We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Earplugs, please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Earplugs, please!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I wish my stay at this Marriott had come with a complimentary pair of ear plugs instead of a complimentary breakfast. The access door between my room and the one next door had about a 1.5" gap under it. As it turns out, that meant for hours without sleep (for me) as I was forced to listen to every offensive noise made by the gentlemen next door and their female "guest." Seriously, I could hear them breathe. Pretty decent hotel, nice lobby, but you should never be able to hear the people in the next room breathing. Wouldn't stay there again because of that experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room they have, and then get a pair of earplugs on top of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxxinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeam, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hello Traveler~ Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding noise. We realize that noise does exist and prepare by keeping some extra ear plugs at our front desk. We hope that when your travels find you back in Minneapolis, that you will stay with us again as we would be happy to give you those ear plugs (just in case).
Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    328
    118
    39
    30
See reviews for
89
155
54
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Located in downtown Minneapolis, close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and transportation. Check in and out was quick and friendly, all staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and smiling. Room was very clean, bed comfortable, bathroom was clean and shower was hot and relaxing. We were on one of the top floors and the view was awesome! Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I went for a getaway weekend and were very impressed with the Marriott. We checked our car at the door and someone was there right away to help us unload all for our recent shopping trip and have it delivered to our room for us.

The check in process was VERY smooth! We were met by someone right after entering the reception area and they knew we were coming. They knew we checked our car and were ready to get us our keys and on to our weekend.

The room was very nice, especially the bathroom. Everything was clean and new. The restroom had an area to put on make-up for my wife and still extra room for 2 people. Clean bedding and very warm/inviting.

We were on a higher floor and had a great view of the city.

A plus was that the San Fransico 49rs were staying in the same hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms the better, and the breakfast option at check in is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RileyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeam, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello happy traveler! Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your great experience with our parking service and staff. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next adventure to Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Located in the heart of Minneapolis and is situated close to good restaurants.

Large rooms with great views of downtown. Easy walking distance to local shopping and restaurants. Minutes from the airport and local sporting venues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Service was great, room was in good condition, good location and the hotel was quiet. On the downside (and some things are under the control of the hotel and some aren't, I guess) the elevators were slow. Yes, they had a sign up suggesting you allow extra time due to the slow elevators under repair. We were there three days, and I never saw or heard anybody working on the elevators. It is clunky how you have to take one set of elevators to the lobby (five flights up) then transfer and walk over to another set of evevators that serve the rooms.

The towels were really old and poor. They reminded me of the towels I used to get in P.E. in high school...you know, the thin ones that smelled a little funny. Only single cup coffee makes, ok, fine, but leave me two pods for the morning? Beds were, so-so. Pillows were nice, and the shampoo etc, very nice. Iron and board worked perfect. and regular hangers, thank you.

You could pay for intenet connection, which is so 2000 and late. Come on guys, I can go to a Hampton Inn ang get free Wifi (or McDonalds, Starbucks, etc.). And to add insult to injury many of us who opted to use 3G found their attempt to get you to sign up for their internet service kept blocking and clogging the other service. And the funny thing, they were hosting an internet commerce meeting when I was there.

The fitness facility was average. I was suprosed by how few people used it. Every time I went there were only one or two other people there. It's in a very small room with a beautiful view of a roof, haha. The machines worked well and there were a variety of types. The water provided was difficult (you remember those pointy cups for the water cooler, well that's what they have) and they did offer hand santizer, but no spray to self-clean the maching grips.

When you go outside, there is a fiar amount of riff-raff hanging right outside the hotel. Don't take a left outside the doors, because 40 yards down near the bus stop are really sketchy people. I actually saw a guy getting circled by a small group of amature hoodlums asking for money. I'm not saying it's dangerous per se, but I was a little surprised to see this downtown right outside the hotel. In fairness to the city, the next day when I went out I saw two cops on bikes on the corner just sitting there staring down the thugs. It apparently is a bus stop that serves lower income neighborhoods, so it must be a constant problem, because it was the only safety issue I saw anywhere in town.

Good business hotel, front desk staff was friendly and efficient, however there is room for improvement with some investments (towels, beds, wifi and a smidgen more coffee)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveD_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeam, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello traveler and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the feedback on your experience with the internet, room amenities, and outside adventures. We will be sharing your comments with our team members as we consistently focus on improving our guests satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I rode their light rail from the airport (under $2.00 one way) and walked two blocks to the hotel! The hotel is centrally located to restaurants, shopping, etc and the skybridge. The skybridge is great because it's an elevated walkway through some stores, like Macy, and otherwise it's an enclosed glass walkways...great when it's raining or better yet when it snows in Minneapolis. The room was spacious, very clean, and a very quiet AC unit (loved it)!

The only downfall are the walls are pretty thin. And, this has taught me to ask to be far removed from elevators or at least five or six rooms removed. My next door neighbor was pretty loud with a lot of girlfriends and they continued their party past midnight, and I called the front desk twice. When you first arrive they ask you to sign a "no party" waiver, and they obviously didn't ask my next door neighbor to sign one.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep don't stay close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I really like to stay at this hotel when I travel to Minneapolis. The location is great, friendly staff, and great location. The only thing I would say is parking is not the greatest, and there always seems to be a wait at the front desk (understaffed).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,101 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Property: Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience award-winning style at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, one of the leading downtown Minneapolis hotels boasting unmatched service and luxurious amenities for every welcomed guest. Make yourself at home in our 583 inviting hotel rooms with stunning views of the city skyline, including spacious bi-level suites with art and stylish furnishings, relax in the new M Club Lounge, our flexible 24-hour work space. The traveler who likes to stay active has the chance to invigorate and revive at our Minneapolis hotel's downtown state-of-the-art fitness center for convenient recreation. Plan business functions in over 42,000 square feet of flexible gathering space, or savor the elegant details of renovated banquet halls for a wedding celebration to remember. Enjoy access to top Twin City attractions including the Target Center, Minneapolis Convention Center, Target Field, and Nicollet Mall. Experience the pulsating energy of a premier downtown Minneapolis, MN hotel at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing