We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Functional but soulless” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Functional but soulless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well appointed rooms with everything you need for business.
Great shower in small wet room.
Bed comfortable but not as blissful as some other chain hotels.
All new decoration apparently but somehow the interior designer has made the place look dated, not retro in a funky way, but just dated.

The main lobby and lounge area is an awful, empty, soulless space that feels like purgatory. Not only that, but it doesn't really function properly; A diverse collection of uncomfortable seats scattered about seemingly at random in front of a large living flame fireplace that gives out no heat? What's that all about?

The shop in the lobby is a great feature and sells pretty much all those little bits and pieces that you would need over a weekend stay.

Restaurant is like the lobby, functional but soulless.

The charges for WiFi in the room are a rip off, but the Hyatt chain is just one of many that chooses to extort this stealth tax on a facility that has become one of a businessman's essential requirements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We were disappointed that the renovation did not resonate with you but were pleased to learn that you enjoyed the room and the Market. If i can be of personal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at 612.596.4505.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    526
    178
    63
    31
See reviews for
194
206
48
870
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Ronge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband booked us the king suite. It was comfortable & cozy. It had plenty of outlets on either side of the bed! The bathroom is well used space. The only downside to the room was there isn't a lot of light & there wasn't a deadbolt (there's a safety bar - which worked well).

There's a parking fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Black_Bear_Owners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are very happy with the renovation and glad you enjoyed. The outlets on the side of the night stands are very convenient for cell phone charging! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
200 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting family in Minneapolis. It looked like there were not that many guests at the hotel when I was there. The Regency Club was closed for renovations, however, free breakfast for Diamond members was served down in the restaurant. The room was the size you would expect for a Hyatt Regency hotel it seemed that the floor I stayed at was recently renovated. The view from my room was also good. The staff was also very friendly during my stay, and I was very satisfied with the service I got. Overall a very good experience, and I would probably come back next time I am in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haakonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! The hotels has been recently renovated so thank you for noticing. We appreciate your Diamond Status and thank you for choosing Hyatt as your preferred brand. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel, good price, great location. Parking is expensive and there is no hot tub?! What?! Insane. Was also surprised there was no frig in the room.
Very soft beds and a gorgeous bathroom. Easy to pamper yourself. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the location of the hotel. It is true that we do not have a hot tub, but there is a pool adjacent to the health club for guests to enjoy. We do have refrigerators for request so please do upon your return! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. What a great renovation. Loved the new look. Staff was very friendly. They offer a complimentary shuttle to certain locations downtown, which was a very nice service on a chilly night. Would definitely return when in the area and recommend to others. One negative, they spent all this money to renovate and then didn't reglaze the bathtub. It's totally minor, but when everything else is shiny and new, the tub stuck out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitownontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the renovation! The shuttle is a wonderful service, especially when the weather is a bit chilly! Hopefully you had a chance to visit either the Market or Prairie Kitchen and Bar. Both of these are wonderful options for dining options. Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I do not recommend having any teenagers or anything with you at this hotel. The staff is not kind. They talk down to their customers and treat them like they are the dumbest people on the planet. The security staff is the worst. Instead of asking nicely to keep it down they yell at you like your am animal and threaten to kick you out of the hotel. Poor poor poor customer service. The rooms are very dusty. The remodel is nice but the food is extremely overpriced and being there for a competition they only offered me crappy food instead of giving me a legit menu. I got a choice of 4 things to eat that looked and should be on a kids menu. Very very disappointed with this hotel and their staff. I would not stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aweippert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. Obviously, we are diappointed in yourexperience and have enjoyed over 25 years of hosting DECA/BPA. I am happy to discuss with you at your convenience. My direct line is 612.596.4505 or i can be reached at mark.becker@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt a few years ago before they renovated the whole place. It was just ok then; the location was really good and we got a good deal. We were going out with some friends this past weekend and booked a room through a discount hotel site and named a ridiculously low price...and ended up back at the Hyatt. Were we surprised when we showed up and found the new look. The lobby area and check in area are completely revamped. Nothing really stood out the last time so I can't even compare that time and this. The room was so nice. The bed was very comfortable and we are usually very picky about the beds. The decor was very modern and classy, the lights were quite stylish and the bathroom was so very nice that my wife might make me upgrade some items at home! The view wasn't that great but we didn't really get the room for the view. Definitely would recommend this to anyone coming to town on business or pleasure. The only other complaint was that you could hear everything going on in the hallway. There was some kind of team that was up and moving pretty early on Saturday morning and we heard every door slam when they were leaving.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, don't get a south facing room. It overlooks the parking garage. North w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the renovation! We are very excited to show off our new property. Our apologies that you were awoken on Saturday morning but glad you had such an enjoyable visit. We have somegreat packages on our website for future visits. See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing