We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location with a few quirks to think about” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent location with a few quirks to think about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights to attend an event at convention center as a first time visitor to Minneapolis. Many conveniences to hotel location: (1) I took light rail (blue line ) from airport to Nicollet Mall stop (two blocks to hotel) - there is no need to taxi or shuttle unless you are schlepping lots of bags (2) hotel is just off Nicollet Mall (shopping and dining destination downtown) (3) a short walk to the professional sport facilities for basketball and baseball; and (4) has access to the skyways that traverse much of downtown Minneapolis. Other comparable hotels are in same area, but except for Radisson (across street), this is probably the closest to light rail line which is easy to use and convenient.

Rooms: First quirk is shape of hotel (triangular). The triangular floor plate creates some variation of room shapes / layouts particularly toward the 3 corners. I had a "13" room. It was a king room -- it is a smaller room than some others, though still reasonably spacious. There was some awkwardness to the layout b/c of shape -- the bathroom door is directly adjacent to the head of the bed and TV viewing from bed is across the longest dimension of the room. Ask to see where on floor plate your room is on check-in. Room furnishings were comfortable but there was some wear and tear evident (shower door didn't fully seal, ironing board hangar broken and some obvious wall scuffs).

Arrival / Lobby / Elevators: Second quirk: Lobby is on floor five -- you take one elevator from street level to lobby and another set of elevators to rooms. That creates two minor inconveniences: (1) each time you return to hotel, you take two elevators to get to your room which is generally not a big deal, but led to some delays when there was a crowd returning at same time. (2) If you arrive by car (which I did not) -- there is no hotel driveway or pull-off at street level and it can be busy. There are valets present, but I could see it made for a little bit of stress for a few car arrivals as I entered and left the building. Other downtown properties have better arrival set ups (Hilton / Hyatt).

Other notes: the fitness center is well-equipped for a hotel facility and all the equipment is reasonably new and of commercial-grade quality. A nice amenity. The lobby bar / restaurant had wonderful service. It isn't large, but it is comfortable and there are many great options off property within an easy walk so it is scaled right for the overall environment.

I'd stay again, but would be more selective as to room assignment than I was this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    301
    113
    35
    24
See reviews for
82
147
54
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Easy walk to tons of restaurants, shops, theaters and bars. Comfy rooms and beds. You are paying for the location, and it is a good value with that considered, but every little extra, including in-room Internet access, will cost you extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank survalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. It’s laid out in a diamond/atrium fashion. Street level is Floor 1, the check-in and lobby are on Floor 5, requiring an elevator ride. The Lobby is ultra contemporary. The only bar/restaurant is situated there, making for great people watching. Gluten-free menu available, but as pricey as you would expect. Room 1221 is DIRECTLY across from the ice maker. However, the entry to the room was an angled hallway, which minimized the noise. Standard single cup coffee maker, very large closet. Climate control was quiet, and bathroom fan stayed on constantly. No signs of cracking grout, counter-tops and surfaces seemed new. Front desk, housekeeping were friendly, but the highlight was: George the bell-hop (you can tell this man loves his job and has been at it 20 years).

Room Tip: Room 1221 was DIRECTLY across from the icemaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockTIlUDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurtboerner, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel; we appreciate the positive feedback regarding staff and especially our doorman George. He truly is a gem and we are fortunate to have him on our team.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future and next time we do our best to keep you way from the ice maker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall this is a terrific hotel. It is in a perfect location - close to everything in downtown. The self parking is convenient and reasonably priced, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby would be a nice place to gather if you were traveling with a group (like a wedding). We did not eat here but their patron margarita's were wonderful.

We were upgraded to a corner room and it was beautiful - very large, windows on two sides and great views of downtown. The bathroom was small with limited counter space - what you would expect of an older downtown hotel. Everything seemed to be clean and well maintained.

This hotel is virtually perfect - except for the bed. It sagged horribly in the middle and was certainly the worst bed I have had at a Marriott property in a very long time. I don't know if it was just our room - the old bed seemed out of character with everything else we experienced in our stay there. I would try this hotel again but if the next bed was similar to this one, I'd have to think twice about choosing this Marriott property.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are amazing - huge size, full couch and chair, two walls of windows and a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed with some friends during memorial day weekend and we liked the hotel. it was clean and the rooms were huge. There was plenty of hot water, temperature was good. When we check -in the service was bad. The person in the front desk was almost rude to us with no reason. The other people at the front desk were polite except for one person. Parking is $14 a night and you might be able to find cheaper parking if you walk at least 5 blocks so we decided to park in their structure. Morning breakfast at the hotel was very good but pricey. There is no swimming pool
I would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southamericandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is very well located not too far from almost every attraction and restaurant in downtown Minneapolis. The parking ramp is a huge plus allowing you to walk from your parked car to and from the hotel inside. The overnight rate for guests is very good at $14 and you are given a very handy card to use for unlimited in and out trips.
Our room was very spacious (we were upgraded to one of the double level suites number 3109). However there is a strange noise that happens pretty continuously which I think comes from the elevator system. I would not stay in one of these suites again. I prefer the large triangular corner rooms which I have stayed in on previous visits.
The buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the service very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Washingtonianwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Once again I returned to the City Center Marriott in downtown Minneapolis. It has a great location close to the Target Field and lots of good restaurants. The staff at the hotel is great. In fact, they remembered me from an earlier visit. I had a great room with a great view. The breakfast at the restaurant was great and so was the service. My only disappointment was the towels in the rooms. Kind of old--they really need to be replaced.

Room Tip: Asked for a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarMar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Property: Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Minneapolis Marriott City Center - in the center of it all! Experience style and service at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, just 1.5 blocks from Target Center in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Connected to Macy's via skywalk access, one block from Gavidae Commons, half-block from the Nicollet Mall, and adjacent to City Center shops, ideal for your next night on the town. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, a place to grab a quick bite to eat before the game at Target Field or US Bank Stadium, or a happening bar offering game day specials, an outdoor terrace and 12 flat screen TVs, we have everything you need to celebrate, no matter the occasion. Make yourself at home in over 500 guest rooms, many with stunning views of the city skyline, including spacious bi-level sky lofts that are perfect for an extended stay and relax in the new M Club Lounge, our flexible 24-hour work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing