We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed the mark on the renovation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stanley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Missed the mark on the renovation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for years for weekend getaways. Our recent stay was fine but I expected to be blown away by the new renovation and really wasn't impressed. The service was fine, the room was fine and quite reasonable but if you're looking for that "wow factor" you'll need to look at some of the other downtown hotels. The loss of Oceanaire, the seafood restaurant, also caused this hotel to lose on its ranking. Oceanaire is still in town but in a completely new, fab location.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We appreciate the feedback and certainly disappointed that you were not wow'ed by the renovation. The team is so proud to be in our new home but we appreciate the comments. We hope that it grows on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    563
    194
    75
    36
See reviews for
218
229
52
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Having lived in Minneapolis for 25 years we knew a bit about this place, but had never stayed there till we went back to visit friends last week. Although it is tucked away at the very end of Nicollet Mall it is actually very easy to get to by car. Parking is right next door too. The room we had was very nice, clean, well equipped and comfortable. It's location makes it perfect for doing things in downtown Minneapolis, Uptown or just about any suburb as well. It is just off I94. We upgraded to a "club room" and think it is well worth the premium. The club room was small but very nice and the concierge in charge was extremely helpful. It is all good there-rooms, food, lobby, exercise facility and location! Plus the desk staff were exceptionally gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! We agree, the location is perfect. We are close to the heart of Downtown, Uptown and so many other attractions in Minneapolis. The Regency Club is a great upgrade option and we appreciate the comments on the staff there. So glad you had a great experience and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

No valet, no bell captain. Restaurant was running an hour behind at 8:30 pm, though the dining room was half empty. Next second night we gave the hotel restaurant a second chance, and were promptly served a cold and watery beer cheese soup.

Room was typical, but there aren't enough drawers for a four night stay. Being frequent travelers, living out of a suitcase long ago lost its charm

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brb91555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and I'm obviously disappointed in your experience. I hope that you might contact me at mark.becker@hyatt.com so that I can possible regain your faith in our property and Hyatt Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunica, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice clean rooms, close to the convention center! Bartenders Max, Jenny and Dawn were fantastic to us, food was great as well! Loved the lobby, it was modern but very comfortable to hang out in, Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Glad to hear that you had a great experience and appreciate the loyalty of being a Platinum Member. Apologies for the delay in valet but pleased that check in was quick and efficient! We are thrilled with our location on the Mall and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was traveling on business and on short notice, I chose the Hyatt since I am Hyatt Plat and the rate was ridiculously low.

The hotel is easy to find and valet is $30 overnight or one can pay $17 and park oneself in the adjacent garage. I used the valet and the only minor issues was that there was only one valet working which created a bit of a bottleneck in the porte crochere.

Check in was quick and efficient and I was in my room in less than 5 minutes. Room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean and bed was very comfortable, too.

The hotel is located right at the Southern end of Nicollet Mall,so many restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again when my business travel takes me back to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff was helpful and courteous and made us feel welcome. The room was spacious and clean and had a great location. We were so pleased with our stay, that we made sure to talk with the manager and compliment him on the staff and our wonderful experience. Great location, right on Nicollet Mall and walking distance to lots of things to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamweaver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased that you found the staff the highlight of your trip. Thank you for taking the time to speak with us while you were here. Don't wait so long to come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boss, co-workers, and I stayed at the Hyatt while attending a conference in Minneapolis. The decor caught my eye right away. Using dark hues of greys and browns with occasional pops of white and beige, the decor set a tone of modern sophistication. The fireplace, two stories high, was impressive and made the lobby feel warm (more figuratively than literally) and inviting. The lobby had many tables and sitting areas. There was a restaurant and great options for breakfast (only meal we ate there). Found prices a little high for quantity of food. When we checked in, there was some confusion with the reservations, but staff was courteous and helpful! Rooms were tastefully decorated. (I personally enjoy dark colors). The rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable. There is a cafe with reasonably priced food items (very convenient). The location of the hotel is great. There are great places to eat in the area. I believe it's in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. Every night, we went somewhere different to eat. There were diverse options. The only con I can share is that there were no power outlets in the lobby. I had to make sure that my laptop was charged before I headed down to do work. Wi-fi was not available in my boss's room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelivl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful review regarding our renovation. We are happy with the design and the use of local products and materials. There are some charging stations off the lobby by the escalator so hopefully you were able to see those. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope your travels bring you back to the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing