We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab location!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I rode their light rail from the airport (under $2.00 one way) and walked two blocks to the hotel! The hotel is centrally located to restaurants, shopping, etc and the skybridge. The skybridge is great because it's an elevated walkway through some stores, like Macy, and otherwise it's an enclosed glass walkways...great when it's raining or better yet when it snows in Minneapolis. The room was spacious, very clean, and a very quiet AC unit (loved it)!

The only downfall are the walls are pretty thin. And, this has taught me to ask to be far removed from elevators or at least five or six rooms removed. My next door neighbor was pretty loud with a lot of girlfriends and they continued their party past midnight, and I called the front desk twice. When you first arrive they ask you to sign a "no party" waiver, and they obviously didn't ask my next door neighbor to sign one.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep don't stay close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    115
    37
    27
See reviews for
87
153
54
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I really like to stay at this hotel when I travel to Minneapolis. The location is great, friendly staff, and great location. The only thing I would say is parking is not the greatest, and there always seems to be a wait at the front desk (understaffed).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed here twice-once with my husband when we went to a Twins game, and then once with my sister-in-law when we went to a women's conference at the Target Center. Both times we had great rooms with views of the city. The location was perfect-we were within walking distance of both the stadium and the Target Center. The lobby staff were great and the whole lobby was beautifully decorated with delicious flavored water or lemonade for guests. Another great perk was being connected to City Center with a STARBUCKS right on the main level. I did not even have to go outside to go get my mocha in the morning and bring it back to my room. A very nice stay, indeed!

Room Tip: The higher the better so you don't hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coop5FamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeam, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Happy Customer~ Thank you for sharing your excellent stay with us! We are happy our location and staff made your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon and to getting that morning mocha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-consin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went on an impromptu visit to Minneapolis. We were able to call and get a room at 600. The parking garage was convenient and only $14 for the day with in and out.

The hotel lobby was nice, though we didn't stay in it. The room was large and clean, with a good view of the city.

It was very nice, nothing spectacular but for the price exactly what I could have hoped for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrniceguy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I always like to comment on staff members that make my stay a pleasant one, and Jenna and Tony did just that. She was able to provide prompt customer service, and did it with a smile and enjoyment of doing her job. Hotels can have all the amenities that one cann desire, but it is just 4 large walls without the staff!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeam, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us Arthur. We are happy to hear that your stay was so wonderful and that Jenna and Tony were able to make it even better! Thank you for sharing your story and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here three nights in August. My first impression was predicated on the somewhat confusing entry process. The street elevator goes only to the fifth floor lobby/front desk area. After check in, you go to a different set of elevators around another corner to get to the hotel elevators which go above the fifth floor. (WHY?) The desk staff were very good and helpful The concierge staff was superlative giving directions, suggestions to make the stay comfortable. I would congratulate the Marriott training department on a job well done. The same should be said for the lobby bar staff. Friendly and helpful.

The room,while on the small side, was adequate. Ditto for the bath. I objected to the $14.95 charge for in-room internet access. There is lobby internet availability. However, I didn't want to carry my lap top to the lobby and choose to use the business center for email, etc

The hotel location is terrific. You can walk to pretty much very venue of interest in downtown Minn. Restaurants, night spots, theaters, etc were all within comfortable walk distance. I even walked the three blocs to take the tram to the airport.

All in all a nice stay in a clean and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Beware the $14.95 in-room internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoxbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July, in town for a baseball game. Location was great, walking distance to Target Field. The front desk was friendly and upgraded one of our rooms to a corner room with amazing views. Both rooms were good sized however the bathrooms are very small. The lobby was decorated for the Olympics and they brought it extra TV's so people could watch the events in the lobby/bar area. They also had a ping pong table set up in the lobby/bar which entertained my teenagers for hours. We ate breakfast (buffet) at the hotel and it was pretty good. An omelette and waffle station plus a nice selection of fresh fruit and baked goods. The fitness center was well equipped and clean.
Our only compliant.....the elevators. Other reviewers have mentioned it and it really is a problem. You take one elevator from street level up to the lobby level and then go to another area to wait for a second elevator to take you to your room. It is a hassle, the elevators are slow and there was often a wait to get on BOTH elevators. We were there on a busy weekend since the Twins were in town and there was a wedding/other events at the hotel. Maybe during a less busy time it isn't as much of a problem.
Is it a deal breaker? Probably not. It is otherwise a fine hotel. We like to stay at Marriott hotels so we would probably stay here again, but it certainly takes away from an otherwise great experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge and sunny but get a lot of street noise, even on higher floors (22nd).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,085 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Property: Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience award-winning style at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center, one of the leading downtown Minneapolis hotels boasting unmatched service and luxurious amenities for every welcomed guest. Make yourself at home in our 583 inviting hotel rooms with stunning views of the city skyline, including spacious bi-level suites with art and stylish furnishings, relax in the new M Club Lounge, our flexible 24-hour work space. The traveler who likes to stay active has the chance to invigorate and revive at our Minneapolis hotel's downtown state-of-the-art fitness center for convenient recreation. Plan business functions in over 42,000 square feet of flexible gathering space, or savor the elegant details of renovated banquet halls for a wedding celebration to remember. Enjoy access to top Twin City attractions including the Target Center, Minneapolis Convention Center, Target Field, and Nicollet Mall. Experience the pulsating energy of a premier downtown Minneapolis, MN hotel at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing