Stay closer toward the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not see them chopping down any trees LOL Sorry not a tree hugger, so I may not be the best to judge this catagory.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tscm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel since it's just within walking distance to the client's office that work for and after seeing the newly renovated lobby.
Finally, I managed to get a room there for 2 nights. As I was checking-in, the receptionist told me 'Here's the key to your Presidential Suite'. I wasn't paying attention to it at first, but to my surprise, they gave me a Presidential Suite!
I have always been a Platinum member with Marriott and rarely gets upgraded. So to get upgraded (maybe) and given that suite, it just made my week in gloomy Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the corner. Will increase your chance of a good view and reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atanudjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,102 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Property: Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience award-winning style at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, one of the leading downtown Minneapolis hotels boasting unmatched service and luxurious amenities for every welcomed guest. Make yourself at home in our 583 inviting hotel rooms with stunning views of the city skyline, including spacious bi-level suites with art and stylish furnishings, relax in the new M Club Lounge, our flexible 24-hour work space. The traveler who likes to stay active has the chance to invigorate and revive at our Minneapolis hotel's downtown state-of-the-art fitness center for convenient recreation. Plan business functions in over 42,000 square feet of flexible gathering space, or savor the elegant details of renovated banquet halls for a wedding celebration to remember. Enjoy access to top Twin City attractions including the Target Center, Minneapolis Convention Center, Target Field, and Nicollet Mall. Experience the pulsating energy of a premier downtown Minneapolis, MN hotel at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing