We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I attended a conference here for doctors and therapists who treat the blind and visually impaired. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The Prairie Kitchen and Bar was very nice: good food and service. The location is wonderful with lots to do and see just a short walk or bike ride away. We had a king room on the 14th floor. There was never a long wait for the elevator which often happens during conventions. The exercise rooms, pool a spa were among the best I have seen in any hotel. Plenty of room and lots of options including a full size basetball court. The bathrooms were very nice. The only complaints I had were the lighting and furniture. The lighting was too dim for reading; strange since they were hosting a lot of vision impaired guests. The seating was not very comfortable and there were only two small drawers for unpacking. A nice hotel overall and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetomnivore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    497
    159
    55
    24
See reviews for
180
200
44
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a business trip. Location is good if you want to be in the downtown area. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint with service is the speed of valet service. It was very slow due to the fact of not enough attendants to number of guests. I believe they were doing the best they could with limited staff. We waited for our car for over 15 minutes one day. This hotel has very nice, large meeting rooms . The rooms are very clean. But, the interior design and exterior of the hotel seems very cold, unwelcoming, and odd. They do not have a spa which was also disappointing and there was construction on the 22nd floor which caused the reception area to be closed and it would get noisy after 8 a.m. . With that said, the hotel staff was very nice and hotel was very clean. ( the two most important things!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day and had high hopes for our stay. The remodel is gorgeous and we had beautiful, large room on the third floor. The staff at check-in was friendly and courteous, however, everything went downhill from there.

There was a huge convention at the hotel, which made it nearly impossible to catch the elevators. We waited on our floor (the 3rd) an average of about 20-30 minutes every time we needed to get down to the lobby. Most of the time we had to cram into the up elevator and ride to the top to finally get off our floor. The stairs don't open to the floors, so there is no choice but to use the elevators. When we spoke with the front desk about the issue, they merely shrugged it off and said there was no way around it.

We used the valet, thinking that a place like Hyatt would have reputable service. Unfortunately, at one point during the stay, the valet scraped the side of our truck along a wall or pillar, causing a large, deep scratch. We weren't able really see that side of the car when we picked it up & they failed to mention it to us, so we were already on the road by the time we realized what had happened. We had to travel back to Minneapolis to have security take photos of the damage. While the security staff and the hotel's insurance company took care of the damage quickly, we were never even offered an apology for the incident or the inconvenience. So disappointed! :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The HRM is full of contradictions, because much of the multi-million dollar renovation works, but some does not. Many of the staff are very friendly, but others do not answer the phone or produce your car promptly. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by a vast warehouse-like space with various chairs and couches, but hardly conducive to passing time. The rooms have been well done particularly in replacing the tubs with showers, though instead of granite or similar countertops in the bathroom there is a strange rippled surfaced coating on all the counters. My wife did like the vanity space. One strange contradiction in the renovation was LG non-HD TVs which was noticed by everyone in our group. When every low level and upper level hotel has LG HD TVs this was a weird cost cutting move that stood out.
Service fell down in the valet area. We were promised our car in 15-20 minutes; not always the case. Further, one time we tried to call down to order our car and no answer from the front desk or bell captain nos. When we went down to order our car from the valet we noted 2 desk clerks chatting with each other, not answering the phone!
Finally, I left my iPod in the room, totally my fault, and did not discover it until later in the day, far away. Security said no one had checked into our room. A return call said they checked the room, but could not find it. Let's see the room was made up and cleaned after we left and no one had checked in after we left. What could have hsppened to my iPod?
The HRM definitely is a mixed bag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradHastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Martin, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stay at the Hyatt for NCA CACFP conference. Rooms were very nice. Decor was really nice overall of the hotel. We were treated well overall for the conference we attended. The meeting rooms were great and easy to find. We were disappointed that only 1 wash cloth was in our room. We stayed for 2 nights. The bathroom floor was not swept up or cleaned the best after our 1st night stay. We would have like the bathrooms to have been cleaned better.

Room Tip: Request more wash cloths, and staff to clean rooms completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Review for 1 king/ (Hotwire) room ($233 rate/night Advance Purchase):

Recently remodeled, the hotel was very clean and the beds were comfortable. My trip was partly business/vacation but I was surprised by how quite it was! I only heard 1 door slam and only saw 1/2 people in the hallway my entire trip...by the elevator!

Me and another traveler whom I didn't know were both on the 3rd floor and when we got off the elevator we were both a bit confused regarding the signage directions to our rooms..we had a good laugh and managed to find where we were staying.

The staff seemed friendly. I ate at the Prairie Kitchen and Bar in the hotel and it was pricey but very good (roasted chicken with asparagus/potatoes were excellent). I checked in around 3:30 with no wait...the same is true with checkout.

I was a little disappointed the pool closed at 9 PM probably for security reasons! I wish it was open until 10/11.

I would recommend this hotel but maybe during an off season. Even though I got a good rate while others in the area were booked it was still a little pricey. Also if you take the light-rail double check to see what stop to get off at or use the FREE shuttle service. I walked 7 blocks from Nicollet Mall to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen06N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Pleased to hear that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed Prairie Kitchen and Bar. We love the new menu and also the new menu in the Market. Glad you had a comfortable stay and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a quick trip to the Twin Cities in September. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. It's a large hotel and there was quite a bit of business conference traffic, but the rooms were quiet and comfortable. The StayFit Gym was huge and included areas for boxing as well as a full basketball court! The Prairie Kitchen and Bar was a great spot! We had the bar menu one night with buffalo sliders and blue cheese potato chips that were awesome! The desert menu is a game changer (get the vanilla pancake dish). You'll probably want to keep your venturing to Nicollet Mall heading towards downtown. It was an easy walk to Target Field...we took in a couple Twins games. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so proud of the new menu in Prairie Kitchen and Bar. The sliders and blue cheese chips were a great choice. What else can I say about the vanilla pancakes. Pure heaven! Thank you again for the review and I am most pleased that you found the staff so personable. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#13 of 50 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing